Weigel's Reviews | Glassdoor

Weigel's Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Bill Weigel
17 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owend company. Great communication with corporate. Advancements and Opportunity for growth is great.

    Cons

    Long work hours. Pay raises hard hard to get if u don't move up the latter.

    Weigel's2019-02-02
  2. "Micro Managing DM's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Powell, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a pretty easy job and some great people at home office. Michele Upchurch to name one of the few.

    Cons

    Frustrating when short staffed and have to work 60+ hours a week

    Advice to Management

    Some district managers need to not micro manage as much.

    Weigel's2019-05-08
  3. "Treatment,very bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Sevierville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None , THAT was worth to stay employed

    Cons

    Wasted 6 mouths of my life an a lot of energy.

    Advice to Management

    Stop ,treating non managers as if their your personall slave with no human rights unless you grant them. Remember they don't get paid vacation, raises ,30 min lunch breaks and are working just as hard or in most case's harder the you for less pay. Why would anyone want to work 3times harder in the kitchen for the same pay as a cashiers. Stop the threatening tactics. Favoritism, personal friends in a work plase is no way...

    Show More
    Weigel's2019-04-28
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Sales Associate in Fairfield Glade, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weigel's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, Patricia redheffer was a good boss

    Cons

    Hours weren't that good most times.

    Weigel's2019-02-16
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Powell, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the people I work with! Great place to work.

    Cons

    No cons that I know of

    Advice to Management

    No advice to Management

    Weigel's2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weigel's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None , except the chocolate milk is great !

    Cons

    11 hr shifts, no breaks to sit down, no lunch breaks, you get paid for whole shift but most would not care if they took 1/2 hr out so they could get a break. Not sure how they get around that labor law. Work all holidays, no sick time or vacation if you are not management, lowest pay scale in this business, Christmas bonus to employees was a 17 dollar bone in spiral ham , although Bill Weigel’s companies did I’ve 400...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your employees

    Weigel's2018-12-20
  7. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Caisher in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at Weigel's full-time

    Pros

    Free 32 oz fountain drink

    Cons

    Coworkers were disrespectful and I had very poor training. Sink or float situation and I do not appreciate the lack of care.

    Weigel's2018-11-29
  8. "Great company, behind the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time

    Pros

    This company has an engaged corporate office, great history, and a drive to succeed.

    Cons

    Weigel's has several issues in the trust level between corporate and store staff. As a corporate employee, store staff was never trusted and always assumed to be lying, stealing, etc. Additionally, their dress code is straight from the 1960's, with men wearing white/blue shirts and ties. No women are in senior management, and there was not a person of color in the entire corporate office.

    Advice to Management

    Update your hiring and culture for 2018, and you will continue to succeed.

    Weigel's2018-11-05
  9. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weigel's full-time

    Pros

    Good company good pay just don't make waves

    Cons

    Double standards Lack of communication, very poor communication skills throughout management

    Weigel's2018-08-31
  10. "Great staff, but lack of good-working co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Manager in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weigel's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, a lot of overtime,

    Cons

    no good retail managers, lies from the administration, constant call in

    Advice to Management

    take more consideration into who you are hiring. Quit telling someone you're going to give them something and then don't,

    Weigel's2018-07-31
Found 43 reviews