Weir Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Weir Group Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Weir Group CEO Jon Stanton
Jon Stanton
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "An acceptable stepping stone for someone attempting to wet their feet in the E&P sector of oil and gas(in 8 reviews)

  • "a lot of great people work at this location(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The market downturn hurt a lot of people throughout the oil and gas industry(in 6 reviews)

  • "Economic Downturn leads to a lot of people getting laid off(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 

    I worked at Weir Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay

    Cons

    None, I worked in design it was hard urgent work but doable

    Weir Group2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Liars, shady."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Hand in El Reno, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Weir Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays well, that's about it.

    Cons

    Horrible management, Nepotism, False promises

    Weir Group2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "We are Weir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weir Group full-time

    Pros

    Safety is number one at Weir

    Cons

    Market uncertainty can affect manufacturing.

    Weir Group2018-12-25
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Nothing but trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weir Group full-time

    Pros

    *Great pay that is standard with oil and gas industry *Affordable benefits and 401K match *easy commute

    Cons

    *Unethical business practices that start from the top and trickle down *Management asks employees to do illegal things *HR department in Fort Worth is a dumpster fire. The Director doesn't know what he's doing and gives promotions based on favoritism *There is a culture of "every man for himself" where everyone is more worried about themselves than working together as a team

    Advice to Management

    Executives need to look into what is going on in the Fort Worth HR department before things get even more out of control.

    Weir Group2018-09-28
  5. "Service tech 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Tech I in Pleasanton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weir Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good hours,and great benefits.

    Cons

    Company is pretty strict with safety.

    Weir Group2018-05-21
  6. "Stay Away Unless You Are A Masochist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ipswich, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Weir Group full-time

    Pros

    They pay well, and the benefits are decent.

    Cons

    There are far too many to list. This is by far the worst company I've ever worked for.

    Weir Group2018-03-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pump Refurb Mechanic in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weir Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, people were awesome . Depends on which facility you are at. Some are better than others.

    Cons

    Management, some facilities are better than others. But over all the management team is awful.

    Weir Group2017-12-15
  8. "Constant Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Weir Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room to Grow, Company will provide or help with training and schooling to further your skills.

    Cons

    Pay was medicore for position that was not management.

    Weir Group2017-12-10
  9. "Former employee survey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Weir Group full-time

    Pros

    I got to work from home, My manager, the pay rate.

    Cons

    There were not cons, I loved everything about it

    Weir Group2017-12-07
  10. "Not Stable and CEO clueless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weir Group

    Pros

    Ive not ever thought about any Pros and now that I have, I really dont know of any.

    Cons

    Stability, organization, field locations are neglected by Cochran. Decisions and processes made without Management having any practical knowledge.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Cochran. He is the largest liability.

    Weir Group2017-09-04
Found 151 reviews