Weis Markets Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Deli Clerk

Weis Markets Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Weis Markets CEO Jonathan Weis
Jonathan Weis
5 Ratings
  1. "Deli Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company, Easy to work for, Considerate.

    Cons

    Don't work beside relationships or people with grudges.

    Advice to Management

    There's a way with putting rules down with out being hurtful.

    Weis Markets2018-06-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Disrespected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets

    Pros

    Good breaks, great people, free food

    Cons

    Minimum wage, horrible management, expects you to do other people's jobs

    Weis Markets2016-12-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Stepping Stone-or not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I first started, we had a good team Easy job If you worked hard you had the opportunity to take on more tasks It was fine, and frustrating, to train new employees You developed a good work family Yearly picnic Customers were normally pretty good to help

    Cons

    After a little while, seemed like the company did not care for employees as much High turnover, which started to make things difficult You will get an upset customer at least once, working in retail The management seemed to play favorites

    Advice to Management

    Value your workers more. The hard workers never seemed to get recognized for the hard work they put in, it just became expected of them,

    Weis Markets2016-10-29
  4. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Ephrata, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Chill staff Very customer focused

    Cons

    Tiring Pays very little with the amount of people you need to deal with Music isn't good

    Advice to Management

    All I can say is pay raise. As well as more defined promotion opportunities.

    Weis Markets2016-10-21
  5. "okay employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Hamlin, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you keep busy friendly coworkers pay is okay

    Cons

    management is terrible corporate is terrible unresonable workload considering resources given very large turnover rate schedule CONSTANTLY changing, even within the week without notice

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees who actually want to work and treat them well, don't have unreasonable expectations when it comes to getting things done.

    Weis Markets2016-04-11
  6. "deli"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets for less than a year

    Pros

    Part time scheduling was very flexible to work around my full time job. Part time workers were paid vacation and holiday pay.

    Cons

    Deli did not pay well for the amount of work. Marginal employees were kept and made the jpb difficult for those who did their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Mangers need to work up to closing once in awhile to make sure employees are doing their jobs.

    Weis Markets2015-08-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "bad pay, bitchy managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Hillsborough, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none!!!!!!!!!!!!! no help, short staffed, bad pay

    Cons

    short staffed, everyone quits, no help,

    Advice to Management

    try to keep workers longer than a month

    Weis Markets2014-09-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The worst job i've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Martinsburg, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paid vacation and holidays. Time off for christmas

    Cons

    The don't care about their employees

    Advice to Management

    Weis Markets is the worst company to work for. They care nothing about their employees. I just recently quit, because they refused to cut my hours. I'm a full time college student, and i went to management because i didn't want to work more than 20 hours a week. I was basically told, that i would have to work whatever hours i was given, and the management didn't give a crap that i'm a college student.

    Weis Markets2013-10-04
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wellsboro, PA

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Management, employees, and values.

    Cons

    Pretty low pay for a days work.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Weis Markets2013-09-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awful Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Binghamton, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will learn new skills. Most coworkers are friendly. Variety of work hours offered. Lots of different store locations. Growing company.

    Cons

    They disregard your availability and will schedule you whenever they want to. Low wages. They do not care about their employees outside of fulfilling the company's needs. Poorly trained management.

    Advice to Management

    Be sensitive and personable - Yelling at people is disrespectful, and doesn't accomplish anything. Get rid of unrealistic expectations. Provide more staff and supplies to get the job done right. Give the respect to others you expect to receive from them.

    Weis Markets2013-05-05
Found 12 reviews