Weis Markets Reviews | Glassdoor

Weis Markets Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 636 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Weis Markets CEO Jonathan Weis
Jonathan Weis
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, flexible schedule, friendly environment(in 30 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, great people to work with, overall good learning enviorment(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of hours for a full-time college student(in 37 reviews)

  • "Poor management of part time employees(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Monitor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Low pay, and random hours

    Advice to Management

    None really, they were pretty understanding

    Weis Markets2019-06-08
  2. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Monitor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are cool most of the time, understanding and nice management. Definitely varies by store though.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. Pay isn't worth the responsibility given, having to watch and keep track of cashiers, their needs and breaks, the service desk, self checkout, the cash office, and whatever else management needs you to do all at once, it isn't worth it most of the time. Cool people though.

    Weis Markets2019-06-12
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Sales Associate in Conshohocken, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is reasonable. Never had many issues with employees. Breaks and days off reasonable.

    Cons

    My manager did not care for me and was very poor at describing tasks. Customer is always right no matter how insane they are. At times pointless tasks are given.

    Weis Markets2019-06-11
  4. "Managed store finances, Assisted and monitored the front end, and Managed the Customer Service desk."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Perry Hall, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, Great Environment, Co-workers treated each other with respect. Customers were friendly.

    Cons

    Many times they needed me to do multiple positions at once such as auditor, monitor and customer service. Little to no help when it would get super busy

    Advice to Management

    Hire and train people to be able to do multiple positions for flexibility

    Weis Markets2019-06-06
  5. "Good high school/college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Philipsburg, PA

      I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good variety of shifts and were good about when you needed off

      Cons

      Working late and on holidays

      Weis Markets2019-06-03
    • "It's alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      people are friendly, customers are friendly

      Cons

      a lot of callouts, management not very strict

      Advice to Management

      become stricter

      Weis Markets2019-05-23
    • "It was okay, not the best or the worst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honesdale, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      nice breaks communicating with customers relaxed management make it easy to communicate

      Cons

      break schedule often got moved around. I once had a 10 minute break 1/2 an hour before my shift was over

      Weis Markets2019-05-18
    • "A fairly good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling Friendly coworkers Opportunity for raises

      Cons

      Some (not all) managers are lazy

      Weis Markets2019-05-15
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Weis Markets full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good for employ feel good

      Cons

      Not Bad company to work form

      Weis Markets2019-05-10
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cashier 

        I have been working at Weis Markets part-time

        Pros

        Nice enviorment to meet new customers

        Cons

        Long hours standing on your feet and strict rules

        Weis Markets2019-05-21
      Found 636 reviews