Weis Markets Reviews | Glassdoor

Weis Markets Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 644 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Weis Markets CEO Jonathan Weis
Jonathan Weis
193 Ratings
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Meat Manager 

      I have been working at Weis Markets full-time

      Pros

      Sales bonuses, and shares of the company

      Cons

      Still somewhat a small company

      Weis Markets2019-05-02
    • "Poor communication"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cashier 

        I have been working at Weis Markets part-time

        Pros

        Flexibility with hours and scheduling

        Cons

        Management issues and poor communication

        Weis Markets2019-06-05
      • "Short staffed Deli with Low Morale"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Deli Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Easy to Take Off Generally Easy Work Not Micromanaged

        Cons

        Not Enough Help Poor Morale Quitting Left & Right Sunday’s are for the strong hearted Management doesn’t close at all Too much Drama

        Advice to Management

        None of the deli managers at my store cared and it caused everyone to hate their jobs

        Weis Markets2019-05-14
      • "Good Place to Work...Depending on What You Want"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Coal Township, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good starting rate of pay for part time work. Relatively easy work. Not as busy as a regular big box store like Walmart. You get to know your regular customers pretty well.

        Cons

        Most locations are understaffed, so You get asked to come in a lot on days off. Upper management gets moved around a lot so you don't have the same store manager/district manager from year to year.

        Weis Markets2019-04-26
      • "Love it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Deli Manager in Hanover, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Weis Markets full-time

        Pros

        A fair company and not a strenuous work environment.

        Cons

        Would like to see more overtime available

        Weis Markets2019-04-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Resume"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Closing Manager/Stocker in Red Lion, PA

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great people to work with, flexible schedule, friendly environment.

        Cons

        Not enough work to do, low wage, not enough hours.

        Weis Markets2019-04-16
      • "Awful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good pay for being just a cashier.

        Cons

        Co workers were mean and management was just as bad.

        Advice to Management

        Make sure your employees are treating each other kindly

        Weis Markets2019-05-21
      • "Depends on the store you work at"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Seafood Clerk 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        At my first store the managers were relaxed and let me run the department as I intended. The customers were friendly and loved the weekly deals.

        Cons

        Second store had a manager in training for my department who was extremely uptight. Tried to help him along but nothing worked.

        Advice to Management

        It's a grocery store so loosen up

        Weis Markets2019-04-11
      • "cashier"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        flexible hours, also great management

        Cons

        There were not any cons

        Weis Markets2019-04-10
      • "Availability"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bakery Associate in Pennsburg, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Hasvery flexible hours for employees who are in school.

        Cons

        Weis does not provide many full-time positions.

        Weis Markets2019-03-29
      Found 644 reviews