Weis Markets Reviews | Glassdoor

Weis Markets Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 644 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Weis Markets CEO Jonathan Weis
Jonathan Weis
193 Ratings
  1. "a very wholesome company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I worked at Weis Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Coworkers are like family - Opportunity for promotions - Free products to test - Somewhat relaxed work environment

    Cons

    - Old school company, very uptight management and owners - Strict dress code policy - Strict late/lunch clock in policy - Senior management can be catty/prone to drama

    Advice to Management

    Ease up on dress code for employees that do not meet with outside clients

    Weis Markets2019-02-22
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Monitor 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, paid vacation, health insurance offered to part time and full time employees.

    Cons

    Communication between managers and employees needs to be improved.

    Weis Markets2019-01-30
  3. "Refrigeration Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Refrigeration Technician in Sunbury, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weis Markets full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They take care of you

    Cons

    They should pay more compared to others

    Advice to Management

    Pay with more knowledge than others.

    Weis Markets2019-01-26
  4. "Easy work, frustrating company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy Flexible Opportunities to go higher in company They hire a lot of people who would have trouble findinf work elsewhere

    Cons

    The higher ups don't care about their store level employees. They won't listen to their needs or suggestions. You won't be paid well. You will be understaffed and disrespected. Other similar companies pay more and have better benefits.

    Weis Markets2019-02-05
  5. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Store manager sucks, no clue how to run a store. No life outside of work. No holidays off, and cant request off for holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Upper Management and Corporate need to get their acts together

    Weis Markets2019-02-21
  6. "Family and Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere. Managers and leadership that care about you, not just the employee you.

    Cons

    Company struggles to maintain technology. Little behind the times in this regard

    Weis Markets2019-01-16
  7. "Good job for new workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associaate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weis Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back work place / low stress

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours Don't expect a lot of vacation time

    Weis Markets2019-01-17
  8. "Front End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Weis Markets part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours, easy to learn

      Cons

      Depending on location, hours are limited

      Weis Markets2019-01-11
    • "-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Willow Street, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Weis Markets part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It's ok for what I do.

      Cons

      The pay is horrible considering the hours and being given part time at 35 hours max each week.

      Advice to Management

      More care of employees

      Weis Markets2019-02-14
    • "Decent spot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sinking Spring, PA

        I worked at Weis Markets part-time

        Pros

        Team was fun to work with

        Cons

        Low pay and had to work holidays

        Weis Markets2019-01-08
      Found 644 reviews