Weitz & Luxenberg Reviews | Glassdoor

Weitz & Luxenberg Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Perry Weitz
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "In the past couple of months W&L has taught me so much(in 9 reviews)

  • "Working at Weitz & Luxenberg has given me the opportunity to pursue a satisfying career as a paralegal(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your department, paralegals often underworked(in 11 reviews)

  • "EXTREMELY high turnover rate in legal support roles(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging work. Fun and supportive culture, with strong focus on coaching and mentorship. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    No Negatives come to mind.

    Weitz & Luxenberg2019-02-20
  2. "W&L Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Fact Checker 

      I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time

      Pros

      Great working office environment, located in the city of Manhattan.

      Cons

      None that I can think of right now.

      Weitz & Luxenberg2019-03-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "First job out of college"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time

        Pros

        The hiring process was very quick

        Cons

        Bad work environment, not much direction from lawyers and people at the top there did not support the growth of younger people. Definitely a place to gain office experience from and then move on.

        Advice to Management

        Pay more attention to the employees as a whole, not just the ones at the top.

        Weitz & Luxenberg2019-04-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "Hard Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        The firm works extremely hard to represent clients who are in awful positions. I have seen staff stay late, work weekends, and do whatever it takes for these cases. Witnessing this work ethic takes place at W&L and the mission of the firm is a great cause to get behind.

        Cons

        The firm needs to acknowledge the above. HR has done some initiatives however; in my opinion, there should be more events for the staff, more appreciation, team building events. Most employees on different floors don't know each other.

        Advice to Management

        Read above also , there is no match on the 401K

        Weitz & Luxenberg2019-03-14
      • Helpful (1)

        "Overrated firm with cheap management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        They fight on the right side for a good cause. Overall atmosphere is relaxed. Business casual (barely) attire. Paid over time. Office is in a great location.

        Cons

        High turn over rate. No remote time. Can’t work from home. Quantity not quality of work. Ambiguous pay scale. Helicopter management. Bad benefits.

        Advice to Management

        Either beef up the benefits package or pay people more. Your model of hiring cheap and inexperienced labor at the cost of a high turn over rate is awful for moral. Also get with the times and let people work remote time. HR should spend some time learning what each department does so they don’t look so stupid.

        Weitz & Luxenberg2019-03-16
      • "Positive experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Legal Assistant 

          I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time

          Pros

          The staff had a great sense of community. I felt respected by my superiors and my bosses were excellent mentors to me.

          Cons

          Benefits aren’t great. Not many days off for holidays.

          Weitz & Luxenberg2019-03-08
        • "Great Firm!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Administrative in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Working at Weitz & Luxenberg has truly been a great experience! I enjoy coming to work and making a difference.

          Cons

          No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching - No 401(k) matching

          Weitz & Luxenberg2019-02-26
        • Helpful (1)

          "Paralegal"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Weitz & Luxenberg

            Pros

            Flexible schedule but not much else

            Cons

            Firm does not reward loyalty. Raises and bonuses are not merit based. NY office treats NJ office like everyone is stupid.

            Advice to Management

            Do your job

            Weitz & Luxenberg2019-03-03
          • "Not the worst, but not the greatest."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend

            I worked at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time

            Pros

            Alot of freedom/freetime when it's the slower season Exposure into the legal field

            Cons

            toxic masculinity is the culture poor training

            Weitz & Luxenberg2018-11-06
          • "Solid Place to Work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Weitz & Luxenberg full-time

            Pros

            Good work environment. Friendly coworkers and management. Great benefits.

            Cons

            Feels like your run of the mill office job, but it's good for what it is

            Weitz & Luxenberg2018-08-04
          Found 121 reviews