KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Weitz & Luxenberg

Is this your company?

Weitz & Luxenberg

Add a Review

Weitz & Luxenberg Employee Reviews about "paralegals"

Updated Aug 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 189 reviews

2.8
31%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Weitz & Luxenberg President Perry Weitz (no image)
Perry Weitz
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "In the past couple of months W&L has taught me so much(in 12 reviews)

  • "There are colleagues and certain upper management that are difficult to work with but doesn't every work environment have certain employees like this(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's much cheaper to just rehire temps than actually invest in legal assistants and paralegals(in 13 reviews)

  • "not a lot of direction, normal bad qualities of a personal injury firm, high turnover, low starting pay(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "paralegals"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Litigation Paralegal

      Aug 1, 2016 - Litigation Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The base pay is LOW but you have an opportunity to make a decent amount of extra money with overtime. Most people can accomplish their work 9am-5pm but a lot of people work slow to milk the overtime pay. There is also a standard annual pay raise of roughly $2,500 with little wiggle room which is disappointing because it has almost nothing to do with performance. There is also a $100 annual bonus for each year you've been there. So if you've been an employee for 5 years, you get a bonus of $500, 4 years you get $400, etc.. The paralegals are mostly all in their 20s and attorneys in their 30s with the exception of some old timers. The atmosphere is very relaxed and casual especially if you get matched with a cool boss. You clock out (aka don't get paid) for lunch so as long as your boss is cool with it, take as long or as short as you need.

      Cons

      See above for pros and cons combined. Low base pay, standard annual pay raise not based on performance, low bonuses, essentially need to do overtime hours to survive financially, little to zero ability to work from home. This is a great place to start but not for a career paralegal at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Temporary Employee

      High turnaround for a reason

      Aug 17, 2020 - Legal Assistant/Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My direct managers were good.

      Cons

      I was told when I began working at Weitz & Luxenberg that I would have the option to move from being a temporary worker through an agency to a full time employee. I was told this for over a year- despite myself and my managers asking countless times when this would happen, it was put off indefinitely because they don't value their support staff. It's much cheaper to just rehire temps than actually invest in legal assistants and paralegals. I saw coworkers and managers fired with no notice, even if they had been there for years. The upper management does not care about their employees. Full stop. They only care about making money. When COVID hit, no plan was outlined for weeks as the city was shutting down around us. They did not allow us to work from home until they were required to by the city, although the attorneys and partners were allowed to, and even when they showed up, they took black cars. Two weeks into the crisis, they cut all of the temp worker's hours by half and a week after that, they cut everyone's pay by 10%. This was billed to us as being "Equitable" because everyone was losing the same amount. However, myself and most other support staff were being expected to do twice our work in half the time for $15 an hour, while the partners have private jets. Don't be fooled by the pictures they post or the claims that it's a "family". Maybe this is the case among the employees they actually care about, but most of us are treated like we're disposable. They think that employee appreciation means buying us lunch once a year, when it should be an actual commitment to your employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good but not great

      Jun 20, 2020 - Paralegal/Legal Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before 2019, they hired a lot, even people with no legal experience; if you have a good managing attorney, they will give you a lot of responsibility and you can do some interesting work; annual performance reviews mean annual raises (pre-COVID); decent healthcare plan; good NYC office location; working remotely during COVID has been working well and was set up quickly

      Cons

      Pay for paralegals starts below $25/hour; pay was cut 10% for paralegals during COVID and there were many layoffs and furloughs; a lot of the work can be very tedious; little to no training; high turnover and high reliance on temps (pre COVID; they were all laid off in March 2020 from what I understand); little transparency from management; it can be very harmful to morale when the firm acts like it's "standing up for the little guy" but can't deliver for/doesn't prioritize clients; little to no opportunity for upward movement without a law degree; before they cut our overtime, we were expected to be available for basically unlimited hours if there was an upcoming deadline - basically, I'm grateful to have the job and have applied many other places without success......

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fake Reviews on here. This is a terrible place to work

      Mar 28, 2018 - Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really sat and tried to think of at least one Pro. And all I can think of is location. Office is near soho.

      Cons

      ZERO training and terrible management. there's no structure as to what and how you're suppose to do things, when you ask higher ups and supervising paralegals for help, they just give you attitude and are not very clear and informative. No one really knows what they're doing. Hours are long and you're expected to work late nights and weekends without advance notice. Work loads are insane and not compensated competitively. You sit in a cubicle all day and are scolded for socializing. HR is useless, they just hang out on different floors not answering your emails and questions. You're also required to show up to the office in the event of a severe Nor'Easter. Turn over rate is insanely high.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Legal Assistant aka Telemarker

      Oct 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The weekly pay from your agency staffing. You have your own desk. Easy to make up time if you are late. Free coffee (minus the 6 floor).

      Cons

      Management for the intake team is all over the place. Your experience is completely controlled by the personality of the (she devil) partner you work under. They ask you to call almost 300 people per day! and distribute mailing via Fed Ex/ business mail for clients who are retained or not retain. These papers can add up to hundreds of paperwork which tends to become laggingl. Your company email produces thousands of emails from higher management, clients, complaints from paralegals/attorneys, and litigation changes that happens almost every day. Instructions are never clear in regards to retaining a client. Staff support from management is useless since they do nothing except watch you over work as they sit on their desk and complain/gossip on the phone. You are also forced to answer each call whether or not you are already on the phone. Work/stress life is profusely high. Management dogs each other out on a day to day basis. One of the intake staff bosses is a certified sex offender. Higher management plays favoritism based on longevity and those who do not speak up for themselves.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      High Turnover/Underworked

      Oct 3, 2017 - Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The firm genuinely strives to do good work for its clients. Good HR representatives.

      Cons

      Non-attorney staff not valued by management - it is understood that there will be high turnover in the paralegal/support positions. Depending on your department, paralegals often underworked.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A firm that teaches the perfect work ethic for aspiring attorneys

      Dec 22, 2016 - Trial Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weitz & Luxenberg has tremendously helped me establish the perfect work ethic for entering law school. Prior to my employment at W&L, I hated work, I despised getting up in the morning, and was extremely lazy. However, after just a few short weeks, the enviornment I was surrounded by demanded my full attention to detail. Our clients demanded my full attention to detail. They deserved it. The environment is 8 floors worth of staff members and attorneys willing to go the extra mile and then some in order to provide the best available service for their clients who are in desperate need help. Every employee at W&L, from the security to Mr. Perry Weitz and Mr. Arthur Luxenberg themselves truly care about every single client's needs. That kind of surrounding is infectious. I soon was waking up early in the morning eager to get to work. I would arrive earlier than I had to in order to fulfill my duties as a trial paralegal. Within 6 months, I was promoted. For any aspiring attorney's, Weitz & Luxenberg will give you the training, work ethic, and experience you need prior to entering law school. Working at W&L has changed my life for the better and I would definitely recommend working there.

      Cons

      The pay is not out of this world but it is fair and substantial. Most paralegals get paid hourly rather than on salary which definitely has its bonuses like the availability for overtime. W&L sees your worth and value, sometimes you just need to let them know and show it.

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wish I could go back and reject job offer.

      Nov 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only "pro" I can think of is the friends I made while employed.

      Cons

      No training for new employees, poor treatment of paralegals, entitled attorneys who require paralegals to do immense amounts of work for which they are untrained and under-qualified. Overtime pay cut for paralegals to lower firm costs. No respect for paralegals or legal assistants. Serious allegations of sexual harassment against a senior attorney by a paralegal went unnoticed. Overall a bad work experience.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Asbestos Litigation Paralegal

      Sep 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good learning experience -You can get a lot of overtime

      Cons

      - Attorneys are always stressed and on edge which in causes their paralegals to be stressed and on edge -High turn-over rates for both attorneys & paralegals in the Asbestos department -Minimal training -heavy caseloads -HR staff is rude

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      very bad company

      Oct 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      as before mentioned, free coffee, you get big desks, and space

      Cons

      how to begin. this place is a horrible company to work for. I am very certain all the "(fake)5 star reviews on this are written by management. Very upsetting, if you're going to write a fake review at least give it a normal star rating. The managers don't talk to you, or you can actually hear them screaming at each other through their doors (highly unprofessional). I have worked at many different firms, jobs, and this place is BY FAR THE WORST. they pay you under 45,000 - I think its only 35,000 to start, even though they expect you to work extreme OT, oh and they only pay you hourly, based on 7 hours a day (so they don't have to pay your salary higher for OT), I MEAN COME ON, nobody only works 7 hours a day as an actual full time employee, and if you only did, you would be fired. The main boss, barely comes in, which is great - but when the boss does, beware of being screamed at every single day, at every meeting that we are not doing enough for the company so they can get more money (ps. not for their clients, but for their attorneys). you are basically doing customer service as a paralegal for their company. NOT REAL LEGAL WORK. BAD PAY. BAD MANAGERS. my ADVICE: don't work here. you can get paid a lot better, with a lot more professional atmosphere ANYWHERE else in NYC. don't settle for this low job. I am meaning this with good intentions.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Weitz & Luxenberg Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Weitz & Luxenberg? Share Your Experiences

    Weitz & Luxenberg logo
    or