Well Care Health "clinicians" Reviews | Glassdoor

Well Care Health Employee Reviews about "clinicians"

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Well Care Health Chief Executive Officer Zac Long
Zac Long
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Well care has a great culture friendly managers and staff that care about the community they serve(in 6 reviews)

  • "Well Care's clinicians are seasoned and well managed(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Everything, from upper management not doing anything(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lot of inexperienced managers which makes it hard on clinicians(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "clinicians"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Physical Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Physical Therapist (PT) in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good caseload mix with Orthopedic as well as complex patients with CHF. I have the best clinical manager who is great working through the Oasis mine field and I have learned more from her than at any other company I have worked.

    Cons

    Caseload can get very heavy at times, but paraprofessional staff has been hired to help with that. In home health, one must have good boundaries and know what you can do and when to say no. It is not personal. I have seen a number of people who become very angry when it is not the company, it is the personality of the clinician.

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2017-05-20

    Well Care Health Response

    May 22, 2017Recruiter

    We greatly appreciate your review and input. Well Care is currently working on plans for improved communication with staff. We have heard our employees and will be allocating more resources for internal and external communications. Stay tuned!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health full-time

    Pros

    Family owned Easy to be promoted to low level management with minimal experience Multiple areas of health care opportunities in one company (home health and home care)

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opportunities within mid to high level management No leadership training Lot of inexperienced managers which makes it hard on clinicians High turnover

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not the job I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some excellent clinicians on my team, teaming up clinicians is very advantageous, company strives for continuity of care, current manager is excellent there is a lot of turn-over

    Cons

    Schedule is very inconsistent- too heavy or too light communication is horrible paperwork is redundant and takes a lot of time there is no pay for office or home office time spent doing documentation, communication, scheduling, contacting doctors, getting supplies, etc

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2018-02-21

    Well Care Health Response

    February 26, 2018Customer Experience Team

    Thank you for your input! We greatly appreciate any feedback that can help to improve Well Care’s processes. Here are some initiatives that Well Care’s leadership team is implementing to address these issues: 1. Launching a Documentation Task Force, which will be managed by field staff in order to review and streamline the documentation process. 2. Piloting a new, Clinical Assistant position in two of our Home Health offices to offload administrative tasks from field clinicians, and giving those responsibilities to an in-house, clinical staff member (i.e. – one who can take and enter doctors’ orders, transfer documentation, etc.). This is still in the piloting stage. 3. Senior Leadership team is reviewing “unpaid” paperwork to determine if a portion of the visit weight should be paid for those items. 4. Launching a new, field scheduling pilot program to be reviewed quarterly for improvements. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope this brings some comfort in knowing that Well Care is addressing these issues. Please give it some time as we work through this piloting stage. ~The Well Care team

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office staff care about the clinicians. No one else does. Honestly I can't think of another positive thing about this company.

    Cons

    Upper management is only focused on the numbers. They claim that their edge is a small business mindset. What that means is that they do not hire enough people to do the work adequately. Everyone is overworked. They claim patient care is their number one priority yet they accept referrals and then don't see patient's for a week or more. Patients are called and asked when they want their next visit. Thus tricking them into accepting large gaps in their care. Patients don't know any better. They follow medicare rules when it suits them. Staff are managed by confrontation and threats. They never have a positive thing to say. It's always about what you haven't done. At month end they call and demand that you stop what you are doing and take care of what they need to collect their money. They don't stop to think that you might be with a patient and not able to do so. If you don't respond to them when they want they harass you until you do. Do yourself a favor and stay away.

    Well Care Health2017-05-11

    Well Care Health Response

    May 12, 2017Recruiter

    Well Care has made significant, positive changes to its staffing model. This includes implementing new technologies and adequate Talent Acquisition personnel to meet the growing needs of our patient population. Our team works diligently to ensure that patients receive the 5-star care we promise across the board. We appreciate your feedback. ~The Well Care Home Health team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Well Care is the best home health company in North Carolina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Management and opportunity for advancement. Exceptional clinicians, management and sales team. This is the hardest working group of people in the home health field to date.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, inconsistent policies, very poorly managed and ineffective HR. Well Care has the the worst HR management of any company I have ever worked for. The HR employees are as kind and helpful as they can be given their lack of management and knowledge. Well Care HR department is completely immorally and probably illegally managed. Works employees to death. Unrealistic expectations of goals and work load for all staff.

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2016-10-05

    Well Care Health Response

    January 9, 2017Human Resource Recruiter

    We appreciate the feedback. Well Care's Leadership and HR team strives to meet the demands and requests of all employees. We encourage staff members to submit requests for policy changes to their managers. Or, they can submit change requests to the leadership team anonymously. Hope this helps! - The Well Care Home Health team

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being part of a company that is thriving and expanding while many in the industry are failing. 5 star rating from CMS on outcomes. only 3 in the state of NC. Advancement opportunities Team environment The chance to help patients in the home environment

    Cons

    Home health is a very demanding profession and not right for everyone. It is important to assess if it is the right environment for you. There is autonomy and self scheduling but it can be easy to burn out if clinicians attempt to increase productivity and take charting work home with them every day. I have found it to be much more rewarding than hospital/ facility work.

    Well Care Health2016-05-17
  7. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Well Care Health full-time

    Pros

    Well Care's clinicians are seasoned and well managed. The clinicians take excellent care of our patients and our five star rating is indicative of that care. Well Care is one out of three agencies in the entire state that has a five star rating. Marketing for Well Care makes me proud every single day because we are not just here to grow the business, we are here to make sure more people get five star care. Aging is difficult and the aging population deserves the best care possible. I have worked in home health for over fifteen years and these three years at Well Care have been the best home health years in my career. Patients, physicians, and hospitals compliment our care constantly. We strive for meeting each patient with dignity and compassion and this shines through with our five star rating. When we do make mistakes, we work hard to fix them so they are not made again. Management listens and balances different personalities and professional skill levels with grace. Growth is inevitable within this organization so if you desire to grow and have a good work ethic, you can stay forever and make an positive impact on the health of our aging population. The IT is incredible, working in the field is part of what we do and the IT department keeps us all running at a high level of efficiency.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2016-05-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unsatisfied patients, atypical home health environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehabilitation in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Well Care Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some clerical staff are passionate about their jobs and work the best they can within their limitations. Overall pay rate is comparable.

    Cons

    This is not a normal or typical home health company. It is mass-produced, business model type health care dispensed by overworked and poorly treated clinicians. Patient care, well-being, recovery and satisfaction are never topics of discussion. Clinicians are evaluated based on quantity of care instead of quality and computer generated numeric data instead of actual evaluation of patient services. Medical knowledge of managerial staff is frighteningly poor, and many decision makers do not even have a nursing or clinical degree. Field clinicians are managed by confrontation, frequent negative emails and threats of monetary punishment. In-home staff must constantly apologize to patients for lack of response to questions, lack of explanation of prices and benefits, and overall mediocre service. Upper management is dictatorial and the CEO seems unaware of conflict. Patient care is scaled and minimalized dependent on insurance coverage, while the profits of this company soar enough to continue to apply to expand in other areas of the state. For the record, I have allowed time after parting ways with this company prior to writing this review.

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2014-04-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Employees care, but management couldn't care less about them. Shop around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Well Care Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues for the most part; very competent IT staff and COO. Education tries but seems overwhelmed due to constant turnover and new orientees above the norm. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid clinical staff. Clueless administration, with most having no business being in their positions due to lack of credentials, experience, or applicable education. The same applies towards much of management, with incompetence at the helm; and their sidekicks / "assistants" are hand-picked to meet their needs, yet have no qualifying backgrounds or education. Cronyism and nepotism abounds. If you are a clinician, many are at the mercy of power-hungry incompetents who run the show. What makes this agency float is the level of competence, compassion, skill, and knowledge afforded by their clinicians and ancillary personnel for their clients. I'm guessing the same may be true, but am not familiar with the office personnel; most do not last long enough to know. High turnover rate is the norm all across the board. Poor communication (purposeful?) with very little respect for the staff, unless you're in the "loop" or brown-nose your way into a position you are unqualified for. If you (a professional) are interviewed, ask those participating who they are; do not be surprised if someone interviewing you (other than HR and your potential future manager) is a non-professional who has no background in your field. Have never seen anything like it! You are on your own in a short time, then find things out after an error is made.Very reactive instead of proactive way to inform staff. If your managers, their assistants and director prioritized quality teaching and availability vs decorating, going to lunch together, or shopping for parties, some poor souls could avoid finding things out after the fact. There is more, but enough said.

    Continue reading
    Well Care Health2012-10-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews