WellCare "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

WellCare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing company & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture, benefits and true appreciation for employees and growth opportunities

    Cons

    Often bring in upper management from external

    WellCare2019-04-19
  2. "Will set you up for failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The "one team" culture is the best thing we have going. So many of our team members work together to help accomplish our department and organization goals. I only stay because of my team.

    Cons

    Proactive with getting new business, but very reactionary when it comes to new processes and staffing. Upper management leads by fear and creates a toxic work environment. They should actually take a step back and learn some of what the people on the floor do instead of assuming they know it all and blaming their direct reports for everything that goes wrong.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2020-01-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Very poor training and horrible supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work From Home Customer Service Representative in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and decent benefits

    Cons

    - Very poor training - Constant system issues and downtime that have been happening for months - Supervisors are mean and rude and offer little to no help - supervisors will try to get you fired (happened to several people in my group) The system issues are so common that 3 out of 5 work days a week you will be waiting around for the systems to reboot and you will basically be paid for doing nothing and the reboot process can take around 30 minutes. They tell us that if you reboot your computer more then twice in one shift you will be given a warning, so something that is entirely out of our control can get us terminated from the job! The computers they supply you with are running on a custom version of Ubuntu and are horrible, the system will auto log you off for inactivity even if you are active and in the middle of a call while moving the mouse or typing, So you have to transfer the customer to another agent because your computer logged you off and all the customers info is lost once it logs you off. So the computers alone are junk and dont work properly and Wellcare will not do anything about it. You must use their own junky equipment. There are no other options. The supervisors that we were assigned with was very rude and would get very mean when we tried to call her for assistance, Sometimes she would even just straight up hang up the phone and refuse to talk to us because she was busy so she claims. the training we received was very poor and half of our group did not even know what to do on the first week and some straight up quit because they were so confused by the time they had to take their first calls. My supervisor claimed that I was calling the customers names and hanging up on them (Ironic because this is what the supervisor sometimes does to us) But all the calls are recorded and I asked her to play back a call that had me supposedly calling the customer a name and she said "I don't have access to that recording". So I asked her how did she know if I called a customer names in the first place if she doesn't have access to the audio recordings. And she just hung up with me after I asked her that. So now my supervisor is trying to get me terminated by claiming fake stories and reporting them to upper management. I plan on pursuing legal action against this supervisor for making false claims that I was calling my customers names and among other things. We are all literally scared on a daily basis to call our supervisor for any help or advice so we just wing it through a call and hope we are saying the right thing or properly doing our jobs, Its a very stressful work environment even though we are working from our own homes. The supervisors are rude and mean and we have little to no options to choose another supervisor.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-07-10
  4. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are nice. Working environment is good.

    Cons

    The upper management always likes to create some unnecessary duties.

    WellCare2019-04-02
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work at home... and little else

    Cons

    There is the daily expectation that you work outside the work hours, miss breaks, miss or shorten your lunch breaks just to keep up. Doing this for months on end takes a toll on your home life, health, social outings with friends because your at the point of exhaustion after each work day. They waste none or very little of your time with training and despite totally unrealistic work production expectations, ridiculously long computer training module are assigned that are so general and lack specificity to the market or states you work in. The onboarding wage disparities is flattened out over time... so a good worker, efficient and effective and high producing is getting a smaller raise than a total slacker ... whom can't keep up or produce anything close to your numbers. Total slackers are either promoted to be your Supervisor or fired... and then tell you the expectations they couldn't meet are easily doable and it is your time management. A 9 yr Case Manager was fired the day after he refused to work extra hours. A 6 yr Case Manager left as upper management demanded more, more, more done faster, faster, faster.... despite daily connection and/or program glitches and outages. Another Case Manager that was sticking it out for the extra money prior to retirement finally gave up and retired due to the stress of unrealistic expectations.... despite being a Supervisor favorite. Several Case Managers have gone on vacation to use up her PTO and turn in their resignation. Case Managers have have also quit... ask yourself why a Professional Nurse would just walk off a job! There is severely unequal treatment of teammates. The place has far tooooooo many layers of management.. ever hear the saying, too many chiefs and not enough Indians?.... welcome to WellCare! Organization is way overdue in gutting management... the poor choices WellCare has made have cost them in low morale and attrition. Will they learn... time will tell. Unethical behavior is the culture... my team has been told to open Members to case management with no needs or barriers for "potential future HEDIS care gaps"... does that smell like fraud? It should to any Case Manager! But Case Managers are expected to do... not think at WellCare! Does management do surveys to gauge themselves and find a way to pay themselves on the back.... you bet they do. No matter how many surveys we complete on work life balance, our Supervisors and Managers, unfair treatment, training and education.... they always try to find any number/result that says they're doing a great job. They THINK we're too stupid to recall the questions. Nearly daily, I have at least 1 Member that says they have to change their insurance because their doctor is dropping WellCare for nonpayment or extremely slow payment.... DME providers are dropping WellCare for equipment approvals that result in nonpayment or extremely slow payments. My advice..... keep looking and don't waste your time working for a company and supervisor that will not appreciate your efficiency of production, increased stress levels, and get a slap in the face wage increase for outperforming many teammates

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-03-12
  6. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay, work from home, unlimited access to infinite knowledge pertaining to healthcare.

    Cons

    negative outlook from upper management, work under intimidation, lack or promotion/growth.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-02-21
  7. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Service Coordinator in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always uplifting and looking for ways to improve health/lifestyle, for employees and members.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, upper management is not always approachable.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-01-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse Coordinator in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WellCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home occasionally maybe

    Cons

    This is possibly the worst upper management and HR I’ve ever seen. Management and HR look the other way at how the states are being managed. The turnover for middle managers is crazy. People just there one day and gone the next. No explanation.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-01-31
  9. "Do Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medicaid Eligibility Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WellCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Over all the company is a great vehicle to help people who need free or low cost health insurance.

    Cons

    Upper management puts pressure on the field reps to produce numbers in less than 8 hours. The reps then work in some cases 7 days week and don't get over time. The company and upper management receives the benefits of the increase in business but the reps and the scraps. The Recreational Vehicles are filthy and old with no clean running water They need to be replaced not rewrapped. Its frowned upon when reaching out to human resources or upper management. In some cases you will be approached and ask why did you reach out to upper management or human recourses.

    Continue reading
    WellCare2019-01-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Medical Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WellCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good and Other her associates are great to work with.

    Cons

    Hires bad manager with bad ethics, and upper management allows it They turn their heads to poor behavior and poor management

    Continue reading
    WellCare2018-12-14

    WellCare Response

    December 19, 2018

    We are disappointed to hear you are feeling this way. At WellCare, we strive to create a rewarding and enriching environment for all of our associates. There are many ways for employees to share feedback including sending an email to hrsocialmedia@wellcare.com. We would like to hear more about your experience.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews