Wellesley Information Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Wellesley Information Services Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wellesley Information Services President and CEO Jamie Bedard (no image)
Jamie Bedard
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Massive opportunity for growth, driven colleagues, tremendous leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Events Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellesley Information Services full-time

    Pros

    It’s difficult to describe in only a short review how positive my experience as an employee at WIS has been. At the core of every great company is great leadership. Stemming from the top, the CEO Jamie Bedard embodies what a leader should be. Jamie invites and values the opinions, individual strengths and passions, and well-being of each employee in the company. He is a “straight-shooter” in the sense that he is fully transparent with employees on his thoughts and decisions, with reasons and evidence as to why he makes them. For example, Jamie holds a weekly company meeting at the start of each week to communicate updates, goals, and identify and address our strengths and weaknesses. During these calls Jamie frequently references ideas from the book “Good to Great,” emphasizing the importance of being passionate about what we do and refusing to settle for average or uninspired work. These ideas are echoed in the makeup our leadership team. Prior to working at WIS, I’d never had the opportunity to be surrounded by individuals as driven, collaborative, innovative, and hard-working as those that serve on leadership. There is no sense of hierarchy, as leadership frequently asks for the opinions, thoughts and advice from employees at every level. I’ve learned more in the past few months working alongside my colleagues at WIS than I ever imagined learning in my first three years following graduation. More, working at WIS has given me the opportunity to travel globally to contribute to the success of our events. It’s exciting to be immersed in a company experiencing a period of growth, to help contribute to the company’s success alongside a devoted team.

    Cons

    The day-to-day for WIS employees requires a strong work ethic, adaptability, and resilience.

    Wellesley Information Services2019-08-01
  2. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are investing in talent and technology. Its nice to see a company planning/building.

    Cons

    Its a bit disorganized while the rebuilding is happening. But you can see its coming together.

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Consider yourself warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Dedham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The base salary for someone right out of college wasn't bad. Most of the regular employees were nice.

    Cons

    The company was recently purchased in November of 2018 by the current CEO James (Jamie) Bedard. Jamie Bedard is HORRIBLE - feel free to Google his name and read the reviews of his "leadership" at the other companies he has led like Aberdeen, Reputation Institute, etc. The sales practices are immoral and the CEO is a manipulative, lying, narcissistic man. When I decided to resign I was also promised in writing that I would be given an extra 2 weeks of severance, which 2 days after leaving I received a call from HR (who only works 2 days a week, by the way) stating there was a "miscommunication" and that I would not be given the 2 weeks severance I was promised. Legal action was my only option - I'm telling you now, do NOT work for Jamie Bedard.

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Watch out--This company will likely be gone within the year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It used to be a great company to work for with a great team. Since then the product lines were slow to adapt and the company hit some trouble. After a sale in 2018 the new leadership had a tough job to do--overhead needed to be reduced--but they went about in the most demoralizing way possible. Round after round of layoffs destroyed employee morale and eroded any trust in leadership.

    Cons

    The product offering is stale and currently unprofitable. Compensation is nowhere near market rate. The company's sale has caused complete chaos. The company's only asset is it's relationship with SAP and customer lists of dubious quality. The cascade of lies from new management suggests that there is no real plan and that they don't understand the industry. New management berates employees behind their back but in open earshot of other employees. This is an extremely toxic environment.

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dedham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I don't have to go there anymore

    Cons

    No HR, terrible technology infrastructure, toxic environment, little to no room for growth, long hours with little to no work to do because of a lack of leadership, no direction, new CEO is awful, health insurance is not very good

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2019-03-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "okay to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketer 

    I have been working at Wellesley Information Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work at with entry college grads

    Cons

    Culture has changed to what it use to be.

    Wellesley Information Services2019-01-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Work-Life Balance, Great Colleagues,

    Cons

    Lack of leadership (from top management), outdated strategy,

    Wellesley Information Services2018-09-25
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Thought it was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Massive layoffs. Be careful they are constantly restructuring the company which means large layoffs from all positions with no warning.

    Wellesley Information Services2017-12-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Dedham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wellesley Information Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule; good work-life balance; some decent colleagues

    Cons

    Poor employee management; problem employees; below-scale pay; high apparent turnover. Senior IT managment was infatuated with buzzwords and acronyms, but did not support needed initiatives to improve quality of the team and its end product. The technical team is relatively small for the company size, with some extremely strong and sometimes nasty personalities. One relatively junior-strength developer in particular, if someone even looked at his code, literally shouted; this is the other end of the spectrum from supporting such code quality measures as code reviews. Mentoring and other KT possibilities were at a standstill due to problem employees. One problem employee seemed irreplaceable, as he'd written a lot of the problematic back-end systems, so was allowed to "work from home" most of the time, while his extreme defensiveness and generally angry demeanor was coddled. There was no realistic path for advancement within the organization for technical people. One member of IT leadership was more interested in wordplay than actually improving things at the company, or fixing the fairly severe team issues. Outside of IT, technical people were largely ignored. At company meetings marketer after salesperson would receive thunderous applause, while entire company-wide meetings would go by with no mention of technical personnel. Overall, it's not an experience I'd repeat willingly.

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2017-04-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dedham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellesley Information Services

    Pros

    Great products, fun people and an amazing work environment Small entrepreneurial type of company that encourages cross team collaboration to develop new ideas and products Company cares about its employees from the receptionist (office mom) to your boss to the CEO Traveling to events is great Celebratory culture with Sox games, food, cookouts, parties, and more

    Cons

    You can get lost in the mix and not recognized if you are not a vocal person

    Continue reading
    Wellesley Information Services2016-07-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 41 reviews