Wells' Dairy Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Wells' Dairy Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Wells' Dairy CEO Mike Wells (no image)
Mike Wells
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manufacturing and marketing ice cream provides strong affinity between consumers, the company, and brand characteristics(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance; decent office culture and they were getting better at breaking down silo walls and barriers; committed leadership(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and great benefits!

    Cons

    None that I could see.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Wells' Dairy2019-10-23
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great health Benefits , Great Higher up management

    Cons

    Lots of Travel , No growth within the company

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within , then from outside

    Wells' Dairy2020-01-08
  3. "Good money but terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Le Mars, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cannot think of absolutely anything

    Cons

    Everything including foot pain, and pain, the nurses are terrible and don’t want you to get better. This place has gone downhill since I started in the early 2000’s

    Advice to Management

    Everything including foot pain, and pain, the nurses are terrible and don’t want you to get better. This place has gone downhill since I started in the early 2000’s. Give people a shot when they apply different positions. Don’t just give positions to people that you know or because you’re friends with them.

    Wells' Dairy2019-08-08
  4. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Service Desk Technician in Le Mars, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells' Dairy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free ice cream, bonuses if your team meets its goals at the end of every year

    Cons

    Not the best environment. They don't really care if a person is rude to coworkers and not a team player.

    Wells' Dairy2019-07-07
  5. "Company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is going through a lot of change and as a result it is a bit chaotic. But the growth is real and exciting and you can be a part of some industry-changing work. They are very dedicated to quality and people and growth.

    Cons

    With the changes and growth, the resources are stretched very thin.

    Wells' Dairy2019-05-29
  6. "Good company with great people, great products, and strong values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to make a difference in the organization, and to be a part of a great family-owned company

    Cons

    Adapting to a dynamic industry can be challenging

    Wells' Dairy2018-12-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The Best of Times / The Worst of Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My friends at the company were and still are some of my best friends. I enjoyed working with the Well's owners. My early years were the best, pre 2005 ish.

    Cons

    Execs too willing to reach for the flavor of the month to try and make their mark, like BIC, Gainsharing, Let's be #1, ok Let's be #3, etc. Constantly going from one ditch to the other, never steering a steady path down the road. Working at the plants was like being in High School - the cool kid club did their best to get any newbies kicked out and forced to go elsewhere if they threatened the status quo.

    Advice to Management

    Treat middle management and hourlys as if they were human beings, ask them out to lunch every now and then. Don't just keep to your top tier execs to do stuff with. Act like a down to earth caring human being, not like a king who is too good for others. Be careful to not go down the path of a new superstar exec's flavor of the month to try and save the company.

    Wells' Dairy2018-12-21
  8. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Person in Le Mars, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    gym, cafe, 3 weeks pto?

    Cons

    Corporate Environment Different rules for different people and departments No advancement opportunities Salary Sucks

    Advice to Management

    Pay people more and get rid of old management style

    Wells' Dairy2018-11-20
  9. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time

    Pros

    Fun Brand. Modern office space. Free ice cream.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks ability to take responsibility. Lack of trust. Constant “fire drills” and poor communication throughout. Zero development opportunities. Marketing is a revolving door of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Development a more trusting and enjoyable culture. Work on developing employees. Need more inspiring leadership.

    Wells' Dairy2018-11-30
  10. "A/R Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Le Mars, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells' Dairy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun & Positive Work Environment Ice Cream Taste Testing :) Approachable & Respectful Supervisors Long Term Employees

    Cons

    Internal positions rarely open up (due to employees working there long term)

    Wells' Dairy2018-09-20
Found 59 reviews