Wells Fargo Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Des Moines Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 225 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
6 Ratings
  1. "Ok environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Document Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, company tries to acknowledge the employees' work

    Cons

    the job was monotonous, but not horrible sitting at a computer all day

    Wells Fargo2019-05-15
  2. "Underwriting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Poor training and poor management

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees

    Wells Fargo2019-05-09
  3. "The devil you know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Preservation Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of free education opportunities, competitive benefits, strong "raise your hand" culture.

    Cons

    not competitive pay, growth is based on social popularity not performance. low value to team members/instability

    Advice to Management

    The high level culture of compartmentalizing information has led to a culture of passing around a customer to get results, building a better wells fargo starts at the team member level and most of your front facing employees are underpaid and see through the smoke screen.

    Wells Fargo2019-05-17
  4. "pros out weigh negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Relations Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay and benefits short commute free parking location positive co-workers/team work working remotely

    Cons

    virtual consulting system changes case load excessive data entry

    Advice to Management

    Onboarding needs improvement

    Wells Fargo2019-05-13
  5. "Awful morale and pay structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research/Remediation Analyst in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s a job. There are people here that are happy but not in my department.

    Cons

    Managers lie and still try covering up risks instead of addressing them

    Wells Fargo2019-05-01
  6. "Not for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very high pay which makes people stay

    Cons

    Men are egotistical and will do everything in their power to not promote women that deserve it.

    Advice to Management

    Diversity; woman can do the work just as well as men

    Wells Fargo2019-05-06
  7. "Mortgage consultant sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people there and good training

    Cons

    Not all working together...rules not the same for all, technology problems abound.

    Advice to Management

    Be far to all

    Wells Fargo2019-04-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great team members, poor senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My immediate coworkers were some of the most caring and dedicated individuals I've ever worked with. I never heard anyone say: "That's not my job." They were always open to questions and feedback. If you had a question they could not answer, they would find the answer for you. Wells Fargo does offer significant time off.

    Cons

    Wells Fargo senior management has recently stumbled from one scandal to another without full disclosing or communicating decisions and issues to team members. Executive compensation continues to increase along with stock buybacks while team member wages remain stagnant at mere 1-2% annual increases.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest with team members. Make transparent decisions and keep impacted team members involved.

    Wells Fargo2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Position eliminated as part of reorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Bank President & Business Banking Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Breadth of products/technology to serve client needs. Training also strong.

    Cons

    Reputational damage done as result of several scandals

    Advice to Management

    Need to get focus back on serving client needs and making a positive difference

    Wells Fargo2019-02-21
  10. "HR Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and encouraging peers

    Cons

    This is not a challenging role

    Advice to Management

    Consider adding more opportunities to this role.

    Wells Fargo2019-01-30
Found 225 reviews