Wells Fargo Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Des Moines Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 369 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love this company and working here.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape to work thru to get access to systems

    Wells Fargo2019-01-11
  2. "Great Benefits and Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wells Fargo Bank in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shift differential pay, OT available, always team meetings and updated trainings, Women are paid for 4 months off after giving birth and there are designated rooms in the building on each floor for women who are pregnant.

    Cons

    It sometimes slow to respond to technical or office equipment issues, sometimes later hours and super early hours required.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-05
  3. "not a bad job for those with customer service experience and little schooling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Resolution Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    has a good culture I believe but is dependent on your team and manager and division they would allow you to flex your time and it had a lot of PTO but the schedules weren't the most ideal

    Cons

    the job itself was a little soul-sucking but that's what you get when you deal with finances and people who can't control their own and it happens to us all coworkers tend to be unprofessional managers don't to much one on ones due to production needs and lack of development since it's supposed to be done on ones own time which fine and all but it would be encouraging to have management look out for you when they know...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don't treat your employees all the same especially when you know they have different strengths and weaknesses

    Wells Fargo2019-08-02
  4. "Good pay, hard grind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, uncapped commission, PTO, high energy environment

    Cons

    Unrealistic reporting that’s directed at you not doing well enough. Management in sales are mostly top performers, and not always good leaders that understand how to motivate. It’s sales, so your numbers matter and you’re a number.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on positive motivation and accountability rather than calling people out and downing them. Dig deeper to understand how to motivate each team member under you.

    Wells Fargo2019-07-25
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and the people you work with

    Cons

    Not always feeling like they help you move up in the company if qualified

    Advice to Management

    Don't choose favorites when many other people deserve to have the higher position.

    Wells Fargo2019-07-18
  6. "Not as good as it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and they give you a lot of paid time off. You also receive all of the typical holidays off and team outings every so often.

    Cons

    A lot of wasted production time making pointless outbound calls. They have metrics they want you to hit to show that the bottom level is being productive. The problem is, most of the numbers they give you are terrible leads and wasted time. People get extremely annoyed from being called by more than one WF employee in a day or week.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the system. There are other ways to be productive rather than outbound "leads".

    Wells Fargo2019-07-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Underqualified Employees, Overconfident Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Risk Management in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like ‘certainty’ - no one I knew during my tenure ever changed their opinion about anything, even in the face of significant, compelling evidence that their opinion was factually incorrect.

    Cons

    Honestly, do yourself a favor and avoid working here.

    Advice to Management

    No advice. After all, they’re number one so how could they possibly improve? Oh, wait...

    Wells Fargo2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits Package, Health insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, health insurance, PTO

    Cons

    Low wages, poor management in some departments

    Wells Fargo2019-07-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Resolution Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay well in some areas

    Cons

    Their Management treat their employee's terrible. They will let anyone be a manager. They are rude and disrespectful. Wells use to be a great place. Glad I left there. All they worry about is top management.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people better!

    Wells Fargo2019-07-25
  10. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wells Fargo rewards hard work and they do a really good job of promoting from within. They promote a positive culture and they are generous with paid time off. Wells Fargo is flexible with hours so appointments and life can be delt with.

    Cons

    I like my job and my colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    I have always worked under top notch management.

    Wells Fargo2019-05-26
Found 369 reviews