Wells Fargo Reviews in Greensboro, NC | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Greensboro Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
0 Ratings
  1. "Good part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bank Teller in Greensboro, NC

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and pay for a starting teller position.

    Cons

    Taking days off requires that no one else in the same position is taking the same day off.

    Wells Fargo2015-05-29
  2. "Leader in sales drive, superior training, great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service MANAGER I in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, quick to be promoted, long term career

    Cons

    Sales drive is strong, must juggle a lot at once daily

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2015-03-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "extremely stressful as sales are more important than customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo part-time

    Pros

    vacation time is good, except if you are sick you have to use vacation for first 5 days, so you could be in hospital but wells has you on vacation, benefits are ok, medical has been better in past

    Cons

    very sales oriented, thats all they care about, sales goals are hard to reach and are the same across board, a busy branch might make goal but a slow branch cant, you can lose your job for not making goal, they preach customer service but really its about how much you can sell the customer

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller At Wells Fargo in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers were great and so was the atmosphere

    Cons

    Management was lacking, and untrained supervisors made it difficult to do my job

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-04-09
  5. "Very similar to a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Created a "no fear" mentality. Sharpened my phone skills. Made me appreciate my current job

    Cons

    Management is very out of touch of what goes on inside the branch.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-01-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great customers fair compensation until they decide younger and cheaper are better.

    Cons

    Discriminate against older workers; everyone in my dept. over 50 lost our jobs. Big sales goals.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2013-12-23
  7. "Rewarding, Educational, fun.. at times difficult, frustrating, non-appreciated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think overall if you want to really get the best training the retail banking industry can provide, go to Wells Fargo. They're incredible about internal promotions as long as you stick to their plan, prove yourself and work hard. There is tons of district and regional recognition, and (in my area at least) they try to make it as fun as possible. The medical benefits gradually got worse/more expensive as we transitioned from Wachovia to Wells, however. But they were okay. Incentive is great if reached.

    Cons

    As with any sales-driven job, "it's not about what you did for me yesterday, it's what you can do for me today." Wells Fargo is the TOP of the list for micromanagement. Daily sales tracking calls at 11, 2 and 5:00, on top of weekly calls for bankers at 8 or 8:15 and weekly (sometimes daily) calls for service managers (teller managers). At one point I was the top performing banker in my district, but was put on performance coaching because I wasn't following a particular system in place that is supposed to maximize sales. That's the type of things that turned me away. The incentive goals recently lowered, but there's a catch to it. They tell you how much money you can make, yet to make anything over $1-300 tops as a banker is almost impossible. Management is so inconsistant from branch to branch which also makes things tough.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2013-01-25
  8. Helpful (5)

    "You're nothing more than what you can produce for them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales and Service Representative in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of advancement opportunities, if you're willing to deal with the endless grinding and screwing over of customers.

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, very very pushy sales techniques expected, micromanaged down to the nitty gritty... not even sure why I was a banker since I had to go check with my store manager before I did ANYTHING. I was a Customer Sales and Service Representative which gets paid less than a Personal Banker but has the exact same expectations. The goals are supposed to be different, but the district manager would send out daily "expectations" and "challenges" and they were the same for both positions. Call nights EVERY night, regardless of if you are making your goals or not. Crappy "prizes" for meeting insane goals like $5 each for lunch or cookies or candy or STUFF with Wells Fargo logo all over it. Management doesn't care about their employees at all, they only care about the bottom line. They encourage unethical behavior in order to get sales... but don't get caught, because then you're on your own. I didn't get fired, but I watched countless bankers gets fired while I was there... for "gaming". They create an environment where you feel like you have to do unethical things in order to make your goals. Nothing is ever good enough, if you have an amazing day on Monday but on Tuesday you don't meet your goals... then you're in the toilet. It doesn't matter if it averages out and you're at goal for the quarter, they make you feel like crap for not meeting goals every. single. day. and in every single category. Sorry, but it's just not possible.. and I was a good banker, always exceeded my goals. Never good enough. I was in the Greensboro district in North Carolina.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2012-12-20
  9. "Financial Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Specialist in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good book of business to search from. Plenty of products to choose from. Enjoyed group of people that I worked with or for.

    Cons

    Constant micro management. Competition is intense internally. More time spent on conference calls and telling management what your intentions are than meeting with clients to make sales.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2012-06-27
  10. "Its a job..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Banker II in Greensboro, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    You will get great bank related training and they are the most heavily sales oriented bank anywhere around. Get ready to learn how to cross sale. They try to get all the "sticky" products they can with their customers. Car insurance,credit report, ID protect etc.

    Cons

    They do not respect their customers or their employees. They try to make you force products on customers that you know harm them more than help them. They have consistently adjusted the sales goals upward and nobody hits the profit goal which is beyond unobtainable. You are only as good as the day you are in because they will push sales down your thoat! You must have 5 preset checking act. appoiintments everyday or plan on getting wrote up daily! Also plan on making at least 100 dials a day to stay out of trouble with your boss

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2011-03-28
Found 21 reviews