Wells Fargo Home Mortgage Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Charlie Scharf
Charlie Scharf
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing benefits, great training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, my branch was like a family. Outstanding customer service.

    Cons

    Pay was a draw plus commission and the draw had to be paid back

    Wells Fargo2020-02-27
  2. "Originate loans in a call center type environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and company culture! Potential income is certainly there, but a lot is out of your control.

    Cons

    Loans take forever to close. A lot of closings get missed due to the slowness of processors/underwriters. They have very little motivation to move loans quickly. The base pay is laughable.

    Wells Fargo2020-03-25
  3. "Excellent Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wells Fargo literally invest time and resources developing employees talents.

    Cons

    Be ready to be there and work your best hours.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-02-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "your manages lies all the time"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it could have been a good place for good performers and more people

    Cons

    middle managers are horrible. they lies all the time because they know you can't talk to senior management. if you do, they give you an warning as insorbodination. I really got sick of my manager's lies.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-01-31
  5. "Company will take care of you"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant 

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay, flexible hours and company sets you up for success

    Cons

    Little room for advancement

    Wells Fargo2019-12-08
  6. "Stressful, lowest basis points out of any other lender"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lowest Rates, Brand Reputation, Ability to source business from branches

    Cons

    Slow processing, incompetent processors and underwriters, some offices and officers get special treatment with better underwriters and lower rates

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2019-12-11
  7. "Corporate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Potential earnings, benefits, and quite a bit of PTO if you were to ever use it

    Cons

    Glued to desk, lot of admin work, strict

    Wells Fargo2019-11-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Home Mortgage Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice 401K matching. Work life balance is what you make of it, and so is how much you make. You can work yourself to death and make a lot, or be chill and make just enough to live on.

    Cons

    Big company, so big bureaucracy. Too many annoying meetings.

    Wells Fargo2019-10-30
  9. "Review"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant 

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and Compensation was good

    Cons

    Nothing was negative about my experience

    Wells Fargo2019-10-14
  10. "Great for self starters"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product mix and reliable underwriting

    Cons

    Rates can be challenging. Lots of extra work that seems unnecessary.

    Wells Fargo2019-09-07
Found 196 reviews