Wells Fargo Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
0 Ratings
  1. "Solid company, strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Database Decision Strategy Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, executive management, ability to move within company

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, slow to get things done

    Wells Fargo2015-01-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good natured people but organization is inefficient & dysfunctional in spite of being young."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Business growth focused, has strong financials, so good opportunities for people in the team. Customer centricity in decisions- good stuff there, helps you feel peace of mind that you are doing the right thing. Decent work life balance, average 50 hrs a week at managerial levels. Decent pay, probably top tier among west coast banks. Good/warm people, most of them working for Wells over a decade, tend to be less aggressive (vs. other banks).

    Cons

    Heavily matrixed org and not-so-effective top/middle leadership, leading to ambiguity on ownerships/ accountability and too much in-fighting among teams. Very slow moving on making decisions. Too much red tape and bureaucracy to deal with. Mixed bag on talent/skill levels across all levels, so logic/sense gets victimized in decisions. Usually most politically correct position or loudest voice or highest paid person's opinion wins out. Career progress appears limited and slow. Promotions virtually non existent. People sitting in the same role for long- easily 5+ years with no upward trajectory.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-10-18
  3. "Growing with me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Program Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We try very hard to be the best team in banking. My personal team reflects the high standards that the world has for us as a company. It's not that we're the smartest, or the fastest, or the most tech-savvy individuals. We care. We care about our customers' experiences, we care about our communities, we care about the world around us and the people on our team. Our CEO has done a great job recently of promoting this culture and it has made a difference. My manager, her manager, and all the fine people on my team are wonderful to work with, respectful of others, ethical, honest, and make difficult choices because they're the right thing to do. I have a huge amount of respect for them, and also for the work we do.

    Cons

    I realize some customers and even team members have poor experiences at Wells Fargo, but my personal cons are pretty thin first-world type problems. Sometimes management doesn't understand what I do, which is rather technical. Sometimes it's difficult to gain buy-in on my ideas.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-08-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "It all depends on what group you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance Salary Benefits Lots of really smart, motivated people Some work can be great, some mind-numbing There are some great divisions to work with, and some awful ones. The good ones are great, and the awful ones are petty, political, and focused on keeping leadership happy instead of focusing on their work or the customer.

    Cons

    Politics Too big to move quickly Very hard to implement change Too many excuses ("Legal won't let us" "we've always done it this way")

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-04-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stable Environment, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with a lot of very smart and motivated people. The culture is that of a team, it's very collaborative, and people are generally trying to do the right thing for the customers and the business without letting their own agendas cloud their judgment. Also, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes not easy to move up. People stay a while. Business is always trying to do more with less. A company this big has a lot of controls in place for internet usage etc and it can feel very big brother-like sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-04-05
  6. "Ten Year Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, team members truly work together on behalf of the customer. The management team is accessible, down to earth and, for the most part, willing to listen. Team members stay for a long time, there is little movement at the staff level (but lost of turn over at the retail level).

    Cons

    Systems can be antiquated, middle management can often be a barrier. Run it Like You Own It culture can be difficult to navigate on behalf of the customer. Very risk averse. Not a lot of openness to new ideas, unless they are vetted for months. At the same time, open to GOOD ideas that show instant value, just difficult to get implemented. Lots of fiefdoms across the organization, can take years to build relationships that matter.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2013-07-02
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, strong company, good compensation

    Cons

    Flat organizational structure, n/a, n/a

    Wells Fargo2013-04-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck In the Middle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are great. Liked the location. Hours are OK, but they expect you to work more than 40 hours/week.

    Cons

    You really have to be great at managing up. Promotions are based on politics more than being a great people manager.

    Wells Fargo2013-02-24
  9. "Great Colleagues and Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Online Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    - Professional work environment - Professional colleagues - Training - Well defined processes I enjoyed my time contracting at Wells Fargo, it was a great experience and learning opportunity. I would recommend this employer, especially the Online Marketing Team. Intelligent colleagues and lots of opportunity to learn various facets of the business.

    Cons

    - Not too many full-time opportunities - Sometimes cramped working environment - sometime inflexible work environment The only thing that I did not care for was the work environment at times when they ran short on space. One item they can improve upon is the inflexibility to work remotely within certain teams. It seems like this is an outdated practice that should be updated.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2012-11-23
  10. "Post-Mergers, Firm is doing extremely well and now has solid leadership, very professional, Great community involvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Very professional organization - Solid and skilled leadership - Have brought in some great outside talent recently - Much more passion and heart than most large companies - Excellent community involvement like United Way, Komen Race, Symphony and Art Fair - Outstanding St. Louis HQ campus - Very fair and honest management

    Cons

    - Being part of a huge company (the bank) makes things move slow - Some office space is dated, remodeling is happening, but not near fast enough - Bank has pushed some odd changes to brokerage - Bank has changed some benefits that were previously outstanding - City has unusual 1% earnings tax, and they are located in the city - While image of the firm is very positive, they could spend more on advertising to get better awareness

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2011-09-18
Found 43 reviews