Wells Fargo Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
0 Ratings
  1. "Post-Mergers, Firm is doing extremely well and now has solid leadership, very professional, Great community involvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Very professional organization - Solid and skilled leadership - Have brought in some great outside talent recently - Much more passion and heart than most large companies - Excellent community involvement like United Way, Komen Race, Symphony and Art Fair - Outstanding St. Louis HQ campus - Very fair and honest management

    Cons

    - Being part of a huge company (the bank) makes things move slow - Some office space is dated, remodeling is happening, but not near fast enough - Bank has pushed some odd changes to brokerage - Bank has changed some benefits that were previously outstanding - City has unusual 1% earnings tax, and they are located in the city - While image of the firm is very positive, they could spend more on advertising to... get better awareness

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More communication and more events where all senior leadership are available to the audience (e.g. town halls).

    Wells Fargo2011-09-18
  2. "Good people place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Wells Fargo has some of the greatest people to work with...smart, helpful, friendly, team oriented. Some managers are excellent. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    My division's management (not WFC senior management) was indecisive/reactive. This led to pulling things together in short time resulting in substandard quality.

    Advice to Management

    Check out some of the middle management. Some great, some not. Hold divisional leaders accountable to plans and execution.

    Wells Fargo2010-09-09
  3. "Hard Habit to Break"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    I have been at Wells Fargo for 13 years. I am sure I could have left for another organization for more pay, prestige, etc. But Wells Fargo is a strong organization that treats it's people well. The benefits are amazing, so much so that I have not found another employer that can compete. As you get older you calue these things more. I am proud of where I work, and barring unforseen circumstances will be here for... the long haul.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a massive organization, it is easy to get lost in the shuffle and getting even the most simple question answered can be a challenge. Once you learn how to navigate this becomes less of an issue over time.

    Advice to Management

    Take your eyes off the bottom line for a second. We realize that fiscal performance is vital but there needs to be an authentic attention to the the needs and welfare of the team.

    Wells Fargo2010-05-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good people with high ideals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Benefits, work/life balance, positive reputation

    Cons

    Slow decision making and execution by senior management. Little cross-functional accountability my senior management

    Advice to Management

    Learn the science of maangement, rahter than operating by gut feel.

    Wells Fargo2010-03-02
  5. "Wells Fargo is a great place to have a long and varied career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Good benefits, 5 weeks of vacation. There is lots of opportunity to move around within the company and it's encouraged. Very fair. Formal review process. You always know where you stand.

    Cons

    Large company with decision making being slow and multi-leveled. It can take a while to get things done. Many people who work there have worked there for years. There seems to be a lot of dead weight. It can be difficult for those who aspire to move from the store branches to corporate offices.

    Advice to Management

    Empower lower levels of management and make a greater investment in IT.

    Wells Fargo2009-02-14
  6. "fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    work life balance, friendly, collegial work environment; people generally respect one another and listen to other's opinions. Advancement within the company is prized. Company rarely lays off employees and when does, tries hard to find people something else internally. In most divisions, there is also the chance to take on business initiatives, learn new skills sets, and interface with senior management. Training is... valued with loads of opps to participate in financial services, leadership, or other kinds of courses. Many people you'll work with have been with WF for long tenure - probably the biggest proof of a solid, caring company.

    Show More

    Cons

    over value consensus, very slow-moving in decision-making - and thus people who like risk or want to do something new or outside the box are not successful

    Advice to Management

    consider boosting Asia Pacific presence

    Wells Fargo2008-10-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stable company with decent benefits. Senior Management is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Exempt employees receive 25 paid days off per year right from the hiring date. The 410K gives a 100% match.

    Cons

    The management team is very political and much more interested in covering their a** than in actually doing what is right for the company. It's very hard to get anything done due to all the politics. Every manager has their own agenda. If something needs to get done that conflicts with that agenda, it will be made very hard to accomplish.

    Advice to Management

    Hire/replace management based on merit rather than building a network of political allies.

    Wells Fargo2008-08-10
  8. "Satisfaction with WF is very department specific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Database Decision Strategies Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Wide areas of specialization, not just "banking", lots of opportunities to move within, generally good work-life balance, diversity

    Cons

    depending on the department and the egos of the managers, or division heads, it can be a tough ride. WF is not a nimble organization, considerable wasted time in getting buy-in and concensus and approvals, etc., etc., etc. Certain departments pay a lot less than others for similar positions. Somewhat siloed operations, too much focus on sales culture, a little top heavy

    Advice to Management

    get a better handle on managing retail operations, don't focus solely on sales, pay attention to the customer experience

    Wells Fargo2008-06-25
  9. "Large company with lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    I would say that overall, my experience was positive. It is a huge company and with that comes lots of internal opportunities. The people I worked with were all very professional and smart. They treated people with respect and you received positive feedback for a job well done.

    Cons

    Because Wells Fargo is so large, it is very easy to get lost within the structure. There are a lot of company politics and favoritism. People seemed to get promoted based on who they knew and if the right people liked them. Morale was very low and many people left during my tenure. There also was a lack of a career path.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees, people can be very honest.

    Wells Fargo2008-07-01
  10. "Wells Fargo - big, but it will be around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Data Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good, support for employees is good, benefits are decent. The bank is large, but reasonably well run and conservative, so it will be around for the long haul. It's not going to be the fastest moving, but that is part of it's stability. The people are generally good adn the company does seem to value them more than other companies.

    Cons

    very large and bureacratic. Compliance issues are a huge headache right now, and if you are reasonably innovative, you will be frustrated many times in trying to implement your ideas. There are not immediate consequences for incompetence or failure.

    Advice to Management

    Break down the silos...faster than the current initiatives. You can spend a lot of time doing something that others have already done, but in another area.

    Wells Fargo2008-06-11
Found 44 reviews