Wells Fargo Reviews in Norfolk, VA | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Norfolk Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Timothy J. Sloan
Timothy J. Sloan
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temporary Administrative Assistant in Newport News, VA
    Recommends

    I worked at Wells Fargo (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I not only performed as an Administrative Assistant but as a Client Associate, allowing me to learn the industry while I was there. The 4 months I spent in this office were very productive and helped enhance my skill set and career. The Branch Manager believed in me and was genuinely interested in granting me access to as much knowledge as I was interested in.

    Cons

    The office culture could use a little work.

    Wells Fargo2019-02-16
  2. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teller in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great networking, opportunities for career development

    Cons

    Experiences were VERY different across each branch I worked at.

    Wells Fargo2019-02-23
  3. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow ; Flexible hours ;

    Cons

    Low pay - pressure to sell bank products

    Wells Fargo2018-12-06
  4. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker I in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wells is a great company to work for. There's endless opportunities to grow. They offer amazing benefits, such as Tuition assistance up to $5000/year. But most importantly, they put their people first.

    Cons

    It is a lengthy application process. Even when you're looking to promote from within.

    Wells Fargo2017-12-14
  5. "teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No more sales which allow you to focus on the customer. Good hours and pay.

    Cons

    There were truly no cons. The company was one of the best I have ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    management was amazing. Never worked with a more close-knit group of people before.

    Wells Fargo2017-12-08
  6. "Loan service specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great job with great people They treat employees great

    Cons

    Long hours and mandatory weekend

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to praise workers more often

    Wells Fargo2017-10-17
  7. "Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Loved that they are invested in the community, and I had a great manager who buffered all the crap

    Cons

    Still had to work snow days and rain days. Sales goals were high prior to the crash.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make young college kids managers

    Wells Fargo2017-08-29
  8. "Run far far away from WF BPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Representative in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laptop/ cell phone hence ability to work from anywhere

    Cons

    Management in business payroll services is unethical, manipulating, pushy and makes their own set of rules which are sometimes against company policy ( specifically the east/ mid Atlantic Florida market) Used to be a good place to work in but has become a miserable environment after new managers in this particular area took over . Only numbers focused with no regard for clients, rules or corporate policy. Sales reps...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either change your MA/ east coast team or discontinue this lob as it is a huge liability . This lob is not worth the reputational risk that is all but guaranteed to come from business payroll services at WF

    Wells Fargo2017-08-09
  9. "Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They had great benefits and I work with a great team.

    Cons

    It is numbers driven and building relationships doesn't matter as long as you open a checking account for every customer that sits at your desk. Whether they can use it or not. You are expected to lie to get the sale.

    Advice to Management

    Live by your motto Service First and Sales Second!

    Wells Fargo2017-06-29
  10. Helpful (25)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Despite recent negative news from bank channel, the senior management of WFA is top quality. They truly have a "put client first" attitude. My job, working with clients all day long, is highly rewarding. I've enjoyed working with the same clients for over 15 years, getting to know their families.

    Cons

    Downside would be the ever growing regulatory requirements that makes being productive more difficult and complicated. But I believe WFA has responded with tools and technology to make it as easy as possible, but that said, it's still challenging.

    Wells Fargo2017-03-20
Found 54 reviews