Wells Fargo Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Portland Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
4 Ratings
  1. "Research analyst 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research/Remediation Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good work environment.

    Cons

    Career advancement. The rate of pay could be better for entry level.

    Wells Fargo2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Awful, do not come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will get paid less than your competition. Managment will also default to the highest producer, regardless of what guidelines or rules were broken. If you drink the kool aid and pretend like everything is okay when it’s not, you could move up if you’re not in a sales position. You will have to relocate to do it. Not many opportunities to stay in the same region to move up.

    Cons

    Completely unethical. Management bullies advisors to cross sell, even when it’s unwarranted. They push advisors to bring clients into the Private Bank even though clients don’t want to. Management does nothing when people break rules, encourage people to stay quiet. I anticipate there will be more WF negative news for years to come. Managment lies to recruits to get them to come. I watched they say anything they... needed to and never followed up. They are so big, they just trust you won’t be able to do anything anyways. They want revenue first.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the hard things and actually stand up for what is right.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "DO NOT WORK IN THE WIRE TRANSFERS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - -Financial Specialist/Wire Transfers in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    The CTR is great with flexible hours and respectable people I would go back if that were my field of study.

    Cons

    Wire transfers area lacked in management, proper training, and not to mention some of the supervisors are creepy and like to sit in front of the women restroom just staring at the door while on break.

    Advice to Management

    Treat every employee whether contract or not, in every department with respect and don't fire the good ones.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-26
  5. "Seems great at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vault Processor in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of PTO time offered, paid holidays. When I was originally hired as a teller, 17.5 hrs/week, I was still offered full benefits.

    Cons

    Retail is the worst, got out after 5 months. Working in wholesale for 4 years, raises are minimal and most departments only offer upward movement to favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more, promote more. Loyal employees are not compensated well, or incentivized to stay with the company.

    Wells Fargo2019-07-14
  6. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Financial Specialist/Wires Transfers in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    Federal holidays off and okay pay.

    Cons

    Creepy, rude, inconsistent Supiviors, on the wire transfers side. Will end your contract if you stand up to them and make a complaint to HR.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect and know your job.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-04
  7. "Nice Benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phone Banker in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits, fast paced environment

    Cons

    can get tiresome due non stop calls

    Wells Fargo2019-06-28
  8. "Executive leadership disconnected from reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Product Management in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large organization that welcomes diversity. Internal opportunity to move around.

    Cons

    No real focus on thoughtful execution. High bureaucracy bogs down meaningful progress. Highly hierarchical.

    Wells Fargo2019-06-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, PTO, and holidays off but you can find that at any bank

    Cons

    Benefits were not good, management and senior leaders did not value employees, management would drink on the job

    Advice to Management

    Care more for employees

    Wells Fargo2019-05-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Major Intrusion into personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Processor in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits including 5 weeks PTO.

    Cons

    They will require you to hand over access to all your personal private accounts to "help you avoid insider trading"

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of these draconian policies. An FBI background check should be enough to work there. Don't treat your employees as guilty until proven innocent.

    Wells Fargo2019-03-14
  11. "I worked there and now I don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay was steady, plenty of benefits

    Cons

    Company is so big, it's easy for them to get the best out of their employees

    Wells Fargo2019-02-27
Found 105 reviews