Wells Fargo Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Project Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 158 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Timothy J. Sloan
Timothy J. Sloan
24 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time

    Pros

    Option to work from home. Most managers value their teams input and work with you around career development goals.

    Cons

    Your work week will be at least 50 hours.

    Wells Fargo2019-02-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Top 5 USA Bank - not Top 5 employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Good continued training available.

    Cons

    Ethics and values of the higher ups is just for show. Managers are not loyal to staff. Me me me mentality. Great is still not good enough. Fake atmosphere - Everyone scared of losing their job.

    Advice to Management

    Atmosphere does not feel like anything is your choice. Not everyone can be a manager or vp. Pushing employees into positions they don’t want but are afraid to say no to builds a team that are not particularly content. Everyone suffers. Constant change, knee jerk reactions. Unhappy staff.

    Wells Fargo2019-03-19
  3. "process is established and well defined but most of employees don't want to have an ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    I was surprisingly happy to see that WF has a good standards of processes, and they have goos tools and people who are providing enough trainings to perform the job. Also, being a big organization they constantly have new jobs, which means you can work there always,

    Cons

    Most of the people, especially young developers, don't have any coding standards, and don't do anything which I could call a dedication or ownership, those young 2 years experience developers are making 6 figures and still working from 9-5, and I'm not saying you don't need to have a work life balance, but you should actually work, and go to lunch for 2 hours work as slow as you could, because you are on L1 visa and none...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    cut lot of upper management positions and simplify the org structure, to many VPs of nothing

    Wells Fargo2019-03-13
  4. "Mixed bag, like most...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of smart, high-performing people

    Cons

    - Poor onboarding. You're really tossed into the water and left to figure things out the best you can. The online training modules are ineffective - you just have to dig in. The only way I survived was by luck of having a great mentor show me the ropes. - LOTS of contract resources/turnover

    Advice to Management

    More contract-to-hire and establish a mentoring system for new employees.

    Wells Fargo2019-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wells Fargo provides great opportunities for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive mentoring from direct managers and transparency from leadership on strategic direction. Amazing pay and benefits. For those who complain about the company or their position, I encourage you to actively manage your development and career goals. There are literally thousands of active job postings at Wells Fargo.

    Cons

    The only con would be the high level of government regulation that makes it more difficult for a truly agile approach.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop employees and position your team for success within the changing organization.

    Wells Fargo2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NA - there was nothing good.

    Cons

    These people will do anything for money - at your expense!

    Advice to Management

    Liquidate your business, and try again.

    Wells Fargo2018-12-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Timelines are not important for 90% of projects.

    Cons

    Just a number to someone and trying to improve or making a positive impact is frowned upon.

    Advice to Management

    Hire senior positions with experience, not because they are a warm body.

    Wells Fargo2018-11-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of support and overtime for contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the folks at Wells Fargo. There's a lot of great company culture there for full-time employees, and those who got in early reap great benefits for staying on, plus they help those out who are coming on to new jobs.

    Cons

    Wells Fargo has been sourcing talent via contract for years. I've seen several of my talented co-workers go because their contracts were over. This is business as usual for Wells Fargo. They let people go who've gained industry knowledge and the ability to make some great change for the department. Why? Because the middle managers are not able to keep them on. My advice is that if you take a contract from Wells Fargo,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear Management, the company culture you bring to your employees is nice. Well, not so nice since you banned spouses from coming to holiday parties, but okay. But the culture of not allowing contractors to participate in meetings and celebrate the success of the company is shameful. You're eating your bread and butter on this golden life of having contractors work for you, and you offer them no way for them to be a part...

    Show More
    Wells Fargo2018-11-13
  9. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many huge projects to participate in.

    Cons

    Work life balance is non-existent

    Wells Fargo2018-11-06
  10. "Positive Experience as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Opportunity to learn and receive training.

    Cons

    Worked there 3 times on separate contract assignments. Lack opportunity for mobility when an assignment is ending. Lack of opportunity to convert full time.

    Advice to Management

    When you go through the process of hiring a contractor multiple times, you should utilize the talent you already have rather than forcing that contractor to go through the hiring process from the outside again.

    Wells Fargo2018-10-08
Found 158 reviews