Wells Fargo San Jose Reviews

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Charlie Scharf
Charlie Scharf
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I don't mind coming back :)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of room to grow; it's possible to be promoted from teller to banker within 4-6 months. -Great team environment. Teammates reach out to you almost all the time, so communication and problem solving was always smooth. Honestly, it really depends on which branch you're working at or who you're working with. I was lucky to be working with a great team, because I've seen other branches where it things were still great but didn't go as smooth. Also, even though I was a student working only 20 hours/wk, Wells Fargo offers benefits, PTO hours, and is very compliant with employee policies, so that was nice. If I were to choose a place to work after retirement, it would be here.

    Cons

    - I can't think of any :)

    Wells Fargo2019-10-28
  2. "Great Place"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time

    Pros

    Good Culture and great management

    Cons

    Slow Progression but great coaching

    Wells Fargo2020-03-02
  3. "The Crazy Micro Management is the Straw that Broke the Camel's Back..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    PTO! Company matches 6% on 401K after a year of hire Benefits Work goes by fast. Sundays off and some locations, Saturdays are off too.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. Enough said.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2019-10-02
  4. "Great for self starters"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product mix and reliable underwriting

    Cons

    Rates can be challenging. Lots of extra work that seems unnecessary.

    Wells Fargo2019-09-07
  5. "personal banker 2"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker II in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment no sales pressure good products

    Cons

    Less paid time off

    Wells Fargo2018-12-26
  6. "Lead teller"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teller in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pto and 401 k, easily promoted if well known

    Cons

    Short staffed people are always leaving not enough people hired

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2018-09-20
  7. "CSSR"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and my direct manager was decent.

    Cons

    Too sales driven and they don't care about their clients.

    Wells Fargo2018-08-10
  8. "SVP"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Brokerage Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management solicits feedback, both negative and positive. They want to get better. They change policies if shown they don't make sense. They care about people and try hard to make it a good place to work.

    Cons

    Recent bad news has been a drag on the company and the stock.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2018-04-15
  9. "Personal Banker (SAFE)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No aggressive sales goals, Share distribution, Large company with lots of job opportunities.

    Cons

    Difficult to move between positions even if qualified, disconnet between the corporate division and retail division (branches). Job progression is about WHO you know not WHAT you know.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2018-03-08
  10. "Teller"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Bank Teller in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits ans PT0. Overall, the company is making an effort to rebuild itself after the issues that they have had

    Cons

    Unorangized management, which in turn creates a lot of stress on the health and wellness of employees. Very little work life balance, they expect you to stay late and do task that you don’t get credit for. Manipulative management. (This is just what I have experienced at my branch)

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2017-12-06
Found 85 reviews