Wells Fargo San Mateo Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
1%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Charlie Scharf
Charlie Scharf
0 Rating
  1. "Great Benefits & Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company benefits were above average for PT status. Team encourages growth and learning. Potential to move up. Good training programs. competitive financial products to offer to clients.

    Cons

    Company put extreme pressure on bankers to open accounts. They would keep stressing out about not meeting their goals and would pressure other employees to open multiple accounts. Even the branch manager encouraged employees to oblige with this unethical practice. But now we all know that the pressure was trickling from from Stumf.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2016-10-14
  2. "Tough"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tough environment but very fair

    Cons

    Lack of oversight on a day to day basis

    Wells Fargo2019-02-09
  3. "Teller"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teller in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo

    Pros

    Managers are really nice and co-workers are typically very nice too! Pay is good and you really get to know the area that you work at very well.

    Cons

    Depends on what district you work at, mine was horrible because the district manager kept messing around with our sales goals either making it extremely hard at one point or extremely easy at another point. So its hard to find your sales rhythm.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2015-07-31
  4. "Good company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appraisal Specialist in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good support for keeping up with changes in appraisal technology.

    Cons

    Low pay for the industry.

    Wells Fargo2014-09-08
  5. "Personal Banker 1"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I (SAFE) in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company, with long term career goals.

    Cons

    Immediate managers are not employee focused, they only push us to push our customers to sell and leave a dis taste with customers.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-08-11
  6. "A company that cares about its employees and customers."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II – Registered in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, flexible schedule, wide variety of financial products offered, lots of business partners invested in your success.

    Cons

    certain areas are "results oriented" instead of "process oriented..." asking WHY DONT YOU HAVE THIS instead of helping you obtain the goals of the position

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Focus on meeting bank cross selling directive drives business ahead of focus on being an insurance broker."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some very nice and knowledgeable people in a number of their offices. Have access to some deeper resources on a limited basis.

    Cons

    Work load of staff quite high. Still working to identify what type of business they want to focus on, and develop an identity after a number of acquisitions. Bank drives leadership decisions and business direction. Many layers of corporate oversight impacts doing job on a day to day basis.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-02-01
  8. "Personal Banker"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Personal Banker in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very customer friendly company, there are lot of give away to the customer, I wonder if other banks are so good at it.

    Cons

    they can get pushy on sales depending on immediate managers. Also they are very traditional and conservative with there outlook are credit applications.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2013-12-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "it sounds like a good job......."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professional enviroment, gain expirience, good benefits (not hourly pay)

    Cons

    the management is so corrupt in every branch, as a personal banker you arent there for long term, your there to get your numbers anyway possible open accounts for people who dont need it, open multiple accounts for your family, and eventually they will just fire you if you just dont quit. I worked there for a year and 3 months and i was continuously getting new co workers by the time i was on my last month the whole branch had everybody new except me

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2014-01-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "dont work at wells"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    seeing how other's around your neighborhood manage their money, interesting experience in that sense

    Cons

    upselling, management pressure, at times annoyed & unpleasent clients/customers

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2012-09-27
Found 11 reviews