Wells Fargo Reviews in Santa Monica, CA | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Santa Monica Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Wells Fargo CEO Charlie Scharf
Charlie Scharf
0 Rating
  1. "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Systems Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work with Microsoft, SQL, MS Dynamics CRM, IIS, and other systems applications. Wells Fargo provides plenty of training for all employees. The work environment was excellent for SQL Developers and SQL DBA's. Will re-hire good employees!

    Cons

    Need more IT openings in Los Angeles and Orange County with in-house training.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire more US Citizens.

    Wells Fargo2017-11-08
  2. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work hours are somewhat flexible. good training on company and bank polices. educational and good entry level into finance industry.

    Cons

    pay is fairly lower than competitor companies, hard to get promoted or move to different department. Company moral and team environment needs improvement,

    Advice to Management

    Get employee pay back to industry norm. better communication down chain of command. Better employee retention

    Wells Fargo2018-11-02
  3. "Loan Originations Associate at Capital Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun working atmosphere in a smart and fast pace group; challenged and rewarded by the work

    Cons

    Often bureaucratic processes that were tiring and cumbersome

    Advice to Management

    Don't take away the fun events that make the culture so great!

    Wells Fargo2018-03-26
  4. "Relationship Manager and Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, plentiful opportunities to change groups and locations

    Cons

    Political and bureaucratic; lack of salary negotiating power if remaining in the bank

    Wells Fargo2018-01-29
  5. "WFCF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bankig in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very Relaxed Very comfortable Good benefits Good Compensation

    Cons

    No room for growth management not interested in teams

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Wells Fargo2017-11-17
  6. "Business Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Process Specialist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. A lot of community support events.

    Cons

    The pay is too low and executives are too conservative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your employees happy. Engage in their lives more.

    Wells Fargo2017-08-22
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Process Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    There some very smart people working at Wells Fargo. The company offer a really good work environment and perks.

    Cons

    The disconnect between application development team and Enterprise causes problems that impact the software development efforts.Additionally, specifically to the team I worked with, they didn't have good onboarding procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Create more meaning engagement between Enterprise IT team and product development team in the business units to minimize the impact to their software development efforts.

    Wells Fargo2017-02-27
  8. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Consultant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very charitable, donates to many charities and matches employees donations. Very diverse workforce with various groups for women, lgbtq, Asian American, etc... Good work life balance, overall a fun place to work with great benefits.

    Cons

    Typical politics you see at most companies. Must be a part of the "in" crowd to be able to get promoted.

    Wells Fargo2017-02-14
  9. "FAP - Capital Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable hours, great work culture, great learning opportunities, great employee retention (probably due to high company morale).

    Cons

    Lateral movement seems difficult if you're interested in levfin, dcm, ibd, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Training is awesome, culture is great, it's a very enjoyable place to work at. Keep up the good work!

    Wells Fargo2016-05-31
  10. "Contract Consultant at Wells Fargo Capital Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Technical Writer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a great team spirit in the particular group where I worked. As a consultant I normally expect to work in a cubicle. Instead I was given my own office (great for those times when you want to sneak a quick nap!) It's a laid-back place with a bottomless coffee maker and a giant TV always tuned to CNN or ESPN, where we'd all meet casually during the day. At any moment during the day I could hop downstairs to the supermarket across the street for a yogurt or a Starbucks or a banana. This particular branch is located in Santa Monica with a parking garage downstairs. I never felt as if I was working in a bank because there were no tellers. This particular branch did nothing but lend money. Some of the sums lent were staggering -- e.g. $1.8 billion(!), $50 million, and so on. You could make your own hours, come in when it was most convenient, leave whenever you wanted, so long as the total added up to 8 hours. And of course there are nothing but good things to be said about Santa Monica--the climate, the California lifestyle. Now that I've completed my contract I know I'll miss the place and the people.

    Show More

    Cons

    In the time I was at Wells Fargo, I wrote 22 installation manuals totaling more than a thousand pages. My only complaint was that they did not invite me to participate in the programming sessions. Technically, it was not necessary for me to sit in on those sessions, but normally clients ask me to sit in on those sessions as a courtesy. That's what enables me to expand my knowledge of IT. It was a great assignment, they gave me excellent reviews, but the job did not lead anywhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The "Cons" I just entered above can serve as advice for managing future consultants.

    Wells Fargo2015-09-12
Found 20 reviews