Wells Fargo Washington DC Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
55%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Charlie Scharf
Charlie Scharf
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Teller in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Wells Fargo part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits to work for

    Cons

    No cons. Very good company

    Wells Fargo2020-05-15
  2. "Slow To Change in Every Aspect"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Personal Banker in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advancement potential for those who want it.

    Cons

    Pay, politics, and inept management staff.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-05-28
  3. "Company was a mess"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, nice people

    Cons

    Slow-paced, outdated technology, boring work

    Wells Fargo2020-05-04
  4. "Good potential but poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, smart, hard-working co-workers. Good technology with helpful tech support. The work can be very interesting. Good benefits package. Some work- from-home flexibility, depending on role and location. Could have been a great place to work, in the right department.

    Cons

    First, there was the stigma of working at Wells, even though they kept trying to put the negative recent history behind them. The management team in my department treated us like children, even though most of us had extensive experience in the work force. There was no training on the processes when most of us came on board, and processes were constantly changing with no training on the new processes, so we had to figure them out on our own. Then when management didn't like what we did, we would get chastised for it and penalized. There were constant threats and intimidation tactics used, and unrealistic weekly deadlines. There were also threats of senior management taking away the work-from-home flexibility, even though it worked very well for most of us. Most of us were working a lot of unpaid overtime, and there was no flexibility in our work hours, even though we did not work with the general public. The turnover in the department was fairly high, and I learned pretty quickly why that was.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-04-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including health insurance ($60ish biweekly for me + children with a $6500 deductible, no copays for regular visits), dental insurance ($15 biweekly), plus other options to include 401(k), life insurance (up to 10x salary), plus you start out with 18 days PTO and after two years you get to 23 days PTO plus 8 paid holidays including 2 personal holidays. Also PAID leaves of absences that don't come out of your PTO balance - critical caregivers leave (up to 5 days), primary caregiver parental leave (16 weeks), secondary caregiver parental leave (4 weeks), short term disability (6 weeks), long term disability, etc etc. The benefits are why I haven't switched to a job closer to home.

    Cons

    Boring repetitive work. No challenge.

    Wells Fargo2020-02-23
  6. "Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has best benefits and enjoy working with other team members

    Cons

    Do not get support from your upper management except from your branch manager. Doesn't want many of their employees to move up.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-02-20
  7. "Great company to be a part of"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Operations in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Good work culture

    Cons

    Hard to move up the ranks

    Wells Fargo2020-02-05
  8. "Contract CSR Home Mortgage"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSR2 in Frederick, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monday thru Friday day shift schedule, good location, nice cafeteria. On the plus side, it's Monday thru Friday, a regular schedule, a full if pricey cafeteria, lovely grounds to walk around on your lunch break, and fairly good security. Some teams are much better than others.

    Cons

    Wells Fargo at this call center only hires new CSRs through employment agencies, so if you accept this position be prepared to make $13.50 to $14.00 an hour for the same work that your "official" Wells Fargo employed team members are making $19 to $25 an hour to do. If anything, you will work harder, because all the calls not requiring "special handling" will get routed to you. You will take back to back calls all day every day, while your team members chat about their lives and weekend plans. And I know, "I get paid either way", but sure not paid enough. We are promised a good chance of being "hired on" after a certain amount of time and proving ourselves as valuable employees, and finally attaining the job security, pay increase, PTO, vacation days, sick time, and stock options, but believe me, it's just a carrot on a stick held in front of you to make you give maximum effort for minimum compensation. Why are they paying agencies big money to bring us in, full background checks, FBI fingerprinting, eight weeks of paid training, and then hiring only one agency person on in the past 6 months? Because there is a possibility this site may shut down in the next year or two, and all agency employees aren't going to need that severance package, right? And good attendance, people skills, and work ethic won't get you hired as an official employee, you have to market Wells Fargo products. "It's not selling stuff, it's 'having a conversation' ". OK. After the Wells Fargo scandals over marketing products, (Google it if you don't know, I had to) you would not think you'd have to sell stuff to people who call in with concerns about keeping their homes to get hired here, but you do. If someone calls in looking to refinance, sure, but if someone calls in and immediately launches in to "why weren't my taxes paid out of my escrow?!?!", and there's a note on their account to try to sell them another mortgage, it is held against you if you don't do it! The survey system is ridiculous, their opinion of your service is lumped right in with how the customer perceives Well Fargo. The American people don't trust or respect Wells Fargo, and you are not paid enough to try to make the overpaid bosses look good. As an agency employee, you will be treated differently, all my fellow agency employees will back me up on this. Left out of team potlucks, generally left to our own devices to figure stuff out, reminded snidely to "call Robert Half, or Dysis, or Sparks" or whoever your employment agency is, if a customer recommends in a review that you get a raise or a compliment. If you think your agency pay is in anyway compensation for what you'll be doing, think again. If you think you're so awesome you'll be hired on within a year, think again.

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2020-02-14
  9. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Management Manager II in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and explore various positions

    Cons

    Currently downsizing and consolidating operations

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2019-12-14
  10. "Scrum Master"

    5.0
    Current Contractor - Scrum Master in Falls Church, VA

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, support, and culture enviroment

    Cons

    there are no cons I know of

    Continue reading
    Wells Fargo2019-12-13
Found 212 reviews