Wells Fargo Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Director Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good people, very bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Quality people with a collaborative attitude Outstanding footprint in the US, ability to get in to see almost any client

    Cons

    Difficult and time consuming to get changes implemented to adapt to market conditions

    Advice to Management

    Many employees outside of the Community Bank felt betrayed by the account scandal; culture change needs reinforcement internally as well as externally

    Wells Fargo2017-09-11
  2. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large organization with many different business lines.

    Cons

    There are no significant cons

    Wells Fargo2017-05-25
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong commitment to culture and ethical behavior. Healthy financial strength weigh top credit rating among peers. Innovator in providing services to banking clients

    Cons

    Primarily a US only banking institution which creates opportunity for further expansion into nonUS markets. Business is done in a pragmatic fashion with proper consultation by legal and compliance

    Wells Fargo2017-04-10
  4. "Ignore The Headline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High integrity despite the headlines. Management is committed to doing the right thing. Wells Fargo is a great place for new hires to learn the business of finance.

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy. More authority should be given to team members throughout the organization. Obviously- need to be balanced with need to maintain compliance.

    Advice to Management

    Faster decision making is main issue I see facing Wells Fargo. Everyone means well,but the need for speed should be a part of the culture. It is not.

    Wells Fargo2017-03-20
  5. "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company, easy work, low demands on time.

    Cons

    Angry, political, non-diverse, old, scared.

    Advice to Management

    It's 2017. Time to reinvent banking.

    Wells Fargo2017-03-21
  6. "Opportunity vs Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime hours Health and wellness dollars PTO Flexible hours

    Cons

    Compensation could be better. Raises are horrible. The way WF consider promotion with a raise increase are ridiculous. No bonuses or incentives. Health benefits goes up more than the cost of raises each year if any.

    Advice to Management

    Team members do more than what their title says and with little compensation. For example: Operations Clerks and Loan Servicing Specialists, researching and pulling reports to get the work done.

    Wells Fargo2017-01-14
  7. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don't work with retail, so I can't speak for their line of business, but from my experience in Corporate Trust Services, Wells provides team members with a generous amount of paid time off from day 1. They provide two paid days for team members to volunteer for a cause of their choice. The pay is OK, but they really sweeten the deal with all of the additional benefits. If you are a hard worker, you can probably... bet on steady yearly promotions.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work can be tedious and the entry level pay is too low to attract quality candidates. The beuracracy involved with promotions is also a bummer-- the minimum amount of time you must spend in a position before you can apply to new positions is 6 months, and that's only if it's approved by your manager. Otherwise, you must wait a year before applying to other positions.

    Advice to Management

    I think that bumping up the entry level salary by a few bucks an hour would greatly improve production, as this would attract a better level of employee.

    Wells Fargo2016-12-26
  8. "Manging Director/ Chief Compliance Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay and I'm good at my job

    Cons

    moderately overworked and commute is difficult

    Wells Fargo2016-12-15
  9. "Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are a plus. Decent 401k match, around a week more PTO than competitors in the area, at least when I was applying.

    Cons

    Soul sucking if you want your work to mean anything. Nearly impossible to get any meaningful change made due to beaurocratic layers and middle managers not given the power to say 'yes'.

    Wells Fargo2016-11-06
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, low stress, reasonable hours

    Cons

    Antiquated processes, high resistance to change, tenure counts more than merit

    Advice to Management

    Reduce complexity, lower barriers to new ideas

    Wells Fargo2016-10-05
Found 52 reviews