KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Werner Enterprises

Is this your company?

Werner Enterprises

Add a Review

Werner Enterprises Employee Reviews about "dispatchers"

Updated Dec 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 850 reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Werner Enterprises Chairman and CEO  C.L. Werner (no image)
C.L. Werner
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great starter company for new driver(in 35 reviews)

  • "It's a good company decent benefits(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home time is short for most people(in 32 reviews)

  • "Dispatchers you have to deal with(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Werner Enterprises and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "dispatchers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Working For Werner

      Mar 18, 2020 - Professional Truck Driver in Midwest City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Company to work for.

      Cons

      Dispatchers you have to deal with.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bad

      Dec 2, 2020 - Driver in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. I would argue going to Swift. These people say they're top of the line but I've seen better.

      Cons

      The Dispatchers are a joke. They are rude and dumb. They will bark first and ask questions later. You have to fight with them to get home and they will "forget" about your home time. They don't pay you for sitting around and you will not be paid to drive hundreds of miles for an MT trailer. They will force you to waste days sitting in a terminal to get your truck forcefully inspected. This company is also filled with liars in all departments. Recruiters will lie through their teeth so that you will come along. Werner will tell you to go somewhere nice and early and then you realize that you didn't have to come early they just say that so you can be there at whatever time they like. Safety will tell you that you have to speak to them and next thing you know you sit around for 2-3 hours just to be told you can call them to do a survey on the phone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      3 yr review

      Jan 6, 2017 - Truck Driver Dedicated Site in Montgomery, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Werner Enterprises is a starter company for new drivers to get the experience they need to move to a different level. This is a very safety conscious company. They preach about safety everyday. If it's unsafe don't do it & there safety instructors will tell you that going through orientation. It is your name on your license not theirs. The pay is pretty good & that depends on what account you are running in. Werner has several accounts according to where you live. I am currently working on owning my own truck not through werner but some where else so I can have more control of what I make & where I go & how often I'm at home.

      Cons

      This is a forced dispatch company if you are a company emloyee. There are good fleet managers & there are bad ones. Good dispatchers & bad ones. Werner has a complaint procedure that must be followed if there are disagreements. If you don't ever speak up and say there's a problem then nothing will get resolved. Fleet managers & dispatchers have bosses & there bosses have bosses so if shout loud enough somebody will hear you. I have had to file a complaint on 2 occasions & got results.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Full Year Here!

      Sep 30, 2018 - OTR Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Werner Equipment is fantastic in my opinion. They do pay for some things that Swift, CR England and some other companies don’t. I operate on the TCU account and go to the very same places A LOT! Consistent miles here. I am lucky. I have Jennifer Mauseth as a Fleet Manager! Fantastic and I highly recommend if you do work here. That is it for the positives that actually matter.

      Cons

      Absolutely positively do not by any means accept a “Male Fleet Manager” at Werner Enterprises. They all have something to prove and could care less about you or anything regarding your existence. I mean literally if you want a horrendous experience speak to any male fleet manager at Werner. You will quit the job momentarily after! Very Very Bad Dispatchers. Call on a weekend and it’s literally like talking to a brick wall of answers like (Welp, gotta wait till your fleet manager comes back). Extremely useless staff. Being that a lot of these guys have been at the desk since the dinosaurs they are treated like royalty and the drivers are more like work mules.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Driver trainer

      Sep 12, 2015 - Driver Trainer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good. Benefits are OK.

      Cons

      Even though the pay is good I still have not gotten a raise in about 8 years. Dispatchers do a lot of micromanaging. I have over 1 million accidentf free miles and actually like the job but I will be leaving to get another job at Walmart cause I think they treat their drivers better and pay better too.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      My trainer is what??

      Feb 2, 2013 - Company Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very quick hiring process, hotel is paid for if your in orientation and waiting for a trainer, nice equipment

      Cons

      Hiring massive amounts of drivers without enough trainers, when your training your only getting paid $400 a week no matter what your trainer is making because you make on time deliveries, drive thousands of miles or save gas, wont always pair you with a trainer that is running the same route you signed up for, e.g. I was signed up for a western dedicated family dollar, i was put on a OTR which wasnt really OTR cause we drove straight from Arizona to the east coast and spent three weeks stuck there driving in the snow during christmas and new years, DISPATCHERS! they are horrible managers, when your about to make a delivery and you tell them three to four hours in advance that your ready for another load after delivery why would they not have a planned pickup ready and waiting, no just sit there and waste the rest of your hours. When they call you in for a new truck while training, be careful, they pulled my trainer aside and suspended him from training for some DOT trailer ticket that he had gotten months ago, then expected me to just go with it and waste more time in a hotel waiting for a new trainer after we just spent three days in the hotel two days before for mechanical repairs. No thanks I have better things to do with my time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Family dollar account, OTR driver.

      Dec 24, 2017 - Family Dollar Account, and OTR Driver in Rome, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get paid for working on dollar account. Pro would be it gets you close to home for down time. OTR if ur in the click! You will get the loads and miles.

      Cons

      Like dealing with people that think thete your boss? Try some of the stores next to the dollar stores.I've had to call the police on one grocery store mgr. If you dont know what your doing, dont ask family dollar for help. You'll be waiting till theres moss on your north side. Some of the road side people know what there doing. Not many. OTR pay is very low. I worked at werner for 2 years. Brought my truck back after being back out over the road for one week. Thats how bad my new dispatcher was.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Walmart Dedicated/ Starter or Team Company

      Nov 14, 2014 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great starting pay Walmart really takes care of their trailers and people... Werner/Walmart dispatcher Mark is awesome he cares and my job was fairly relaxing and quite chill... Home time was great i was home the day i requested or the next day... You have to make any job your own , dont wait til everything goes haywire to care about your career ...My time on the WMT acct was good and when you and your dispatcher has an understanding like a team its great

      Cons

      When Walmart switched my dispatcher and Mark started working weekends only... UNTIL they assigned 2 lilboys Z n B who are scared to communicate with you as if your going to bite there heads off... meaning they always think your trying to tell them what to do always on defense it was strange... like guys hey im on your side.. if u can avoid these 2 plz do... it was always like some secret if they didnt have u a load im like dude i dont mind being on relax mode until u find me a load but they kept u on edge let me know whats going on...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Oct 23, 2015 - OTR Driver in Morristown, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great trainer. Brand new trucks and trailers. All Terminals are being updated and renovated. Dispatchers are alright. You can take home time anywhere. pay is also good depending on your account. A lot of different accounts to choose from.

      Cons

      Some dispatchers aren't the best. Some of the drop yards are poorly marked as Werner drop yards. Other drivers always assume you can't reverse. Not enough home time

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      over worked and under compensated 14cents a mile get real

      Jan 7, 2014 - West Coast Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      always have the miles, great equipment & maintenance program over all great place to work

      Cons

      most the dispatchers don't care about the driver and or their needs " Listed as a west coast driver Spent all my time on the east coast getting the dirt pay of west"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Werner Enterprises Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Werner Enterprises? Share Your Experiences

    or