Wesco Reviews | Glassdoor

Wesco Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Jerry Westgate
13 Ratings
  1. "Fun and laid back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wesco full-time

    Pros

    Working at Wesco is like working with family and friends, decent pay, and very flexible!

    Cons

    The health benefits at Wesco are very expensive and coverage isn't the greatest either.

    Wesco2018-11-30
  2. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wesco full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people. Welcoming atmosphere

    Cons

    Work/life balance is hard sometimes

    Wesco2018-11-15
  3. "Its an "ok" job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cadillac, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wesco part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Its a job,they hire right off the street. and its super easy work.

    Cons

    Poor people to work with, they say its easy to move up in the company, but its not. management can care less about you as a human being. and corporate only listens to you if you are complaining about someone they didnt like. just overall a bad place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Get better communication skills and actually listen to your associates. take action instead of promising to do something-do it. Treat your associates like they are people and not animals you picked off the street. and lastly re train the managers at store 34 (cadillac)

    Wesco2018-04-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment to work at for college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The profit-sharing is definitely a plus to the employees, and I felt that the company genuinely cared about their employees. The tuition reimbursement program is also a big plus.

    Cons

    The only downsides were a lack of advancement I felt at the workplace pertaining to raises, and the pay was uncompetitive, and while the bonuses and reimbursement compensated for this, I felt that something more consistent and steady would have been better. The other problem was that I didn't feel safe working there at times, even when the store was pretty busy.

    Wesco2018-02-28
  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wesco part-time

    Pros

    Liked the people i worked with

    Cons

    lots of time on your feet and little time to complete your work when having to wait on customers

    Wesco2018-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Could have been worse but could have been much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Muskegon, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wesco part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Up to 1500$ in tuition reimbursement per semester Monthly bonuses I don't have any other pros but there's a 20 word minimum

    Cons

    Management at my store (not all) was terrible. No consistency with rules, schedules were not made in a timely fashion, mandated holiday work (which is fine but the same people consistently don't work them), management encourages rumors/drama, always understaffed the entire year I worked there. Such a high turnover rate among employees and you will be asked to come in on almost every day off you get.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to take a really close look at store 68's store manager. The assistant manager there does not get enough credit for all he does for the employees there and he should be promoted.

    Wesco2017-12-18
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wesco

    Pros

    Plenty stock to sale Facilities look great

    Cons

    Management has favoritism hard workers don't get promoted

    Advice to Management

    Promote by performance not by who is your friend

    Wesco2017-01-13
  8. "Ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wesco for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit sharing Tuition reimbursement Close to home

    Cons

    Five interviews Cliquey coworkers/drama Scheduling issues Lots of gross tasks Raises are terrible Working holidays

    Advice to Management

    Don't sit in the office all day. Don't leave early every day when the schedule isn't done. Don't ask your employees to do anything you wouldn't be willing to do yourself.

    Wesco2016-12-05
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New Era, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wesco full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Your treated like a family member. You can move up if you work hard. They train well

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Wesco2016-10-21
  10. "Great company, but management needs work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Big Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wesco part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The Big Rapids location was like a family. We worked together and encouraged each other. The once a month profit share was unbelievable too.

    Cons

    Our management needs help. They were overloaded and would not delegate tasks to workers. They start pay at 8.50 and you start at part time. Also, advertising jobs with in the company need to be improved.

    Wesco2016-11-03
Found 28 reviews