West 49 Reviews | Glassdoor

West 49 Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
30%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
West 49 CEO Sam Baio
Sam Baio
17 Ratings
  1. "It was a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at West 49 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    not a lot of room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    allow sales people to take ownership and provide input

    West 492013-10-28
  2. "Still would have been there if they weren't bought out by YM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West 49

    Pros

    Loved West 49s culture, which is one of the reasons I chose to work there in the first place. YM tried to strip that culture which is why I chose to move away from the company and find a better opportunity.

    Cons

    Hated that YM Inc. took over West. I think that was probably the biggest downfall, loved West 49 couldn't stand YM.

    Advice to Management

    Loose YM, I know you need them financially but that was a terrible decision. Horrible Horrible company to have running the business.

    West 492016-02-11
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at West 49 part-time

    Pros

    good people to work with, always fun

    Cons

    rough hours especially when you are a student

    West 492019-11-15
  4. "After company was bought out it’s declining quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West 49 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to learn a lot about the skate culture (though the company is moving in a different direction) Young staff Can be a super fun store, based on individual store level management teams

    Cons

    This company and job was everything I had hoped for when I initially started working there ~5 years ago, but at the time they were owned by Billabong. They have since been bought out by YM inc and have been rapidly declining ever since. The pay is terrible, you don’t get reviews or raises ever, they offer promotions to keep you. The original values of this company have declined dirasticqlly, and all the things in... their postings don’t accuratleg reflect anything in the stores anymore. They no longer push skate/ surf/ snow culture and got rid of most of their quality brands now opting for cheaply made fast fashion you can buy anywhere in the mall. If someone else were to buy them I’d gladly go work there again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Store level management is doing the best they can, upper level management needs a serious over haul

    West 492019-01-25
  5. "west 49 reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West 49 full-time

    Pros

    good hours. easy work. good location. cool location. chill workers. easy work. good food.

    Cons

    no commission. horrible management unrealistic goalsgood hours. easy work. good location. cool location. chill workers. easy work. good food.

    Advice to Management

    close the story down

    West 492018-05-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Calgary, AB
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West 49 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There isn’t many pros besides you get a descent discount on private label and a alright on branded and the people who work there are great

    Cons

    Frustrating polices No longer skate focused or skate brand Under staffed No leadership All about money High turn over rate

    Advice to Management

    Since being bought out by YM inc (Bluenotes, Urban Planet ect.) the company is not the same and is all about their cheaply made close and how much money they can make. Yes it can be fun sometimes but they are so focused on LP and money that everyone is just a number to them and a lot of long time customer are choosing to shop else where

    West 492018-05-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Part-time Retail Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West 49 part-time

    Pros

    -Product discounts offered to all sales staff, offering part-time employees further incentive if interested in the brands carried. -

    Cons

    -Excessive sales pressure placed on sales staff with no incentive given to sales staff. Although management receives incentives for meeting sales goals. -Remuneration not equitable

    Advice to Management

    Sales staff are the face of your brand. Investing in sales staff will only build your business. Incentives for sales staff would be a good start.

    West 492018-01-21
  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at West 49 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience in dealing with customers

    Cons

    Not really organized due to management issues

    Advice to Management

    Use better marketing idea's to make people aware of the store and the location its at.

    West 492017-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "There are many other places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West 49 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The co-workers tend to be pretty cool, as they also are under the impression that West 49 is a good company. This, however, is very wrong assumption.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? This company promotes itself as a relaxed environment that advocates the "skateboarding lifestyle". This sentiment is not encouraged by management when directing staff. You have a budget that you have to sell each day, or else you will be penalized. However, they do not pay commission, making my only incentive avoiding punishment. They have a "platinum club" where if you sell 10% more than your... already egregious budget than you get $25 extra per week. That is absolutely nothing, just a way for management to pretend as if they have incentive programs. Go work at Royal or something if you are looking for a real skateboarding company and not just bureaucracy from low-level managers who take their jobs too seriously.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are a manager of West 49, get off your high horse and stop acting like your employees lives depend on their daily sales. No one who works below you cares about their job.

    West 492017-11-02
  10. "The best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West 49 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, friendly staff, cool merchandise, you meet a lot of interesting people that come into the store, it honestly feels like you're just getting payed to hangout

    Cons

    No benefits that I am aware of although they might be available for full time employees, minimum wage, not a lot of room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire so many part time employees, instead give more hours to the employees that need them/prove their worthy

    West 492017-07-26
Found 37 reviews