West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Reviews

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. President and CEO Kevin Steiner (no image)
Kevin Steiner
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company is very stable and open, benefits are excellent, on site fitness center and cafe is among the best in SE Wisconsin(in 8 reviews)

  • " campus great (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on the position, the work/life balance can be rough(in 11 reviews)

  • "Middle management seems to genuinely care, but it means little since the VP is a giant bully with zero respect from any of his subordinates(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Definitely recommend!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing facility, great benefits. Great walking trails on premises too!

    Cons

    Depending on the position, the work/life balance can be rough.

    Continue reading
    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-12-27

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    January 3, 2020West Bend

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We really appreciate it! If you have an specifics about how we could improve work/life balance for all roles, we'd welcome an email to hresources@wbmi com.

  2. "Not a bad job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Lines Underwriter in West Bend, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not very challenging of a workload.

    Cons

    A very gossipy environment. Favorites are played.

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2020-03-02
  3. "Solid"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Technician in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time

    Pros

    Great building, nice workers

    Cons

    There are none so far

    Continue reading
    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-11-04

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    November 6, 2019West Bend

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We appreciate it!

  4. "Career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive people and good benefits

    Cons

    Balance isn’t always easy to achieve.

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-08-09

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    August 14, 2019West Bend

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! If you’re able to share, we would love to hear your thoughts on how to make balance easier. Please email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Go somewhere else for IT job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Developer in West Bend, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good experience for your resume to move on somewhere else, 401k match is good

    Cons

    Terrible management, constant reorganization, no work life balance-they will use you up then throw you away, too much turnover, no training, no consistent path for advancement

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-08-12

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    August 14, 2019West Bend

    We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to give us a review. We will take your feedback to heart and work on improvements. If you have anything additional to share, please email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Strong regional mutual insurance carrier with great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive 401k, great culture and work atmosphere, strong financial results year over year

    Cons

    Salary and bonus structure is not competitive

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-06-28

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    July 3, 2019West Bend

    We appreciate your review and your feedback! Thank you! If you have any details you’d like us to be aware of, we’d love to hear them. Email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Zero Management Knowledge"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time

    Pros

    -food -buildings are always clean -decent benefits

    Cons

    Management has zero idea what any of their workers do. They will use and abuse you in order to make themselves look good. Most of management has been with the company for years and basically if you brown nose your way up the ladder you’ll get there no matter what type of skills you may have... or lack for the matter. You can be proficient in everything and yet you will get little to no raise or opportunity for one. If you aren’t kissing someone’s butt then you aren’t going to make it very far in this company. Forget about good work ethic because as long as you’ve been here long enough you can be as negative and lazy as you please. The workplace is heavily revolves around politics and whether or not you know someone who is higher up.

    Continue reading
    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-04-10

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    April 18, 2019West Bend

    Thank you for your candid feedback; we appreciate hearing your thoughts. We would like to hear about specifics that we could work on. If you’re interested in helping, please email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  8. "The Silver Lining for employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in West Bend, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company really cares for its employees, lots of perks in addition to regular salary benefits. Wonderful campus, great environment growing Company, potential for advancement.

    Cons

    Location is not Milwaukee, but you’re within 25 minutes of downtown. Growing pains as we get larger.

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2019-01-17

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    January 25, 2019West Bend

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about West Bend. We appreciate your feedback! If you’d like to share more details, we’d love to hear them. Please email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  9. "a solid place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing company with plenty of opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Not a great work-life balance.

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2018-11-28

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    December 5, 2018West Bend

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We really appreciate it! We would value your specifics about work-life balance so that we can work to improve. Please email us at hresources@wbmi.com.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Argent loss control offers NO work-life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Bend, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. full-time

    Pros

    Argent has many outstanding employees, smart and willing to help any time. Loss control, underwriting and claims communicate well. Loss Control is varied and an interesting job.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no work-life balance in loss control (unless you don't mind falling way behind). The burden of work is impossible unless you work over 60 hrs/week. Also be wary, they will lowball you on salary if they can.

    Continue reading
    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co.2018-10-30

    West Bend Mutual Insurance Co. Response

    November 1, 2018West Bend

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to read of these concerns. We’d like to learn more. Please email us at hresources@wbmi.com. Thank you!

Found 75 reviews