West Coast Ultrasound Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

West Coast Ultrasound Institute Reviews

Updated December 29, 2016
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Myra Chason
8 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Coast Ultrasound Institute full-time

    Pros

    Pleasure to work with everyone

    Cons

    High Turnovers. Someone is always leaving

    Advice to Management

    Compensation is a bit low.


  2. "ultrasoun student"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victorville, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victorville, CA

    I worked at West Coast Ultrasound Institute (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good school and good teachers

    Cons

    better job of finding jobs for graduates


  3. "Always Improving"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Coast Ultrasound Institute full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    WCUI is always trying to improve and they are earnest in their efforts to put the student first and provide the best education possible.

    They offer open lab time and free tutoring and registry review classes.

    Cons

    Sometime the school can take on too much, too many new initiatives and not all get off the ground.

    Advice to Management

    Remain focused on the student!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Career services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Coast Ultrasound Institute full-time

    Pros

    Incredible opportunities for students and graduates make it rewarding to work for WCUI. Outcomes are outstanding for retention, graduation and placement in the field. It's fun to help them succeed!

    Cons

    Working for a private, nationally accredited school means there are many reports and compliance requirements that universities don't have to do.

    Advice to Management

    Suggest you have an offsite team-building day like a ropes course, etc to boost morale.

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank You! WCUI's appreciates your perspective and insight!


  6. "This is a money mill- thinly veiled as a "Learning institution""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Cute , naive lady students
    Easy job , as teachers don't make lesson plans

    Cons

    1. No lesson plans. Instructors freestyle while teaching - so every student gets different info.
    2 . Poor pay
    3. More personal drama with instructors than students
    4. They accept anyone with money and pass them through the program , hence saturating the field with unqualified, uneducated technicians

    Advice to Management

    Focus on actually graduating worthy students. Stop letting anyone with money become a student

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    This one hurts, we're not a money mill! We invest in our students and give them the best chance they can possibly have to succeed in the field. This is why we provide free one-on-one tutoring and ... More


  7. "Innovative Approach to Medical Imaging and Nursing Education"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator/Instructor in Beverly Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Administrator/Instructor in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Coast Ultrasound Institute full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The instructors are top-notch and often leaders in their field. Many of the workshops are run by well-respected US licensed physicians and nurse practitioners. Access to many high level clinical externship sites for students. Career services department is more involved than most schools. Management is hands on and well qualified/educated. Company is led by a visionary owner who always puts the students first.

    Cons

    Communication sometimes disorganized across departments and management, which can lead to redundancies in work being done. Some policies are not universal across the different modalities, which can frustrate students.

    Advice to Management

    Less hand-holding and more accountability for students. Nursing dept would benefit from more marketing $ and resources allocation.

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thanks so much!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Out of order priorities."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Most coworkers are good people.

    Cons

    Management lacks integrity. School regulations are ignored and the best interest of students are compromised as a result.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the students best interest and the rest will take care of itself.

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    In the advice section, I couldn't agree more. Everything we do in providing an education is because we want to do what is best for the student. Most of the time, I think we do that very well, but ... More


  9. "administrative assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at West Coast Ultrasound Institute part-time

    Pros

    Working with students and new people.
    Learning social skills.

    Cons

    Not enough work to keep me busy.

    Advice to Management

    Throw as much work at me as possible.

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Feb 1, 2016 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank You, I appreciate your perspective and insight!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Teacher"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Coast Ultrasound Institute (Less than a year)

    Pros

    "Some" Students are nice but not all of them.

    Cons

    Honestly the whole place is a CON

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing every two months!

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    WCUI treats all students the same whether or not they are nice. We are in compliance with our national accreditor and the Department of Education and don't compromise on what is best for our ... More


  11. "WCUI in Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Consultant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Former Employee - Management Consultant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice environment and excellent administrative staff

    Cons

    There is nothing of note at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    West Coast Ultrasound Institute Response

    Nov 7, 2015 – Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your review!



Showing 17 of 18 reviews
Reset Filters