West Elm Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
West Elm President, CEO and Director Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "West Elm cares about their employees and their future at the company and beyond(in 41 reviews)

  • "great coworkers, and employee discount on product(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "also made it hard to offer good customer service when there are only two people on the sales floor at a time in a hugely busy store(in 22 reviews)

  • "I have heard difficulty for staff to negotiate full time hours(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Agency Manager 

    I have been working at West Elm full-time

    Pros

    Cool work environment, employee benefits, creative expression

    Cons

    Retail store and payroll cuts

    West Elm2020-01-13
  2. "Fun job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Palo Alto, CA

    I worked at West Elm part-time

    Pros

    Work environment, easy job, close to public transportation

    Cons

    Schedule changes every week, not enough hours

    West Elm2020-05-24
  3. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Juan, PR
    Recommends

    I worked at West Elm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management at local store

    Cons

    Not a lot of control over weekly schedule

    West Elm2020-05-22
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Elm part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in terms of scheduling and AMAZING coworkers

    Cons

    Must work (some) weekends and (some) holidays

    West Elm2020-05-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Asheville, NC

    I worked at West Elm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Williams Sonoma (west elm) is an awesome company to work for. Good health insurance, paid time off accrual, and a generally liberal and welcoming company culture. It is also easy to stand behind their products and company policies.

    Cons

    The outlet is tricky because it is the red headed stepchild of the company, so to speak, so not nearly enough was allotted to this location for it to run smoothly. Everyone worked hard and did their best but it was dangerously understaffed, in my opinion, as far as safety of hauling furniture and preventing theft... also made it hard to offer good customer service when there are only two people on the sales floor at a time in a hugely busy store.

    West Elm2020-03-05
  6. "Laid back and enjoyable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Elm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, laid back, great work/home life balance, good price points, nice looking stuff

    Cons

    Quality of products, fulfillment centers are unreliable so it’s hard to promise great experiences, shipping prices are high compared to many businesses that offer Free Shipping

    Continue reading
    West Elm2020-02-23
  7. "Fast paced environment fun with the right people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Elm for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful stores with comfortable furniture

    Cons

    The shipping of larger items is not very customer friendly.

    Continue reading
    West Elm2020-02-18
  8. "Fun place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West Elm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - My managers were really dedicated to my growth - the team is incredibly welcoming and helpful. There was a generally fun atmosphere

    Cons

    - raises were very small if you could get them at all - so much waste, not committed to sustainability in day to day practices

    West Elm2020-02-15
  9. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Elm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environement is very laid back and all of the other employees are awesome the compay itself is also great

    Cons

    Some of the customers can be hard to deal with

    Continue reading
    West Elm2020-02-12
  10. "Great learning exprience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Elm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will really get great exposure to the overall business. A lot of the projects are very hands on

    Cons

    Constant changes and moving parts

    West Elm2020-02-10
Found 393 reviews