West Florida Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

West Florida Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
West Florida Hospital CEO Carlton Ulmer
Carlton Ulmer
4 Ratings
  1. "Super hospital working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great, fun, team work, education, flexible great managers fair managers

    Cons

    Far away, long shifts old computer program

    West Florida Hospital2019-08-09
  2. "Same thing, different city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management on current floor is great( not so much on other floors). Ease of self scheduling Pretty decent benefits

    Cons

    Nurse to patient ratio is terrible Always short staffed Pay should be higher in the area period BSN does not get much more than associate nurse. Should have better staffing for proper meals and breaks without a phone!

    Advice to Management

    Have a set nurse to patient ratio. If the staffing is not available at the time, we cannot take anymore patients. It is unsafe.

    West Florida Hospital2019-07-02
  3. "Do Not Judge A Book By It’s Cover!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful exterior , clean interior, and quiet.

    Cons

    HR are RUDE! Computer software is beyond outdated (used same software over 20 years ago). Staff is very pleasant to patients and visitors but not as friendly to co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Dear Management, Be part of the solution and quit being part of the problem! I have tried to communicate with management and they seem disinterested in anything I attempt to say. What makes it more frustrating- not like anyone can go and discuss with HR to attempt to resolve issues. So management, if you want to remain the same.. do not expect to have happy employees!

    West Florida Hospital2019-04-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poor staffing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN BSN in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Florida Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food court near Pavilion

    Cons

    Everything! Managed like a sweet shop...staff run themselves ragged trying to discharge all morning them admit as many patients as possible to keep the cash flowing. High staff turnover with managers rarely visible or hiding out. I trim manager better but not enough to meet the demands..A LOT OF TRAVEL STAFF USED.

    Advice to Management

    Get more staff and stronger managers.

    West Florida Hospital2018-06-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not very many options to work at in Pensacola"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers - lots of knowledge, experience and great teamwork.

    Cons

    Low salary Cafeteria is lackluster very high and unsafe patient to nurse ratios specially in behavioral health - 10 patients to 1 nurse most of the time Very high turn over rate and very slow hiring process Expensive health insurance deductibles.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, take care of the nurses you already have. Provide opportunity for growth and development for everyone.

    West Florida Hospital2017-03-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean Hospital, good doctors, patient centered care.

    Cons

    Floating policy, call offs, inconsistent training based on staffing needs.

    Advice to Management

    take better care of your nurses.

    West Florida Hospital2017-02-28
  7. "RN CASE MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, team oriented environment with learning potential. Some flexibility when needed. 401k and PTO accumulative comparable to other area hospitals.

    Cons

    Health insurance has high out of pocket and co-pay. Busy environment and often short staffed. Lower pay than other area hospitals. Not much opportunity for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Need more opportunities for advancement within department.

    West Florida Hospital2016-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, there used to be a family atmosphere....but no longer.

    Cons

    Pay is low, ratios are high.

    Advice to Management

    Fix pay and ratios or you will lose more staff.

    West Florida Hospital2016-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. I've been a part of West Florida Hospital for going on 10 years.

    Cons

    With every job, you will always have some con's. I personally do not have anything to add. I've had great managers and co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    None to share

    West Florida Hospital2015-04-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great hospital and people, not high enough pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at West Florida Hospital

    Pros

    The teamwork was great and it was a great place to learn. The standards of care were up to date.

    Cons

    Leadership expected more than we were able to give at times. Nurse to patient ratios could be out of control. Not quite enough opportunity to grow

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees better staffing

    West Florida Hospital2015-02-05
Found 11 reviews