West Florida Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

West Florida Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
West Florida Hospital CEO Carlton Ulmer
Carlton Ulmer
12 Ratings
  1. "EKG TECH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time

    Pros

    it is a good place to work

    Cons

    pay wasn't as much as I hoped it to be

    West Florida Hospital2019-08-24
  2. "Super hospital working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great, fun, team work, education, flexible great managers fair managers

    Cons

    Far away, long shifts old computer program

    West Florida Hospital2019-08-09
  3. "BEST Rehab Team Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the rehabilitation institute for close to two years. It was an AMAZING job opportunity and I learned so much. Great collaboration between PT's, OT's, SLP's, doctors, nursing, and case management. Great mentorship, support and team camaraderie. As a therapist, I would strongly recommend working here!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    West Florida Hospital2019-08-01
  4. "Great Place to Work, People are Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Director 

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    Healthcare is increasingly becoming a stressful environment.

    Advice to Management

    Always Take Care of your employees

    West Florida Hospital2019-07-23
  5. "Same thing, different city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management on current floor is great( not so much on other floors). Ease of self scheduling Pretty decent benefits

    Cons

    Nurse to patient ratio is terrible Always short staffed Pay should be higher in the area period BSN does not get much more than associate nurse. Should have better staffing for proper meals and breaks without a phone!

    Advice to Management

    Have a set nurse to patient ratio. If the staffing is not available at the time, we cannot take anymore patients. It is unsafe.

    West Florida Hospital2019-07-02
  6. "Do Not Judge A Book By It’s Cover!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful exterior , clean interior, and quiet.

    Cons

    HR are RUDE! Computer software is beyond outdated (used same software over 20 years ago). Staff is very pleasant to patients and visitors but not as friendly to co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Dear Management, Be part of the solution and quit being part of the problem! I have tried to communicate with management and they seem disinterested in anything I attempt to say. What makes it more frustrating- not like anyone can go and discuss with HR to attempt to resolve issues. So management, if you want to remain the same.. do not expect to have happy employees!

    West Florida Hospital2019-04-27
  7. "no transfer options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Pretty hospital great coworkers to work with

    Cons

    No way to transfer if supervisor wants to keep you

    West Florida Hospital2019-02-22
  8. "Endoscopy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Endoscopy Technician in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are good benefits for full time employees.

    Cons

    There is minimal staff to operate certain areas.

    Advice to Management

    Add more staff to operate areas at peak hours.

    West Florida Hospital2019-02-04
  9. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ER Tech in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of my coworkers were great.

    Cons

    Consistent pay errors and lack of accountability for anyone not at the bottom of the totem pole

    Advice to Management

    Check your people and hold them accountable, they are screwing up peoples checks to the point they can't pay their bills.

    West Florida Hospital2019-01-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "WFH Surgical Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with are great! The surgeons are awesome!

    Cons

    Management sucks! No one has your back or stands up for you. Management treats you like you have anything else going on in your life other than work but do not hold themselves to the same standards.

    Advice to Management

    Really listen to your people. If you ask for their opinion, pay attention to their replies. Treat your people the way you would want your son or daughter treated by their boss-with respect, dignity, and compassion. LEAD BY EXAMPLE! Your actions speak way louder than your words!

    West Florida Hospital2018-09-18
Found 34 reviews