West Florida Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

West Florida Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
West Florida Hospital CEO Carlton Ulmer
Carlton Ulmer
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "All-in-all, a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Competitive wage; decent benefits; my supervisors are usually wonderful; free CEUs and ongoing educational opportunities

    Cons

    being short-staffed; cattiness from other floors

    Advice to Management

    If you would adopt a strict patient-to-nurse ratio (no more than 5:1), every nurse in Pensacola would want to be here! Also, if a tech isn't competent enough to take vital signs (and I've not seen any that weren't), they should probably find another profession.

    West Florida Hospital2016-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. I've been a part of West Florida Hospital for going on 10 years.

    Cons

    With every job, you will always have some con's. I personally do not have anything to add. I've had great managers and co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    None to share

    West Florida Hospital2015-04-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great hospital and people, not high enough pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at West Florida Hospital

    Pros

    The teamwork was great and it was a great place to learn. The standards of care were up to date.

    Cons

    Leadership expected more than we were able to give at times. Nurse to patient ratios could be out of control. Not quite enough opportunity to grow

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees better staffing

    West Florida Hospital2015-02-05
  4. "Physician assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Florida Hospital

    Pros

    great doctors, coworkers, benefits, work environment

    Cons

    caps on bonuses, administration can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    leave bonus percentage, pto days etc up to physicians, let the pa's and physicians work as a team and be the mediator. its about patient care not just the money

    West Florida Hospital2015-02-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work with a small hospital feel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at West Florida Hospital

      Pros

      Longevity of staff,cheerful employees, team oriented initiatives, hospital employee functions, good cafeteria food, employees suggestions are heard and implemented, potential for advancement

      Cons

      Pay is very poor, some senior management need to retire or allow inevitable change to occur, certain specialty department have very low morale and deceptive management

      Advice to Management

      Please be proactive in hiring hospital employed hospitalist.

      West Florida Hospital2014-10-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Patient Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Patient Representative in Pensacola, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good people and great location. Pay is pretty competitive. Fast paced environment leads to faster feeling days. Management is professional and knowledgable.

      Cons

      Strange hours at times. Promotions were slow to the next position. Even with a degree I found myself stuck in a lower level job that I was over qualified for.

      Advice to Management

      Start a promotion program for workers who reach higher level of education and promote the highest qualified best working employees.

      West Florida Hospital2014-07-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "my role was a support role for nursing and physicians."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Health Unit Coordinator in Pensacola, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I enjoyed being around co workers and working as a unit secretary it was a muti task position.

      Cons

      having to work different schedules and missing out on family functions, But that is all part of working in a hospital.

      Advice to Management

      My Manager Mrs, Jones daily made rounds and checked on not only the nursing staff but also the patients, I could not ask for a better manager.

      West Florida Hospital2014-05-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "My experience while working for West Florida Hospital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Neurodiagnostics Sleep Lab Secretary in Pensacola, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      benefits, option to move around in the hospital, friendly and helpful co workers. Over all a great place to work. They take care of their employees.

      Cons

      insurance benefits and pay rate could be a little better is about all

      Advice to Management

      Great job taking care of your staff and patients. Keep up the good work.

      West Florida Hospital2013-10-10
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Pensacola, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at West Florida Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great management, nice facility, great staff

      Cons

      Weekends & holiday shifts required

      Advice to Management

      Provide shifts that do not require weekends or holidays, let those shifts be covered by WOW or PRN staff, you will have a happier work force

      West Florida Hospital2013-07-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Working for West Florida Hospital has been a good experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ekg Technician in Pensacola, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at West Florida Hospital part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pros for this company outweight the cons.

      Cons

      Some employs that have worked there, should not still be there.

      Advice to Management

      Stand up to the employees and get rid of the old ones for a good change.

      West Florida Hospital2012-09-29
    Found 30 reviews