West Health Reviews | Glassdoor

West Health Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
West Health CEO Shelley Lyford (no image)
Shelley Lyford
3 Ratings
  1. "Program Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Health full-time

    Pros

    Helping seniors successfully age.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    West Health2017-09-22
  2. "MANY questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mr and Mrs West are truely wonderful people. Their efforts to fix our healthcare system and make like better for seniors is amazing. The mission and the salaries attract very good people.

    Cons

    The CEO is not a good match. No lhealthcare experience, plays favorites, and rules by fear. Manages up terrifically and is superficially charming; confuses being a boss with leadership. Priorities change so quickly that external partners can be confused and resources are wasted.

    West Health2019-04-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Snoozefest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Health full-time

    Pros

    Don't have to work very hard

    Cons

    Your brain shrinks from the lack of challenge, incompetence of coworkers who get promoted anyway

    West Health2018-03-06
  4. "Great Non Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good organization trying to improve the health care system in the USA.

    Cons

    None really. Sometimes the focus could be better but that goes with the territory of trying cutting edge technology in such a highly regulated industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    West Health2017-09-05
  5. "Web and mobile application developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Web and Mobile Applications Development in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff with innovative research projects. Wonderful ocean view from 2nd floor of the building. Care about employees health.

    Cons

    Small company and struggling to survive.

    West Health2016-02-23
  6. "Whichever way the wind blows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at West Health

    Pros

    Enjoyed getting to know smart and well meaning people.

    Cons

    It was clear that there is an aversion to risk taking and making mistakes. How is the organization expected to move forward? Got the strong sense that those at the top know little about healthcare issues let alone managing effectively.

    West Health2016-02-12
  7. "Smart people no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West Health

    Pros

    Great very intelligent people all wiling to make a change

    Cons

    Beaucracy and too much "ideation." Zero willingness to make a mistake means the company doesn't move forward.

    West Health2015-11-26
  8. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Health full-time

    Pros

    Very uplifting, supportive environment. GREAT management. Everyone (and I mean everyone) works as one team and is always willing to help.

    Cons

    Lots of department changes recently. Hopefully the direction, projects, mission will level out soon so the employees don't have to worry about job security.

    West Health2015-07-31
  9. "Great idea, talented people, questionable execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a great mission and offer great benefits. Location and views from the office can't be beat. Employees are all talented and are excellent coworkers.

    Cons

    Although the mission of the organization is well defined, project goals and prototypes (this is a non-profit, therefore, all "products" are referred to as prototypes) can and often change. You can possibly end up working on a different project or have yours canceled. This may leave you looking for a new position, but they are helpful in doing this.

    West Health2014-03-11
  10. "Awesome people working on awesome projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Health for less than a year

    Pros

    Small teams give it a friendly start-up atmosphere. Good compensation and the organization's directors are very involved and are taking it in a great direction. Also in a great location (La Jolla, CA)

    Cons

    Not much negative things to say. Compensation could have been better but I'm not complaining!

    West Health2014-02-03
Found 10 reviews