West Pharmaceutical Services Reviews | Glassdoor

West Pharmaceutical Services Reviews

Updated November 13, 2017
94 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
West Pharmaceutical Services CEO Eric M. Green
Eric M. Green
21 Ratings

94 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No real advancement opportunities for scientific staff (in 3 reviews)

  • Machines always have problems, no sick days, limited vacation time, and mandatory overtime happens a lot (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great leadership team!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kinston, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kinston, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and management support. Human Resources really supported me during my FMLA, thank you! The leadership training has paid dividends.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. I really enjoy my job, co-workers and managers. West is an employer of choice in Kinston

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work!!

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    Thanks for the nice feedback! I'm glad you're enjoying your experience at West. I hope we always remain "Con-free,” but in case you ever start to see something trend in the wrong direction... More


  2. "Lay offs Williamsport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Williamsport, PA
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Williamsport, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good pay easy work they care about their employees stuff and more stuff clean other then oil all over the place

    Cons

    Co workers suck no team work snitches Heathcare is expensive they go threw temps which sucks also stuff stuff stuff stuff

    Advice to Management

    Don’t go by performance reviews that’s saying for them to keep there favorites favorite is wrong

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    We appreciate your feedback. Obviously it is disappointing to hear negative feedback, but it helps us to improve and make sure we are providing the best work experience for our team.

    Recently... More

  3. "West Pharmaceutical Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time

    Pros

    West is a great place to work. They are clearly dedicated to helping their employees grow and reach their full potential, offering constant training and opportunities to grow or move into another role if that's what you're interested in. There is a ton of flexibility (outside of the lab) and most supervisors trust you to get your work done whether it's during business hours or not. As a working mom, I appreciate the work-life Balance that I've been afforded by working at West.

    Cons

    The maternity leave policy is not good.


  4. "Assemly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Moving up within the company takes longer than it should and the point system sucks

    Advice to Management

    Make the point system fair like if you don't miss a day in 90 days a point drop instead of us waiting a year. I'll can even do 6 months no tardies or absence.

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Recently, West harmonized our attendance policy across all of our facilities in the United States. Our goal with the attendance policy is... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time

    Pros

    was a very collaborative space with respect for others. however, new management now.

    Cons

    Definitely show favoritism among employees


  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good amount of overtime, voluntary for general production. Insurance free glasses. Alternating 3s and 4s. They will take anyone, regardless of reasonable criminal background they will hire you, you have to be a pretty bad for them not too give you the chance to prove yourself.

    Cons

    12 hour days, moving up can be limited by what shift your on. The leads have no power to enforce the rules, only the supervisors who sometimes army there and who don't want to deal with it. some people don't do this job and get away with it then turn around and play the hear say game to destroy your reputation and try to get you fired, worst thing is when they accuse you of something you didn't do but because one of the managers had a tendency to be racist and sexist towards men, she will take sides before the facts are brought out and will fight for the side she chooses regardless of proof.

    Advice to Management

    Actually enforce your rules and give people better chances for raises

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    West works hard to attract and develop top talent that has a strong sense of partnership and client-first mindset. While I am glad to see your positive feedback on the compensation and benefits, I am... More


  7. "Horrible management group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Pharmaceutical Services (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Decent insurance for employee only

    Cons

    West purchased Tech Group in AZ and now realized the mistakeSince have changed Tech Group name to West Contract MFG due to the bad rep.
    Management is the good ol boys club. No oppurtunity for advancement unless you know management personally.
    tempe West facility merging with Kyrene facility. Everyone told they will keep their jobs. This was a lie. They are firing all fulltime people for anything they can and replacing them with temps that will be let go when the merge finally happens. Corporate is aware this is going on and hides/denies it. My advice is to stay away from this company

    Advice to Management

    Cant give advice that is not taken seriously since corporate is aware this is happening and encourages it by allowing it to continue.

  8. "Great Employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Measurement Technician in Williamsport, PA
    Current Employee - Measurement Technician in Williamsport, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Many advancement opportunities and great benefits.

    Cons

    The turnover rate needs improvement.

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    Thanks for the nice feedback! We are committed to developing all employees so that West can ensure that there is professional growth and development for all. I thank you for your candid feedback.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Incompetent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    regular paycheck and decent benefits

    Cons

    idiot management, stuck in the stone age

    Advice to Management

    fire yourselves, you spent years making things worse. 4 dozen VPs that do nothing and twice as many directors that do less.

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    Employee satisfaction is very important to us and it is troubling to hear your perception of our leadership team at West. However, we thank you for your input, as it is important to hear feedback... More


  10. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Pharmaceutical Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Its a job to pays the bills, not a wealth or career builder company. Stable market segment so don't expect layoffs unless something goes horribly wrong. Dont ask for raise, they seriously dont make a lot since they are more of a middle man. They are tier 1 supplier and vendor to pharma giants so they make money only if their customer makes money.

    To summarize, a good place to start out of school but not much for long term. Move on to work for other pharma giants after 2-3 years if your goal is to move up the ladder quicker and make more money.

    Cons

    No real cons, they will not sell you stars and rainbows at interview. Their business is manufacturing rubber seals and plastics. Innovation is not given much of a thought, they cant really afford it since they depend on their clients R&D.

    Advice to Management

    Dont try to overwork your resources and don't expect a Benz for cost of Chevy.They do need to encourage new ideas and methods.

    West Pharmaceutical Services Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s troubling to hear you don’t feel West is a long-term career destination. We’re always looking for ways to ensure our employees have access... More


Showing 94 of 107 reviews
Reset Filters