West Unified Communication Services Reviews | Glassdoor

West Unified Communication Services Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
West Unified Communication Services CEO Scott Etzler
Scott Etzler
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits, Paid time off, great employee wellness team, support from co-workers(in 4 reviews)

  • "Only decent benefits and that's it(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much bureaucracy no one allowed to use common sense anymore there is a procedure for EVERYTHING not allowed to think outside the box(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay, short breaks, too long to wait for insurance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Successful tech company with start up culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Unified Communication Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well funded and great reputation as a tech enablement company. New leadership teams are refreshing, with a player coach mentality all the way to the CEO. People who are selling are making life changing money

    Cons

    If you like very structured environments and corporate feel this probably isn’t the best place.

    West Unified Communication Services2018-09-04
  2. "Constant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cross Seller in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Trust from immediate supervisor.

    Cons

    Constant change due to the acquisition made it difficult for the team to meet their goals.

    West Unified Communication Services2019-07-10
  3. "RUN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conference Coordinator in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only decent benefits and that's it

    Cons

    Unprofessional Supervisor : did not lead by example, inappropriate relationships with employees, never available when needed, displayed favoritism and time management was non existent Extreme pressure from management depending on certain duties Workload not equally distributed No growth opportunities AT ALL

    Advice to Management

    If you expect the best from employees also expect the best from supervisors, the dog eat dog world concept of the office does not make people want to work there that just create snitching, pay for performance should be that not pay for favoritism I wouldn't refer a flea to work for this company

    West Unified Communication Services2019-02-26
  4. "Work is great, Corporate is not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Direct leadership and coworkers are awesome. I love the work I do.

    Cons

    Corporate leadership does not appear to care about the employees.

    Advice to Management

    A quote, "Take care of your employees, and your employees will take care of your clients," unfortunately I do not remember who said that. Stop focusing on how to expand and start fortifying your current teams.

    West Unified Communication Services2019-02-18
  5. "Good people, bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are wonderful people who work here but a lot of them seem to have one foot out the door.

    Cons

    Lack of appropriate training. Little to no diversity in leadership. Lack of empathy for most people in leadership. Large pay gaps between departments. Leadership members scared for their job so they will do anything to not make waves among C-Levels and higher level executives. Everyone looks out for themselves; there are very few people who will take extra time to help others out. No transparency and everyone seems...

    Show More
    West Unified Communication Services2019-01-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UC Support Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None! This place is a joke and care nothing about their employees or the hard work they put in.

    Cons

    Management in the UC support is worthless, most couldn't manage to find their way out of a wet paper bag. The nepotism is outrageous as wrll

    Advice to Management

    Find new ones!!!

    West Unified Communication Services2018-09-09
  7. "Event Specialist VT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My coworkers, my manager, and my accounts / clients.

    Cons

    My supervisor was the laziest member of our team. It was frustrating to have to work under someone who refused to even pretend like she cared about what was going on.

    West Unified Communication Services2018-07-30
  8. "laid off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      on the job training and the team carried our group

      Cons

      laid off after 16 yrs

      West Unified Communication Services2018-07-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Still struggling to find direction."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Paid time off; remote work options.

      Cons

      Lowest pay in the industry; lack of direction; disconnected leadership.

      West Unified Communication Services2018-07-18
    • "account executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at West Unified Communication Services full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        some of the people there are my closest friends

        Cons

        very disorganized at the moment

        West Unified Communication Services2018-05-11
      Found 101 reviews