KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

West Virginia Northern Community College

Is this your company?

West Virginia Northern Community College

Add a Review

West Virginia Northern Community College Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
West Virginia Northern Community College President Daniel Mosser
Daniel Mosser
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Jun 15, 2021 - Trades Specialist in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Place to work. Amazing people

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to meet wonderful people

    Aug 2, 2019 - Program Assistant I/Accounting Clerk III in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to see the diversity of students and staff every day is enjoyable and entertaining. It keeps the work fresh and every day brings something new. Many of the staff are friendly and knowledgeable in not only their areas but in other areas to assist with questions. The College does well supporting employees in their educational goals and does offer some lucrative benefits including more PTO than almost anywhere else. Work/Life balance is pretty wonderful. Unless there are cases where it would be detrimental to the flow of the College processes, requested time off is almost always approved.

    Cons

    Wages and advancement opportunities are somewhat limited. There is a huge disparity between pay. Most front-line people could make more in retail, but the benefits (health insurance, retirement and PTO) are much better than a lot of places. Front-line people often are interrupted in the middle of processing or performing tasks to answer phones or complete other tasks, so efficient multi-tasking is a necessary evil.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome place

    May 17, 2019 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the staff, faculty and students.

    Cons

    Poor communication between staff on multiple campuses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Deceiveful, mean from beginning and out of touch

    Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is very little to say positively. I will say there are some nice people there but they are newer and not already entrenched in to the clichés and culture.

    Cons

    1. 4 weeks into the position, I was informed it was a grant position. I brought this to the management team, but was placated with it was Perkins funding which is a federally funded…grant. I still am required to do documentation regarding contact related to position which is a grant. 2. I was reprimanded for an act that was not intended for the complaining parties; however, the foul language used within my department when the public is in the area is never addressed. 3. The definition of exempt requires for three things to be met by the Department of Labor. Two are, but the third – pay - is not. This means I can be forced to attend after hour functions that are not related to my position. I have been told that if I do not show up or call out, I could be docked pay. 4. The marketing department has “hazing” that occurs occurring to someone in the Business Department and they are sabotaging the college events by not promoting events organized by individuals that they do not like. For example, I was accused by the Marketing department for something not intended toward them. As a result, my event was not promoted properly because of their failure to produce advertisement. I submitted all information March 11th. I was brought to me for my review Tuesday, March 19th without a digital copy to submit to the newsletter. In addition, changes to the color was made the next day which delayed it more. The posters were delivered to one campus the Thursday before the event that was to be on a Monday and the day before at the other campus. So, money was spent to advertise an event one day prior. In addition, money was spent to send me to the campuses to the event that had 100% no show! 5. Due to lack of effective communication between departments and campuses, events have zero attendees. The amount of time and resources spent to send employees to the campuses could actually be better utilized to increase the pay for the people who work there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Peer Coach

    Jan 28, 2016 - Peer Coach in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get to work with the students, staff, and see potential employers who come to view our lab. They are very nice and help me with anything that I need. Even if it comes to hearing about potential job openings, they pass it along to me.

    Cons

    I get to see the inter-workings of the college and how the different departments lack on knowledge of students and the students needs. They are more worried about doing it "their way" than what is actually best for the students. I am thankful I have graduated and don't have to be put through that side of things anymore.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Bureaucratic leadership style

    Nov 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Division faculty supportive and competent

    Cons

    Administration leaves much to be desired

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Adjunct Instructor

    Apr 27, 2015 - Adjunct Instructor in Triadelphia, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great way for me to give back to the community!

    Cons

    None, great place to teach!

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Micromanagement by HR Fed up Minion

    Mar 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good school to get a start in life or to save some money before getting a four year degree elsewhere.

    Cons

    HR meddles in every dept. High Turnover causing stress. Poor Communication.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a bad place to work.

    Jan 26, 2014 - IT Consultant in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the people were great to work with

    Cons

    They don't pay enough to live.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere...

    Apr 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very hard to think of any...

    Cons

    This was not a good experience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with West Virginia Northern Community College Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at West Virginia Northern Community College? Share Your Experiences

West Virginia Northern Community College logo
or