West Virginia University Reviews in Morgantown, WV | Glassdoor

West Virginia University Morgantown Reviews

Updated July 14, 2017
178 reviews

Filter

Filter

Morgantown, WV Area

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
West Virginia University President E. Gordon Gee
E. Gordon Gee
43 Ratings

178 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Very low pay for non management (in 9 reviews)

  • small town doesn't have much fun (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Course Developer and Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Course Developer and Instructor in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Online Course Developer and Instructor in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The online program at West Virginia University's Reed College of Media is very structured. All courses follow the same format, with all discussion assignments having the same requirements. The university constructs the course calendar. So, students know what to expect from course to course. This significantly cuts down on student failure.

    Cons

    There are two downsides to working at WVU: 1) If an online course has less than 12 students enrolled in it, they won't run it. If, by some chance, they do (say, for instance, the course has 9 students enrolled), the course compensation will be prorated. 2) Due to West Virginia law, WVU is required to deduct West Virginia state income taxes from every paycheck. I live in NY, but I still have to pay that tax. There are no exemptions. The best you can do is try to secure a refund, but in my 4 years there, I've been unsuccessful in that.

    Advice to Management

    Run online courses, even if there are only a handful of students in them, especially when you're trying to get new programs of study off the ground. It looks really bad to students when courses constantly don't run because you don't have 12 students registered for them. If it's an online course, you really have very little overhead, so run them.

    West Virginia University Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate hearing from you.


  2. "Low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant II in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Program Assistant II in Morgantown, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Tuition assistance, sometimes the people are good

    Cons

    Hard to move up, some departments have dirty management, pay for one's own parking... which can get expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pigeonhole your employees

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to be an employer of choice and appreciate hearing from our faculty and staff. Please feel free to reach out to us to further discuss this at... More

  3. "WVU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at West Virginia University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    WVU is a solid university. Morgantown has a college town atmosphere. WVU has good salary and benefits. WVU is the biggest employer in town.

    Cons

    WVU has some old buildings. Poor infrastructure in some cases. Traffic around the university can be bad for such a small town.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about retaining and rewarding good employees. Put some money towards modernizing buildings, especially for the heating and AC.

    West Virginia University Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for letting us know your thoughts. We appreciate hearing your opinion and are happy you have had a positive experience with us.


  4. "Cultured Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Virginia University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Not very hard, low key university

    Cons

    No sense of urgency, no accountability towards productivity, no real performance management and/or defined compensation plan. Bureaucratic mess, most administrators like their bloated salaries and their opinions to be heard rather than contributing in a positive manner. Lots of nepotism in terms of staffing as well.

    Advice to Management

    Burn it down, and rebuild.

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    We always strive to be an employer of choice and welcome employee feedback. We'd like to get more information from you regarding your experiences with us. Feel free to reach out to our Human... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nanotechnology Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Assistant (Nanotechnology) in Morgantown, WV
    Former Employee - Research Assistant (Nanotechnology) in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Virginia University part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    High quality nanotechnology research initiatives. Incredible labs and equipments in Engineering, Physics & Chemistry departments.

    Cons

    University has very low industry outreach. Career placement & industry outreach can be improved.

    West Virginia University Response

    May 23, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We're happy to hear that you had a positive experience with our labs and research!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Cost of Living, Close relationships

    Cons

    College Town, low salary, limited opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees their worth to keep them in the state.

    West Virginia University Response

    May 1, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for telling us about your experience with the University. We appreciate you taking the time to do so!


  7. "Organic Chem TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organic Chemistry Lab TA in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Organic Chemistry Lab TA in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience.
    Helps to build confidence and management skills.

    Cons

    Grading takes a lot of time.
    Very little help is offered by supervising professor.

    Advice to Management

    Have the supervising professor give TAs a briefing(less than 5 minutes) before each lab.

    West Virginia University Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your input!

  8. "Worth it?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Current Contractor - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Tuition waiver and stipend are helpful, but I feel the stipend should be more since Morgantown is very expensive to live in.

    Cons

    No real sense of community among workers


  9. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Morgantown, WV

    I worked at West Virginia University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I learned a lot from this position.

    Cons

    Should guide students for job market

    West Virginia University Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your opinion with us! We appreciate the feedback.


  10. "Engineering Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at West Virginia University full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great equipment, faculty, and funding opportunities.

    Cons

    The administration outside of the school of engineering is unreliable and inefficent

    Advice to Management

    Provide more capabilities to lower level officers with frequent audits.

    West Virginia University Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for letting us know your thoughts and experiences with the University. We appreciate your feedback!


Showing 178 of 347 reviews
Reset Filters