West Virginia University Reviews | Glassdoor

West Virginia University Reviews

Updated August 16, 2017
329 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
West Virginia University President E. Gordon Gee
E. Gordon Gee
82 Ratings

329 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Morgantown is a very nice place to live (in 9 reviews)

  • Great work environment, departmental support (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Very low pay for non management (in 10 reviews)

  • small town doesn't have much fun (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University part-time

    Pros

    Great experience, great people! Have been working here for more than 4 years now!

    Cons

    Not many benefits, and it is located in a small town.


  2. "Inspiring research & people, difficult area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student and Administrative Secretary in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Graduate Student and Administrative Secretary in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    WVU is a top-notch University with great research and networking opportunities. I encountered supportive faculty and staff, and hate having to leave.

    Cons

    The area is limited in terms of opportunity, and some of the old-school folks can be rather set in their ways.

    West Virginia University Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for reaching out - we appreciate your feedback!

  3. "WVU EcoCAR 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time

    Pros

    State of the art facilities, great coworkers

    Cons

    Pay system is complicated and outdated

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for letting us know about your experience - we appreciate the feedback!


  4. "too much "good ole boy" system still in place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lower Management
    Current Employee - Lower Management
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    some of the nicest people you would ever want to work with in many areas, adds cultural events and activities to the area that you otherwise wouldn't have access to, some of the benefits are good

    Cons

    cost of housing in Morgantown itself (way to high for the size of the town), traffic, town infrastructure, out of town/out of state drivers, Road User fee, political environment (within units/departments/schools/colleges), disconnect between upper admin/management and staff, too many personal agendas (not OneWVU), low pay, discriminatory attitudes, bullying occurs, and good ole boy system still exists in many areas.

    Advice to Management

    take a long hard look in the mirror, and start listening to the people on the ground. Protect your employees, enforce a no tolerance attitude for discrimination, retaliation and other behaviors from management and faculty that create uncomfortable and tension filled work environments. Take a look at what you are paying some of your administration, versus others in the U. Get rid of those who are incompetent, engage in bullying or otherwise negative behaviors on a regular basis and clean your act up. You are losing Great employees, and will be left with the ones who are only concerned about themselves - not the good of the institution. That transcends directly into poor services for the students we serve.

    West Virginia University Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    We always strive to be an employer of choice and welcome employee feedback. We'd like to get more information from you regarding your experiences with us. Feel free to reach out to our Human... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Political, Management Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, City of Morgantown and the surrounding area is great, semi-progressive.

    Cons

    Extremely political organization. Unqualified Management. State is intolerable, irrational, and just plain stuck in the past.

    Advice to Management

    Cost saving projects are anything but. Personal bias dictates direction rather than stakeholder input. Magazine management is rampant especially at executive level. Leadership does not mean dictatorship.

    Mountaineers NEVER go first.

    West Virginia University Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    We always strive to be an employer of choice and welcome employee feedback. We'd like to get more information from you regarding your experiences with us. Feel free to reach out to our Human... More


  6. "WVU Admissions rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at West Virginia University full-time

    Pros

    opportunities for professional development, exciting, great staff, lots of food!

    Cons

    not a fan of the cubicle office setting

    Advice to Management

    Keep rewarding the hardworking employees!

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    We're glad to hear you had a positive experience with us! And some good food along the way. Thanks for sharing!


  7. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    University tries to funds as many graduate students as possible

    Cons

    Research wok is a little laid back

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! We're glad to see you've had a positive experience with the University.

  8. "Low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant II in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Program Assistant II in Morgantown, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Tuition assistance, sometimes the people are good

    Cons

    Hard to move up, some departments have dirty management, pay for one's own parking... which can get expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pigeonhole your employees

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to be an employer of choice and appreciate hearing from our faculty and staff. Please feel free to reach out to us to further discuss this at... More


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly work environment
    Flexible time schedule
    Good (not great) benefits

    Cons

    Compensation on the low side

    Advice to Management

    Employee incentives with merit raises will help with morale. Right now it's dependent on the legislature, but something needs to be done to keep good talent.

    West Virginia University Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us - we appreciate hearing from you!


  10. "Course Developer and Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Course Developer and Instructor in Morgantown, WV
    Current Employee - Online Course Developer and Instructor in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at West Virginia University part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The online program at West Virginia University's Reed College of Media is very structured. All courses follow the same format, with all discussion assignments having the same requirements. The university constructs the course calendar. So, students know what to expect from course to course. This significantly cuts down on student failure.

    Cons

    There are two downsides to working at WVU: 1) If an online course has less than 12 students enrolled in it, they won't run it. If, by some chance, they do (say, for instance, the course has 9 students enrolled), the course compensation will be prorated. 2) Due to West Virginia law, WVU is required to deduct West Virginia state income taxes from every paycheck. I live in NY, but I still have to pay that tax. There are no exemptions. The best you can do is try to secure a refund, but in my 4 years there, I've been unsuccessful in that.

    Advice to Management

    Run online courses, even if there are only a handful of students in them, especially when you're trying to get new programs of study off the ground. It looks really bad to students when courses constantly don't run because you don't have 12 students registered for them. If it's an online course, you really have very little overhead, so run them.

    West Virginia University Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate hearing from you.


Showing 329 of 351 reviews
Reset Filters