WestLake Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

WestLake Financial Group Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
27%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
WestLake Financial Group President Paul J Burt (no image)
Paul J Burt
36 Ratings
  1. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WestLake Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership fits those looking for a great career path

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2018-08-20
  2. "Decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Huntington, WV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WestLake Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Good benefits strong company

    Cons

    Non region specific on goals and expectations

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Shady practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WestLake Financial Group

    Pros

    The CEO isn't in the office every day, so paranoia isn't an every day thing

    Cons

    One of the most toxic work environments I've ever been a part of. False promises are consistently made. Very "clicky" environment, people always talking behind your back, fearing for your job constantly.

    WestLake Financial Group2018-11-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Benefits Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    They used to have some cool video games

    Cons

    There are a lot of cons. Egos, crazy bosses, dictatorship did I mention egos?

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2018-11-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance but very costly.

    Cons

    All upper management are terrible. All they care about are number and treat people very unfairly.

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2018-08-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Never Again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    None, Run Far Away! Worst Job I ever Had!

    Cons

    Too Many To List! Horrible Culture and Work Environment. CEO should be ashamed of himself! Paranoid, Ego Maniac Womanizer!

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2018-03-20
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Worst employer ever- Had to give them 1 star to complete review but would give them -3 if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Inside Sales Representative in Buffalo Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group for less than a year

    Pros

    None- not one. Hard to use 5 words to describe this place!

    Cons

    Where to begin? First of all the reviews that state the owner is awful are absolutely correct. Any reviews otherwise trust me are fake reviews. If you want to work somewhere you are treated horribly, micromanaged, not trained and have crimes perpetrated against you- work here. I discovered a month into the new year that I worked here that they were withdrawing monies from paychecks for medical and dental but had not signed employees up for the benefits. I was never paid the commission I earned. I was at this job for 6 months and there were 3 comptrollers during that timeframe. One I reached out to after leaving the company and he said he had evidence the company was falsifying the books. This place was a nightmare!

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2016-11-17
  8. "Held Multiple Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    CEO has a tremendous amount of experience to learn from if you are willing to put the time in. You get out what you put in and are rewarded accordingly.

    Cons

    We are all putting in our fair share of time in the office but my last paycheck reflected this and the experience I am gaining is second to none.

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2016-05-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Run As Fast As You Can!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group

    Pros

    Pro's: Leaving there was the best thing I could have ever done!

    Cons

    Owner is horrible. He is NOT a good manager, he trusts no one, he is aggressive in his mannerisms, he has no loyalty to his employees, He is dishonest and hires temps to fill chairs in the service center when potential clients are being courted. Lot's of smoke and mirrors!

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2016-04-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Ungh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WestLake Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    CEO has a great vision and ideas for where to take the company.

    Cons

    He has no idea how to execute those ideas and puts no faith in his employees.

    Continue reading
    WestLake Financial Group2015-09-11
Found 42 reviews