Westamerica Reviews | Glassdoor

Westamerica Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Westamerica Chairman, President, and CEO, Westamerica Bancorporation and Westamerica Bank David L. Payne (no image)
David L. Payne
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Customers, great employees, Business hours gives you the work/life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good hours, not very demanding, laid back environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, they don't hire from within the company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Underpaid, undervalued, remove your personality to survive, dinosaur technology, high turnover, sexist(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westamerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super easy and friendly

    Cons

    Pay is low and should be higher.

    Westamerica2020-01-08
  2. "I have been working at Westamerica full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Novato, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westamerica full-time

    Pros

    Good hours for life balancing

    Cons

    Could be a little more competitive with salary and bonus structure

    Westamerica2019-12-15
  3. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bank Teller 

    I have been working at Westamerica part-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers , good holiday pay

    Cons

    No cons as of right now

    Westamerica2019-11-24
  4. "Outdated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westamerica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good vacation time . Weekends off

    Cons

    Management does not understand the job so it’s hard to take criticism from someone who doesn’t know what they’re talking about. The systems and very outdated, and working with the branches can be a pain since they can be very rude.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees, and update your systems

    Westamerica2019-12-30
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Vallejo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westamerica part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience and great team to work for.

    Cons

    Management not very strong and need more training to support keeping employees

    Westamerica2019-10-24
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager 

    I worked at Westamerica full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, helpful and understanding regional manager, good career opportunity

    Cons

    Older computer system, not enough pay for position

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more. Give them the pay that they deserve.

    Westamerica2019-10-10
  7. "Great coworkers-Not great pay or benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ATM Supervisor in Fairfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westamerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot of seasoned and loyal employees. I established friendships with many coworkers and still remain in contact even after ending my employment.

    Cons

    Medical benefits are not great. For a family, premiums were way too expensive. I had to leave the company in search of better medical for my family.

    Advice to Management

    Fight harder to keep long time employees. I left after 13 years of dedicated service without any attempt to counter offer.

    Westamerica2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Must take 2 week concurrent vacation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Westamerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and coworkers are nice.

    Cons

    Pay is below industry standard.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are not paid fairly. Same position and time on the job can vary by up to $3.00 an hour!

    Westamerica2019-10-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Over worked for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Service Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westamerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the work itself and the customers.

    Cons

    workplace drama & low pay

    Westamerica2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westamerica part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment and excellent branch managers.

    Cons

    Antiquated technology, poor compensation, old-school management.

    Advice to Management

    Improve employee retention by actually caring about your front-line employees.

    Westamerica2019-09-23
Found 76 reviews