Western Alliance Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Western Alliance Bank Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Western Alliance Bank CEO Kenneth A. Vecchione (no image)
Kenneth A. Vecchione
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid IT - otherwise evaluate and give it a shot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am a seasoned professional - Much of the company and culture is positive where the teams/employees are secure in their positions.

    Cons

    Not quite sure why they have IT, they don't develop, most departments are enterprise, but the head and those that do the dirty work know they ride on others coat tails. If you join....be aware and watch your back! Also HR just occupies space.

    Advice to Management

    really looks under the covers - there are many smoke screens. If they continue to set up those that get them to the finish line, they will run out of real estate.

    Western Alliance Bank2019-01-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Entrepreneurial Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Alliance Bank full-time

    Pros

    Growing bank, enterprising spirit, average benefits, decent work/life balance (depending on role)

    Cons

    Below market pay, general lack of direction from management, turnover

    Western Alliance Bank2019-01-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Worst company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are not bad. Pay is good but not great unless you work in the lending dept.

    Cons

    Buyer beware! You are nothing more than a number who will be used to complete tasks with no regard for your skill set. HR does nothing, was literally told to be happy to collect a paycheck. Horrible culture, internal politics are crippling, wrong people in the wrong role, many "leaders" are ego maniacs. If you want to experience an awful place to work, this is your place!

    Western Alliance Bank2019-01-23
  4. "Working for Western Alliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Alliance Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great atmosphere, opportunity to grow professionally

    Cons

    Downsides of working downtown are the parking.

    Western Alliance Bank2018-12-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The bank's involvement in the community is adequate.

    Cons

    Low salaries and Minimal delivery system.

    Advice to Management

    Improve employee training in all areas of institution

    Western Alliance Bank2018-11-03
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Very toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Alliance Bank full-time

    Pros

    Some nice people Generally reasonable hours The company is doing well financially

    Cons

    This place is the definition of toxic work environment. Politics, inappropriate behavior, senior leadership not doing their jobs. On my first day, at orientation, we were advised by HR that if we had a problem, we should just 'go with the flow' and 'try to be flexible'. I had no idea that they meant accepting rampant unprofessionalism, but I probably should have known right then. While there were a lot of good people there, the overall attitude of the place was hostile to cooperation and getting work done in a way that consistently surprised me, since that kind of attitude only hinders the business. There was very high turnover in most departments, and unfortunately the better employees were usually the ones leaving. The business is doing well financially and is consistently ranked highly, so I probably wouldn't hesitate to invest in it, but I certainly would not work there, even just for a short time to get experience. There are a lot of other places where you can get a similar job with very little downside.

    Show More
    Western Alliance Bank2018-10-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Entry Level Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks were nice and pay was fair. The employee base was nice for the most part. Great location for lunch places

    Cons

    Processes changed too often. Upper management was too controlling and irrational with expectations. Communication from the top down was lacking. Culture could be improved

    Western Alliance Bank2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Alliance Bank full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to present complex loan requests and knowledgeable staff

    Cons

    Takes a long time to get deals done

    Advice to Management

    Provide a constructive environment to allow support staff to critique management and processes that are currently in place

    Western Alliance Bank2018-08-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, benefits, 401k and PTO

    Cons

    too much politics, micromanagement and attitude.

    Western Alliance Bank2018-06-28
  10. "Strong Company, Great Opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Alliance Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong business acumen among the leadership. Ability to shift direction to meet needs of clients and staff. Staff know each other from entry level up to CEO. Solid financial position within the market.

    Cons

    Growth: expansion always brings challenges but the Bank is doing a good job of working through the infrastructure issues.

    Advice to Management

    Expand upon re-investing in staff, implement diversity initiatives and continue to grow the business. Enhance career opportunities at all levels within the company.

    Western Alliance Bank2018-06-13
Found 88 reviews