Western Dental Services Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Western Dental Services CEO Dan Crowley (no image)
Dan Crowley
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to begin your dental career(in 9 reviews)

  • "Fast paced; lots to learn and a strong steady organization(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management changes frequently, turnover is high among employees, the employees are paid very low, but managers and above are above market(in 14 reviews)

  • "Low pay, they send you to different offices without even asking if you’re okay with going(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "18 Years of Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rda/Floor Back Coordinator 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An excellent work environment - Our employees come to work with a positive attitude and do the best they can to help our patients and each other. You will always see teamwork occurring. Excellent customer Service - One of our goals is to ensure that our patients, which are children from the ages of 1 to 17 years old feel comfortable while having treatment done. Great benefits - This company offers medical insurance, vision insurance, and as well 401 retirement plan. Opportunity for Growth - I started working here as an RDA, and I later became a floor coordinator. This has allowed me to learn so much more behind the scenes. I am very happy working with western dental kids!

    Cons

    I was use to working earlier shifts, however the hours at my office change to later times. Nonetheless, I still enjoy working with my team and aiding children in need for dental care.

    Western Dental Services2020-01-20
  2. "Review of the Company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    new technical training , nice people, and good management.

    Cons

    Lack of Employee benefits (pension and 401k)

    Western Dental Services2020-01-22
  3. "Not for everyone"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff 

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good schedule and full benefits

    Cons

    Limited resources to do your job done

    Western Dental Services2020-05-23
  4. "Forever Grateful"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Concord, CA

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Western Dental gave me the opportunity to step foot into the dental world when no other office would. I started as a receptionist, and for the go I told them I was interested in working in the back as a dental assistant. After a few months of working in the front as a receptionist, they let me be a sterilizer and I was in training to become a dental assistant. My manager said once I got my x-ray license, they would give me a raise. Looking back now I should have asked for a raise as soon as I became a sterilizer, as being a sterilizer is much more physically demanding vs being a receptionist. I loved my coworkers, and especially my manager! The regional manager and trainer were also awesome!

    Cons

    Pay could be better Didn’t like that our wait times were so high, and so if you’re front staff you get yelled at, basically, everyday by patients. We would have to work Saturdays, I would say that if we have to work Saturdays, maybe make it 8-2? That way when you get off, you don’t feel like your whole day is gone.

    Continue reading
    Western Dental Services2020-04-29
  5. "Good job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    Good learning opportunity to develop soft skills; opportunity to make a small commision on the sale of dental products; paid time off and sick pay.

    Cons

    over charged patients for services to increase monthly sales numbers. The manager amplified negatives and minimized positives. 10 min were frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Western Dental Services2020-04-29
  6. "Too stressful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Gardena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay and bonus for office managers

    Cons

    Too stressful Management expectations are unrealistic Upper management is unorganized and unprofessional Upper management will not return important calls/messages/emails Upper management will ignore you Severely understaffed

    Continue reading
    Western Dental Services2020-05-04
  7. "The Most Corporate Dental Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist in Vallejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job security (except for during COVID-19 crisis)

    Cons

    Poor patient demographic leads to terrible day-to-day experiences

    Western Dental Services2020-03-20
  8. "Lucrative opportunity if you put forth great effort"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing support all around you

    Cons

    Low salary for lower positions which can lead to high turnover

    Continue reading
    Western Dental Services2020-03-15
  9. "Western Dental Receptionist"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for getting into dental field, networking

    Cons

    all staff members pressured to meet production goals

    Western Dental Services2020-03-10
  10. "good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Associate Dentist in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    autonomy , decent money, no pressure

    Cons

    tons of patients and no time

    Continue reading
    Western Dental Services2020-03-02
Found 295 reviews