Western Exterminator Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Western Exterminator Company Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Western Exterminator Company President Michael Katz (no image)
Michael Katz
10 Ratings
  1. "27 year colleague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Coquille, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities to grow personally and from a business perspective.

    Cons

    The work can be challenging. If you're up for a challenge then this may be the right place for you.

    Western Exterminator Company2020-01-23
  2. "Long time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of work to do. Every day someone would call out sick and your work load increases.

    Cons

    As a manager I can tell you there were never enough hours in the day to finish my work.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2020-01-14
  3. "Great Pay, Bad Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was outstanding, great benefits, company vehicle.

    Cons

    Worst company culture I’ve ever experienced. I was yelled at cussed at, witnessed sexism, etc. Culture is that of a good old boys club. Most employees are very unhappy and want to leave they just can’t leave because of the money. I left to take a job for less money, but had great company culture and treats employees with respect and value.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2020-01-18
  4. "Good growth but masgonistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There was good compensation and good benefits.

    Cons

    Promotions went mainly to men

    Western Exterminator Company2019-04-04
  5. "Rss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Independent work, get paid well for effort.

    Cons

    Old technology causes scheduling problems. Call center reps have no knowledge of pest control.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2019-02-20
  6. "Terrible pay structure, should be illegal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Technician in Chino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company truck, health benefits, phone, new equipment, and fully stocked on chemical.

    Cons

    Pay structure 16hr regardless of licenses, Chinese overtime, excessive paperwork, multiple trips to office, poor equipment. Lack of transparency.

    Western Exterminator Company2019-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Family any longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time

    Pros

    Company vehicle 401K match possible bonus

    Cons

    The culture changed from a great place to work when it was a family business to a non caring corporate machine. The new company Rentokil talks up culture but no one in the management team has a concept of what the culture was like in the past. the colleagues are just a number now I can't tell you how many want to leave as soon as they get another opportunity

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2018-11-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poorly managed mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rout Tech in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to take the truck home, some of the other Techs were cool.

    Cons

    Entire management team was replaced or quit within my first year and a half, and replaced with even worse managers that are afraid to get their hands dirty, at least the management before would actually do rout work and help out when we were short staffed, but not the current mgmt, they just make calls and send emails. And speaking of short staffed, they have a high turnover rate, so there is never enough bodies to help out and cover for time off. Summer hrs are long and brutal, and the pay system is complicated and set up to screw the Techs out of money more and more over time. I hear stories about the good old days before Rentokil bought the company and turned it into the corporate mess it is now, and believe that they were a better company when they were family owned. One of the most frustrating parts of the job was the poor communication from the CSR's down in Anaheim (who also had a high turnover), most of them were not very bright, nor did they really care about the Tech's scheduling needs. Last but not least, Rentokil put a tempermental snarky little British guy in charge of the whole area who instills fear and loathing in the management team.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2018-11-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Western Exterminator Company

    Pros

    Benefits are good, company vehicle is good, pay is okay forever changing with a management bonus structure that is not achievable.

    Cons

    Work life balance is not possible, on call all the time working weekends and nights. Long days and hours. They say they're all about the colleague but that is a lie. Company wants to keep their customers and grow but they allow poor service and keep increasing price for service to customers and then they cancel and you get the blame. When they aquire companies you have to deal with their bad employees and low cost customers with out any increase in pay.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2018-07-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Another Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Exterminator Company full-time

    Pros

    Company truck to take home/gas card/work phone

    Cons

    New ops has a power ego, talks down to techs including stating what they want done, not showing it hands on, criticizing after without appreciation. Low staffed, mgmt push work on techs when they should assist in field instead of leisure.

    Continue reading
    Western Exterminator Company2018-06-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews