KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Western Federal Credit Union

Is this your company?

Western Federal Credit Union

Add a Review

Western Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Western Federal Credit Union Chief Executive Officer  Gordon Howe (no image)
Gordon Howe
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Member Service Representative

    Aug 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is amazingly caring. I have never been a part of a company that is SO there for you as this one is.

    Cons

    I went through a lot of interviews. Two in store and over 3 over the phone.

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Small company made to feel like a large corporation

    Dec 12, 2011 -  in Torrance, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Western has great benefits, education reimbursement programs and overall a nice place to work at. Western head quarters is located in Hawthorne, CA with a remote office in Torrance, CA and remote offices across the country. People for the most part are nice and usually enjoy doing their job with not too many complaints. Branch employees are kept up to date on the latest company news and requirements for the most part.

    Cons

    Western employs about 300 employees, which is on the smaller side for a Financial institution. Yet it is run as though it is a large corporation which hurts business and moral of employees. Upper management is lopsided with too many departments under one head and failures happening under that management much too often.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Branch

    Nov 16, 2015 - Manager in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement! This place is a degree factory. People get their Undergrad or Grad school 100% paid and then they leave.

    Cons

    Everything about this place is terrible. They are currently involved in a lawsuit for failing to provide breaks for hourly employees. Misconduct by a senior member of management led to her demotion (she should've been fired). HR was completely let go from SVP all the way down due to their ineptitude. I was literally told once "come see me when you need help with your dental coverage, otherwise speak to <manager> first". Branch upper management have no skills or education. They all certainly know how to write employees up for anything and everything. Regional managers are all dictators, do what they say without question, don't think or act on your own. Know that any member complaint is treated as though you murdered someone and you'll never be able to speak up without being retaliated against. Their CEO was just asked to step down by the board.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    VP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Western. While uniquely yours, it generally doesn't reflect what others in the organization view as an amazing opportunity to work in an organization that is experiencing sustained growth while maintaining a solid commitment to delivering superior service and value to our members. We wish you success in finding a company that meets with your expectations.

  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Not a good place at all.

    Sep 12, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, pay is ok.

    Cons

    Extremely short-staffed all the time (they tell you you're fully staffed with one teller!). They set unrealistic goals for you to meet, zero tolerance for mistakes yet no training or mediocre at best, there's absolutely no respect for your personal time (they expect you to come in hours early or stay late - they don't ask if you can, you just have to! - Why do they even create a schedule?). If your teller is $25 dollars out of balance everyone has to stay two hours after the branch closes to count the entire branch!! If you have personal commitments after work, well you better cancel those because that's just policy. The way upper management talk to employees is disrespectful, inconsiderate, and plain rude. Employees crying at their desk out of frustration is "normal" here. Feeling overwhelmed, tired and stressed out seem to be an everyday complaint from everyone. During the job interview I should have asked what is their turnover rate - that alone tells me this place is not worth it.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Going no where fast

    Dec 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff (excluding upper management), tuition reimbursement, good benefits

    Cons

    The high TURNOVER is scary, to say the least. Pay is mediocre. If you are looking to advance your career, look somewhere else! The only way you get promoted in this company is if you live in California and you're friends with someone in upper management. I've seen numerous individuals who were qualified for positions but were overlooked for no apparent reason (had NOTHING to do with their job performance). This company primarily hires branch management from outside; they seldom promote from within. Furthermore, training is a joke. You have tellers and MSR's training new branch management on how to do THEIR job.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    VP Human Resources

    We are dismayed to learn of your perspective while working at Western. We thought it valuable to highlight some of the great strides made at Western this past year, including the promotion of our very own Gordon Howe to CEO. In fact, transfers and promotions throughout the organization accounted for more than 20% of our filled openings in 2015. As we are in the midst of goal setting and assessing each individual's past year performance contribution, now is a great time to discuss with your manager your desired career path and how you've helped make Western a better and more effective banking alternative for our valued members. Compensation is one of many important components in our overall total rewards strategy. That is why Western has engaged third-party firms and consultants who advise our leadership team on the complexities of designing and continually refining a robust program that rewards our high achievers and top performers while striving to achieve a fair and market-competitive total rewards program for all. Lastly, the attraction and retention of talent at Western is trending with similar-sized institutions, and we have been working purposefully to implement new and enhanced recruiting and selection solutions that will enable us to more effectively hire positive, "can-do", talented contributors who are ready and willing to partner for the opportunities that lie ahead. It is our hope that in 2016, you will be energized and begin to experience the change that is afoot at Western.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A refreshing place to work

    Oct 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Torrance, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In growth mode, appreciates different backgrounds and skills, is a financially sound company, is member focused and finds a way to say "yes", is willing to address past pain points and have the company live up to its full potential. I love the people I work for - positive and energetic.

    Cons

    The company is experiencing growth pains - trust me - these are better than contraction pains which most of the financial services industry is experiencing. Some processes need to be scaled, but it's all manageable.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    VP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to share your perspective! Your points are spot-on ... we're growing and soaring to new heights ... your contribution is valued and we are delighted to have you as part of our team!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Branch Manager

    Apr 20, 2016 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Upper management is dedicated to team members and the overall membership of the Credit Union. Along with excellent medical, dental and vision benefits they still offer a company funded pension plan - this is almost unheard of in todays working environment. Management believes in team member development and education. (education expense reimbursement too!) Purpose driven, goal oriented team members thrive here at the Credit Union. Hard work and determination are rewarded in many ways. I am personally very excited for the new vision and direction we are headed as a company!

    Cons

    Growing company - but Management is working on the "wrinkles."

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    VP Human Resources

    We value your contribution as a Branch Manager and share in your excitement for our vision and direction. Thank you for taking time to share your experience at UNIFY (formerly known as Western Federal Credit Union). The recent GALLUP Engagement Survey completed by the majority of our team members has provided information and data for our leaders to create additional learning and development opportunities. This, combined with highly engaged team members like yourself, will help UNIFY become one of the BEST PLACES TO WORK!

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    A name change can't change the true culture at this place

    Sep 8, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At this point it is very difficult to think of any as I am looking to leave the company.

    Cons

    I am a long time employee and have watched the top executives turn this place into a “Mad Men” episode of old school management thinking. They have spent the past 6 months working on a “bait and switch” by trying to orchestrate a name change trying to act like they are working on the corporate culture. All the corporate culture left when there was a mass exodus of the past HR team – All I know for a fact, is that the last 3 reviews that have above 4 stars on this site are a straight attempt from someone in Western’s management trying to put lipstick on their pig – oink oink. My only motivation on writing this was I am looking to get off this sinking ship and was curious what people were saying only to see the executives at Western doing their normal manipulative hocus pocus by magically having a handful of 5 star reviews crafted by an executives hand - I would guess an HR executive from the vocabulary selection.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    VP Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your feelings with us. As a long time team member we absolutely value your perspective. And, you’re right, a name change cannot change a culture. The true culture of any organization is driven by its team members. We hope that with your tenure, you would contribute by helping to transform UNIFY into a culture where you are proud to be a part and excited to grow. As with any rebrand, we know the last year has been challenging for many of our team members and we appreciate the hard work expended by so many who are transforming our culture. Leadership is firmly committed to a “Better Together” culture and have challenged everyone to lean into this shift and work toward a positive and gratifying work environment at UNIFY. And, by adding team engagement metrics, the Gallup Survey, 3-day off site leadership training and continuing team member awards, we hope you see the commitment is real. Have you joined one of the new Value Committees? It’s a great way to step into a leadership role in helping shape our culture. It lets you directly have a voice to help drive how we live our values. No one person or group can do this alone, it's a team effort. We hope that in time you view this as an opportunity to really step in and help shape UNIFY. We also ask you reconsider leaving, and instead stay and join the ongoing efforts and give it a chance. If you decide to stay, please reach out to HR, we would love to help you find your desired area of the company to help improve your experience. As an aside, Glassdoor.com has an elaborate algorithm that is used to ensure that only legitimate posts are made to a company’s Glassdoor page. Rest assured the postings from current and former team members are uniquely theirs and likely represent their experience at the time of posting. Thank you!!

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Not like a Credit Union! Sneaky Practices, Cut Throat!

    Jan 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Torrance, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paycheck, Education reimbursement. 401k, medical, vacation.

    Cons

    You would like working there…. If you just need a paycheck If you like rules without reason If you like to be considered a replaceable unit If you like to see millions of dollars spent at an ad agency trying to clean up your reputation by changing your brand Once a company gets that taste of big profits, then everything is about “big profits”, the numbers. The very reason people don’t like Big Banks is the very reason people don’t like working there. The turnover is very high and the reviews here are true in my experience. The Managers aren’t trained but promoted because they are friends with VPs. What normal business person would think it’s a good idea to change your brand, website, intranet, banking software and move 150 extra people into a already cramped office within in a few months. This isn’t growing pains, this is insanity. Changing the name to Unify doesn't change a established bad reputation. Most people love their credit union our members take to social media to vent real issues and concerns. Their solution to clean it up is to just change the name. The culture is to lay low, do your job and keep your mouth shut.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Commercial bank disguised as credit union

    May 13, 2015 - Branch Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was pretty decent so was the initial training (for branch employees) Also, the company offers 100% tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    There are several cons to working at Western. Primarily, you are micro- managed to death. Conference calls every day, your regional manager expects you to write down and report every interaction you have with a member. It's basically like working at a bank instead of a credit union. It's a sales environment but, you're told that you're offering "sales through service". Also, there is no work life balance, you're expected to be at work 10+ hours a day & work Saturdays with no day off.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with Western Federal Credit Union Job Seekers

Branch Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Member Service Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at Western Federal Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

Western Federal Credit Union logo
or