Western Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Western Federal Credit Union Chief Executive Officer  Gordon Howe (no image)
Gordon Howe
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Member Service Representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    The company is amazingly caring. I have never been a part of a company that is SO there for you as this one is.

    Cons

    I went through a lot of interviews. Two in store and over 3 over the phone.

    Western Federal Credit Union2016-08-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not like a Credit Union! Sneaky Practices, Cut Throat!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paycheck, Education reimbursement. 401k, medical, vacation.

    Cons

    You would like working there…. If you just need a paycheck If you like rules without reason If you like to be considered a replaceable unit If you like to see millions of dollars spent at an ad agency trying to clean up your reputation by changing your brand Once a company gets that taste of big profits, then everything is about “big profits”, the numbers. The very reason people don’t like Big Banks is the very reason people don’t like working there. The turnover is very high and the reviews here are true in my experience. The Managers aren’t trained but promoted because they are friends with VPs. What normal business person would think it’s a good idea to change your brand, website, intranet, banking software and move 150 extra people into a already cramped office within in a few months. This isn’t growing pains, this is insanity. Changing the name to Unify doesn't change a established bad reputation. Most people love their credit union our members take to social media to vent real issues and concerns. Their solution to clean it up is to just change the name. The culture is to lay low, do your job and keep your mouth shut.

    Continue reading
    Western Federal Credit Union2017-01-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Dept"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Research Manager in West Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Federal Credit Union for less than a year

    Pros

    Great existing marketing programs and plans.

    Cons

    Disorganized senior management, do not respect employees.

    Western Federal Credit Union2016-11-16
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Very Disappointing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many talented people who are great to work with. This is the only positive thing that I can claim

    Cons

    I think one of the other reviewers said it, but the culture will not change with the change of the company name. It starts at the top, not just the employees who are hired. There seems to be a clear separation in management's mentality -- two schools of thought. Half of the senior management team is from the old school of thinking and the other half is of the new, cool management style. Unfortunately, the "old-school-of-thought" people are in some very key positions and not enough of the "new management style" people. They do not allow the new leadership to change things or influence the culture enough. With this backward thinking and much push back the culture that they are trying to achieve will take years. So far, it seems that favoritism, backstabbing and throwing people under the bus is the norm around here. Many of them aren't able to communicate well or in a calm matter and they evoke an unnecessary stressful environment that fosters a negative, unpleasant and hostile environment. Feeling that your superiors don't have your back is one of the worst feelings ever. The people with the old school mentality are entitled, bitter, and fake. They might be smiling in your face, but gladly stabbing you in the back, a clicky group that promotes friends over talented people.

    Continue reading
    Western Federal Credit Union2016-10-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Real Estate Production Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful team including direct boss, supervisor, closers and underwriters. They made employees feel appreciated with hosting events for us, providing food, acknowledgement emails and the environment all in all was very relaxed and professional.

    Cons

    I noticed a lot of employees were temps hired through agencies and were not directly hired with company even after 1-2 years of being employed.

    Continue reading
    Western Federal Credit Union2016-08-24

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    August 29, 2016VP Human Resources

    We love hearing employees had a positive experience as part of our team! Thank you for your contribution to our success and taking the time to share your experience. We have to admit, we sure are very lucky with the talented temps that work for us. Be assured whenever we have the opportunity UNIFY promotes internally from our talent pool. We appreciate your comment and wish you continued success!

  6. Helpful (8)

    "A name change can't change the true culture at this place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    At this point it is very difficult to think of any as I am looking to leave the company.

    Cons

    I am a long time employee and have watched the top executives turn this place into a “Mad Men” episode of old school management thinking. They have spent the past 6 months working on a “bait and switch” by trying to orchestrate a name change trying to act like they are working on the corporate culture. All the corporate culture left when there was a mass exodus of the past HR team – All I know for a fact, is that the last 3 reviews that have above 4 stars on this site are a straight attempt from someone in Western’s management trying to put lipstick on their pig – oink oink. My only motivation on writing this was I am looking to get off this sinking ship and was curious what people were saying only to see the executives at Western doing their normal manipulative hocus pocus by magically having a handful of 5 star reviews crafted by an executives hand - I would guess an HR executive from the vocabulary selection.

    Continue reading
    Western Federal Credit Union2016-09-09

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    September 15, 2016VP Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your feelings with us. As a long time team member we absolutely value your perspective. And, you’re right, a name change cannot change a culture. The true culture of any organization is driven by its team members. We hope that with your tenure, you would contribute by helping to transform UNIFY into a culture where you are proud to be a part and excited to grow. As with any rebrand, we know the last year has been challenging for many of our team members and we appreciate the hard work expended by so many who are transforming our culture. Leadership is firmly committed to a “Better Together” culture and have challenged everyone to lean into this shift and work toward a positive and gratifying work environment at UNIFY. And, by adding team engagement metrics, the Gallup Survey, 3-day off site leadership training and continuing team member awards, we hope you see the commitment is real. Have you joined one of the new Value Committees? It’s a great way to step into a leadership role in helping shape our culture. It lets you directly have a voice to help drive how we live our values. No one person or group can do this alone, it's a team effort. We hope that in time you view this as an opportunity to really step in and help shape UNIFY. We also ask you reconsider leaving, and instead stay and join the ongoing efforts and give it a chance. If you decide to stay, please reach out to HR, we would love to help you find your desired area of the company to help improve your experience. As an aside, Glassdoor.com has an elaborate algorithm that is used to ensure that only legitimate posts are made to a company’s Glassdoor page. Rest assured the postings from current and former team members are uniquely theirs and likely represent their experience at the time of posting. Thank you!!

  7. "Branch Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Branch Manager in Blue Springs, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union for more than a year

    Pros

    I am so glad I applied for a position with Western. This is the first financial institution I have worked for (out of 4) that actually appreciates their employees and respects its customers/members. This company has exceeded my expectations and I enjoy working here. The products we offer are the BEST and they actually help our members with their financial goals. It is a progressive and successful work environment.

    Cons

    Although we are growing at a rapid rate across the country ... it would be wonderful if we had more branches in my area. But with online banking, mobile banking and share branching - members are satisfied and can conduct their banking seamlessly.

    Western Federal Credit Union2016-07-29

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    August 29, 2016VP Human Resources

    As an alternative to the ‘Big Banks’ for our members, we also view ourselves as a worthy competitor when it comes to competing for talent. We’re delighted to have you on-board! Your enthusiasm is contagious and your ‘can-do’ attitude reflects so many of our core values. And, our motto of ‘Connect Your Way’ is an invitation not only to our members to reach us no matter where they are located, but for our valued team members who work throughout the country to take advantage of the many learning and development opportunities we have through our web-accessible learning tools and meetings. Thanks for taking time to share!

  8. "People Oriented Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Fast growing organization with a big vision. Great work environment. Extraordinary benefits. People oriented which translates to everything they do.

    Cons

    Fast growth and change always come with a level of uncertainty and confusion. Management seems to be very aware of challenges brought by rapid growth and they seem to manage change effectively.

    Continue reading
    Western Federal Credit Union2016-07-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    High turnover, high workload, low pay, fewer and fewer employee appreciation events.

    Western Federal Credit Union2016-08-18

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    August 31, 2016VP Human Resources

    Thank you for being a team member with us for 10+ years! We know you’ve experienced many changes during this time with us, and likely none more so than in the past year. Our team has worked very hard to help us introduce our new UNIFY Financial Credit Union brand, launching our U.S.-based 24/7 call center operation, and most recently, rolling out the a state-of-the-art mobile eBanking platform. Due to so many changes and increased efforts organization-wide we know it has not been easy to have our usual team member events. We hope you enjoyed the day-long brand launch and the company-paid food truck visits this year. We will share your feedback with others, and we hope you used the new Gallup Survey we launched this year to capture how our UNIFY team members were feeling. On a hopeful note, vocal team members like yourself, will help our culture live the “Better Together” motto and we’re excited to report our retention rate has increased over the past year. Please feel free to reach out to our Human Resources team or your manager to discuss any of these topics further. And, thanks for taking time to share your thoughts, we hope together we can create a 5-star experience for all team members!

  10. "Right choice"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great company, very good benefits

    Cons

    So far so good, I enjoy going to work

    Western Federal Credit Union2016-07-03

    Western Federal Credit Union Response

    July 25, 2016VP Human Resources

    We’re delighted you feel you made the “Right Choice”! UNIFY strives for all our team members and members to share this sentiment. It’s team members like you, who bring enthusiasm and positivity to work every day to create an amazing experience for yourself, co-workers and our members that make UNIFY who we are. Thank YOU for being part of the team!

Found 46 reviews