Western Funding Reviews | Glassdoor

Western Funding Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Western Funding President Jim Murray
Jim Murray
9 Ratings
  1. "Loved the company, great starter company that will become a financial beast soon."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Western Funding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent hours, great pay, great leadership.

    Cons

    Too many calls, not enough opportunity for growth.

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2020-01-23
  2. "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good compensation, great leadership, excellent opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    None at this moment in time

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2019-12-30

    Western Funding Response

    January 10, 2020President

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We are happy that you are experiencing WFI this way in your first year with us. We strongly believe that we have an "excellent opportunity for growth" but know that it won't happen just because we want it to. Rather, it will happen if we work together to make it happen -- to make our program more valuable to our dealers by making it easier to use -- to make our program easier for our employees to execute in service to our dealers and the consumers driving the financed vehicles. That is why it is fun working here. No doubt we are imperfect, but we are rowing in the same direction and excited about where we go from here!

    Continue reading
  3. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, no office drama

    Cons

    To much to list avoid this place

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2020-01-07

    Western Funding Response

    January 10, 2020President

    We are sorry you had a negative experience in your short time with WFI. We believe that feedback is a gift and we appreciate when reviewers, whether positive or negative, leave details about their experience so we know what is working and what isn't and needs more attention.

    Continue reading
  4. "Bad work environment will cause you to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Funding full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None just get another job

    Cons

    Part of the Hankey Group and just like WFS. Treats employees poorly and pays them even worse. Very Toxic work environment This company does not value its employees at all. I’ve seen multiple dealer account managers get let go from one bad month of sales even when they were crushing in consecutive months (not very stable jobs at this company). I’ve witnessed employees of various departments get harassed by managers and executive leadership. HR does not do their job to prevent this. Also they use illegal business practices against consumers. If you would like to work in a high stress, unstable, unorganized environment then apply to Westlake otherwise RUN the other way!

    Western Funding2020-01-05

    Western Funding Response

    January 10, 2020President

    We are sorry that you had what appears to be a negative experience after working at WFI for nearly 4 years. We respect your right to your opinion and your freedom to share the same. We categorically disagree with most of the assertions made in the "cons" section, particularly regarding illegal business practices against consumers. We will continue to strive to build an organizationally healthy business which creates value for our dealers and their customers, the consumers who purchase and finance vehicles. Thank you for your service to WFI and again, we are sorry your experience was different than what we strive to offer our employees.

    Continue reading
  5. "Creating Success, One Employee at a Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant improvement. We matter to them and it shows. We have Amazing hours, location and work setting. I am where I am solely on the shoulders of my supervisor; Brilliant Sales managers who train until you have it down, and a light, non-micromanaged environment. Not to mention, the commission and benefits! It is not stuffy or snooty on the Sales team. Management regularly adjusts seating to keep the veterans surrounding the newbies, so they may learn by listening and also not have to go far for answers. This action creates unexpected friendships, as well, as a bonus. It is hands down the Best place I have ever worked. I was able to get my friend hired, also and she feels the same. We love coming to work.

    Cons

    That this is the only branch in the country. Las Vegas. If miracles happen and they open another on the East Coast, I will be the 1st with my hat in the ring.

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2019-06-14

    Western Funding Response

    June 17, 2019President

    Very balanced feedback -- thanks for sharing. Training and execution are paramount to growing our dealer base and we endeavor to continue enabling that on the Sales team. Establishing mutual purpose and respect between Sales and Funding is challenge for most lenders but we are making progress in the journey and appreciate the feedback as that is how we will continue to make progress. Thanks again for taking the time to share your views!

    Continue reading
  6. "You will love this Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Lead in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like environment within the company. There is never a boring day here and I honestly do not think there ever will be. Everyday there is something different and not in a bad way. This company grows daily and with it us employees.

    Cons

    There are no cons. If ever a problem should arise, steps are taken to resolve it.

    Western Funding2019-06-13

    Western Funding Response

    June 17, 2019President

    Thanks for sharing your experience! We continue to work to build a healthy organization, one that can improve the delivery of our product to our present and future dealers. Doing so ensures there is value to our program in the eyes of our customers and will never be boring!

    Continue reading
  7. "Excited about the Future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been in the car industry for some time now. My past employer was at the stage that WFI is currently somewhat infant stage when I started. By the time I left they had revolutionized the used car industry. I see the same type of signs in WFI, that its growing the right way. The exciting part for anyone joining now is that we will be able to say we was there in the beginning.

    Cons

    At this time its a learning experience that has some bumps along the way.

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2019-06-13

    Western Funding Response

    June 17, 2019President

    Thanks for the feedback! WFI is indeed still in a "startup" phase and continues to work on its foundation to enable growth. "Smart" growth is the objective for sure. Keep the feedback coming -- we make changes based on it -- listening is critical and we will continue to do so.

    Continue reading
  8. "Growing Company with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, management welcomes ideas on growth, change, and improvements and actually listens. They are beginning to promote from within which means you can actually have a long-term plan if you want to grow with the company. Managers are more like coaches so the learning process is seamless. Territories are protected which is key to keeping a team environment.

    Cons

    Benefits are average not the best but certainly not the worst.

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2018-11-26

    Western Funding Response

    March 12, 2019President

    Appreciate the feedback! Listening intently will continue to help us know where the opportunities are to improve performance, and we plan to stay the course!

    Continue reading
  9. "Excellent Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance - I find that this company is pretty flexible and understanding. Benefits - 401k is matched 100% (3%) and 50% (2%), Health/Dental is reasonable, they allow us to participate in an Employee Stock Option for Hankey Group, and there are many other perks provided such as discounts to gyms, continuing education, lunch n' learns, Employee Appreciation weeks, etc. Ability to Grow - They believe in promoting from within. Work hard and you will see the benefits. There are many opportunities here and I look forward to continued growth. Management - The management team has changed and evolved over the past years for the better. Management is understanding, builds its employees up, doesn't micro-manage and overall they are very transparent.

    Cons

    No cons. I have been with the company since 2011 and I've been fortunate to learn many different positions here and expand my knowledge of the sub-prime auto finance industry, as well as move up within the company. It's a happy, fun environment daily.

    Continue reading
    Western Funding2018-02-08

    Western Funding Response

    March 12, 2019President

    Thanks -- a key element of our long term plan is to drive high employee engagement! We have work to do there, including having a measurement system, but we will soon and will feature more about what we are seeking when we say we want high employee engagement!

    Continue reading
  10. "Overall enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Funding full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been in the Funding department for almost 4 year and enjoy working with my team. As with any job there are ups and downs, but waking up in the morning and actually like going to work is a good feeling. This year will bring change as our new President works to growing the company. I am excited to see what the future unfolds for our growing company.

    Cons

    The frustration of dealing with very rude phone calls from dealers and customers yelling and cursing can take a toll at times.

    Western Funding2018-02-05

    Western Funding Response

    March 12, 2019President

    Thanks for the feedback. Our dealers are primary customers of ours and we seek to offer our product/service in a manner which makes them want to continue to send us business. There is no need to be rude or curse and we will keep an eye out for that. We are aligned in wanting the same thing -- to fund properly risked deals that perform for the customer, the dealer and WFI. Much more work to do but we are on it!

    Continue reading
Found 22 reviews