Western Governors University Reviews | Glassdoor

Western Governors University Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 596 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Western Governors University CEO Scott D. Pulsipher
Scott D. Pulsipher
190 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Cannot work from home when we are an online university(in 35 reviews)

  • "Your growth is singularly dependent on your upper management allowing the promotion(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Governors University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    they care about students and want them to do well

    Cons

    low pay for the amount of time you work

    Western Governors University2019-06-20
  2. "If you're looking for Mission Driven, you can't beat WGU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WGU makes a difference every day in the lives of their students, This really matters to WGU Employees. It is engrained in who we are. It is an amazing place to work.

    Cons

    Our technology team is growing quickly! This results in a lot of change and some growing pains. If you're open to being flexible when change comes, it often results in a more effective result!

    Advice to Management

    We have an amazing leadership team.

    Western Governors University2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Get insurance elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Close knit family atmosphere; remote work from home flexibility

    Cons

    Horrible health insurance coverage; low salaries compared with corporate positions; frequent travel to Utah for meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Save money elsewhere; health insurance is vital for families. Cutting corners with high premiums and poor benefits paid out makes working here difficult.

    Western Governors University2019-06-10
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Mentor - Faculty in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Governors University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Management was great too

    Cons

    Did not allow me to go PT

    Western Governors University2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, but non-profit designation means low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Counselor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the non-profit mentality. You feel good about what you do, helping people better their lives on a daily basis

    Cons

    Non-profit designation means low pay. It's essentially a sales job with no commission incentive

    Western Governors University2019-06-11
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent company that really cares about its employees.

    Cons

    Low pay for software development, mediocre benefits

    Western Governors University2019-06-13
  7. "Genuine student focus and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Mentor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work flexibility and the company allows you to take ownership of your student caseload. There is minimal micro-managing and you are trusted to do your job without too much interference but yet enough guidance and structure to help you along the way.

    Cons

    More discussions on upward mobility, career path and individual growth/development would be helpful

    Western Governors University2019-06-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Mentor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Governors University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work from home

    Cons

    Micromanagement, huge workload, low(ish) pay

    Western Governors University2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Enrollment Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Counselor 

    I worked at Western Governors University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WGU is a non profit university. Do not focus on making money like for profit schools

    Cons

    I did not have any cons

    Western Governors University2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great University for Students, Lacks Professional Consistency for Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Governors University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I liked working with the students I advised. We would range from 100-120 students in our department maintaining weekly or biweekly contact. I also really enjoyed my co-workers. They were very supportive and professional.

    Cons

    There is a lack of consistency from leadership on policies and processes that impact faculty and students.

    Western Governors University2019-06-04
Found 596 reviews