Cover image for Western Governors University
Logo
See All Photos

Western Governors University

Engaged Employer

Western Governors University

Add a Review

Western Governors University Employee Reviews about "coworker"

Updated Dec 3, 2022

Found 1,282 of over 1K reviews
3.8
72% Recommend to a Friend
Western Governors University President Scott D. Pulsipher
76% Approve of CEO

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Western Governors University President Scott D. Pulsipher
Scott D. Pulsipher
651 Ratings
Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Add a review It only takes a second to share your experience. Your information will always be anonymous.

What people are saying about Western Governors University

Join the conversation on

Asset / Investment Management

1y

an 

Operations Associate

I work in a Rep Services Call Center for an Insurance/ Investment Company. Currently I'm pursuing my MBA at Western Governors University and I plan to get my Series 7 after my MBA so I can get out of the Call Center and advance my career. I'm looking for some advice / guidance/ideas for growth opportunities from here. I'd like to hear about good experiences and bad experiences people have had in this industry, where did you start, how did you grow from there, what licenses do you have, ect.

1

1 Comment

Teachers

201.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Western Governors University~244719
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "This job is flexible in that you work from home.(in 237 reviews)
  • "The ability to work remote is a great benefit.(in 103 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and being able to work with students reach their goals of going back to school.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Great culture and they truly believe in it(in 43 reviews)
  • "Colleagues were great and our students are hardworking and dedicated.(in 29 reviews)
Cons
  • "low pay and job insecurity(in 103 reviews)
  • "Poor management and quick to retaliate.(in 54 reviews)
  • "Many managers have only gotten to the position that they are currently in because of the institutions rapid growth.(in 48 reviews)
  • "Senior people keep leaving and the salary is too low to attract new people to fill the position.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Upper management is clueless, reckless, selfish, and greedy.(in 30 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Western Governors University and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "coworker"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Great Place to Work

    Jul 27, 2022 - Senior Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cares about students, staff, and faculty equally. Always looking for ways to improve, optimize, and better serve our students and support employees. Across the University you see most departments modeling our Leadership Principles and Cultural Beliefs. As a Sr. Level leader, I feel like my voice is heard, I can contribute and impact change!

    Cons

    Health Insurance is average, let's get to above average!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Culture and opportunities

    Dec 3, 2022 - Program Mentor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WGU offers a very supportive top-down culture and many opportunities for professional growth. They invest in their employees.

    Cons

    Consistent changes in processes and programs for the benefit of employees and students. It is important to embrace change and realize that you will have the tools and support to be successful.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Western Governors University team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It Depends on Which Department You Work For

    Dec 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a certain level of autonomy that I enjoy. I am fully remote. I get to interact with several departments across the university which is fun.

    Cons

    The pay is not up to snuff with the other higher education institutions. This could very well only apply to certain positions, but the requirements for certain roles are also ridiculous and the opposite of equitable. Just compare some similar positions with say, Harvard. One would think that an institution like Harvard would have one of the more stringent "check every box" hiring requirements, but they don't because they realize not everyone who is intelligent and very capable at their job doesn't have a formal degree. It's called "equal work experience" or "preferred" instead of "required." A lot of talent being left out of this work place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work/life balance and high pay

    Nov 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is better than most universities Work from home Good work/life balance Great colleagues Innovative

    Cons

    Miscommunication - multiple communications happening simultaneously- creates disorganization

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Shockingly Great Place to Work

    Nov 29, 2022 - Event Planner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy my work at WGU. It’s fast-paced, innovative, and you know everyone is working toward a worthwhile goal.

    Cons

    It’s a non-profit. The pay is competitive, but they’re pretty tight lipped about salaries.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Breaking Tradition

    Nov 26, 2022 - Senior Evaluator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WGU is ahead of the game, excelling in every facet of education. I am constantly motivated to see what's next!

    Cons

    Breaking tradition means constant change. For some, this can be frustrating.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great University

    Aug 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working from home this is a huge plus! The diligence of WGU in creating legitimate curriculum is outstanding. There are many great coworkers that are in it for the student’s success and are recognized for their hard work.

    Cons

    Need more opportunity for advancement. There are processes that are broken up and need to be streamlined better. Feel some micro aggressions across department employees and leadership. Need more attention to the students who require more academically (underserved students) rather than knocking them down. Have seen leadership do this. Employees afraid to speak up.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great ICs, Poor Leadership

    Oct 3, 2022 - Site Operations Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people working as individual contributors.

    Cons

    Executive leaders who are brought on with little to no experience in their field. No unified direction for leadership serving the different IT/Operations branches. Senior leaders want WFH opportunities for themselves. They often get into shouting matches, and those who become stubborn are actually favored. Infrastructure leadership is not anywhere integrated to operations mgmt. Favoritism, racism, and sexism are rampant as microaggressions. Reports of offenses are not taken seriously. HR is for the company and not the people who work for it. Good ol boy club at the C-Level, who only talk about numbers. CEO and others golf almost every morning until 10 AM. Pay for technicians and supervisors are at the bottom of the bucket. After I left I was astonished at the gap of pay. While the CEO and COO make 300k a year each, if not more.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Mission Focused but Little opportunity for growth

    Nov 22, 2022 - Project Manager 3 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone I work with, great passion to serve students. Very mission and purpose focused.

    Cons

    Promotion proceeds is not transparent at all. Little opportunities for growth unless you are a “people leader” as opposed to an individual contributor.

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Don't... unless you simply have to

    Sep 26, 2022 - Instructor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Any pros depend on your immediate supervisor. Don't have to commute or buy "work clothes". Have some say in your work schedule, but will work more than 40 hours/week to try to "keep up" until you learn shortcuts or not to care.

    Cons

    Lower pay across the board than national averages; generally about 25-30% lower. Favoritism and "secrecy" about everything including performance appraisal process and promotion. Impossible job performance goals and time when you're not at work for weekends or vacations counts against your required Goals. General lack of respect and requirements to treat adult students as customers VS adult students or learners. If a student doesn't complete a course or assignment on time, the instructor takes the hit on performance goals. Must tell students to call you by your first name; can't ask students to call you Dr. _____. Admin sees that as a potential intimidation factor and a "barrier" to student success. (some people care about that, others don't). Many mid managers promoted to that position have less knowledge and experience than those they supervise; admin likes that so they can train them "their way". Many managers micro-manage terribly. Total lack of academic freedom. Must teach content their way and with only their resources and texts. I could go on...

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 0 of 0 Reviews
    Join the Western Governors University team
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Western Governors University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Western Governors University? Share Your Experiences

    Western Governors University logo

    Western Governors University

    or

    Western Governors University Careers

    Cover image for Western Governors University

    Hi there and thank you for taking the time to learn more about us! Here at WGU, we believe that talent is universal—even if opportunity...More

    • Our Story
    • Teams
    • Culture
    • Benefits
    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    Company Updates

    Logo

    Western Governors University

    37 days ago

    Careers
    We are continuing to grow at WGU! Check out our amazing job opportunities to see if one could be right for you!
    Shared image - Careers at WGU
    Careers at WGU
    www.wgu.edu
    See all

    Western Governors University Photos

    + Add Photo
    Western Governors University photo of: Employee Spotlight
    Western Governors University photo of: Town Hall
    Western Governors University photo of: WGU employees at Town Hall
    Western Governors University photo of: Town Hall event
    Western Governors University photo of: WGU employees at a Town Hall event
    Western Governors University photo of: WGU employee receiving a prize pack at a Town Hall event
    Western Governors University photo of: Employees during Town Hall
    See All Photos

    Expert Career Advice

    Guide to Getting Your First Job

    Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

    How to Get a Job

    Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

    How to Get a Promotion

    Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

    How to Negotiate Your Salary

    A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

    How to Write a Resume

    Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

    Western Governors University Job Seekers Also Viewed

    UnitedHealth Group Logo
    UnitedHealth Group

    3.5

    15,230 Reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 1,312 Western Governors University reviews submitted anonymously by Western Governors University employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Western Governors University is right for you.